Assassin's Creed III Wii U

Assassin's Creed III Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 210 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Colonies, 1775: A brave your warrior fights to save his homeland. But what begins as a struggle over territory turns into a journey that will transform him into a Master Assassin - one that will forever change the destiny of a newborn nation. Assume the role of Connor, warrior son of aThe Colonies, 1775: A brave your warrior fights to save his homeland. But what begins as a struggle over territory turns into a journey that will transform him into a Master Assassin - one that will forever change the destiny of a newborn nation. Assume the role of Connor, warrior son of a Native American mother and British father. As the colonies draw closer to revolution, you will dedicate your life to the freedom of your clan, becoming the spark that ignites the revolution into a full blaze. Your crusade will lead you through blood-soaked battlefields and crowded city streets, to the perilous wilderness and stormy seas. Always know where your enemies are with a larger, more expansive overhead map at your fingertips. Easily change your weapons on the fly to vary your combos without ever stopping the action on-screen. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Nov 25, 2012
    100
    The Wii U version of the title is practically the same as the other console versions, but unlike Wii U ports that originally came out months ago, it's possible that prospective buyers have still not purchased it. If that's the case, the Wii U version is as fine option as any, but those who have the game have absolutely no reason to buy it again. Still, forgetting its a port, Assassin's Creed III is the best game in the Wii U launch line-up and should be a must-buy for those yet to experience its incredible adventure.
  2. Nov 28, 2012
    91
    In more ways than one, this fifth installment (of the core console franchise) feels like the definitive Assassin's Creed experience.
  3. Dec 1, 2012
    90
    The same experiences we've enjoyed on other consoles, keeping all its strengths and weaknesses. There's little use of the GamePad, but Ubisoft didn't want to force the experience.
  4. Nov 22, 2012
    85
    Although it hasn't reviewed the bugs or added important things, Assassin's Creed III is still a great sandbox adventure, with lots to do and a powerful story. One of the best Wii U titles for Christmas.
  5. A massive, lovingly crafted game that's stuffed with things to do, but the limited GamePad functionality and linear mission design are disappointing.
  6. Dec 6, 2012
    80
    The Wii U version of Assassin's Creed III is still great, but the lack of cool features for the new GamePad has to be noticed. A number of frame rate issues and some bugs are enough to judge this version of ACIII the less impressive out there.
  7. Dec 4, 2012
    70
    Combat is incredible, and the cities of Boston and New York deliver some of the strongest open-world gameplay you'll experience this generation. And yet, it's still an extremely uneven experience, even if the strong gameplay outlives the issues to make for a solid package.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 36
  2. Negative: 2 out of 36
  1. Dec 24, 2012
    10
    This game totally rocks. The graphics maybe the same as the 360 and ps3, but with this versions what you see is what you get. On the Wii U,This game totally rocks. The graphics maybe the same as the 360 and ps3, but with this versions what you see is what you get. On the Wii U, the map and horse calling is on the gamepad. But only on the Wii U can you play the game on the gamepad and not just the t.v.
    Some people may say you can do this on the 360 or ps3, remember the Wii U just came out and its up to the developer how they handle the games.

    This is a must buy on the Wii U
    Collapse
  2. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    Fantastic game. Great voice acting, story, gameplay mechanics, immersion, graphics. Everything is top notch. People giving this a negativeFantastic game. Great voice acting, story, gameplay mechanics, immersion, graphics. Everything is top notch. People giving this a negative review/score have no idea what they are talking about. Somebody thought it was cool to start a "AC3 hate bandwagon" and a lot of people decided to jump on. Most of the negatives scores actually have completely wrong information and/or nitpicks that don't hamper the game. People also seem to hate the new protagonist called Connor, for some inexplicable reason. They are obviously stuck in the past with love for Ezio (protagonist from the last THREE games, may I add) that they cant fathom a new hero having a different personality and morals, values, passions. They simply don't understand him. Some people have also been complaining about glitches, even though I only encountered a couple small ones (I.e. floating weapon) throughout the whole game (keep in mind no game is perfect and these are miniscule). All in all, the game left me wanting more of Connor even after I completed the game (which took me 20 hours or so including side missions and collectibles). Expand
  3. Apr 18, 2015
    9
    Please note that this is going to be an unbiased review of Assassin's Creed III as I have not played any other of the titles in the series.Please note that this is going to be an unbiased review of Assassin's Creed III as I have not played any other of the titles in the series. With that out of the way, here's the scoop:

    Assassin's Creed III's gameplay could be divided into two sections: stealth and combat. You'll often find yourself sneaking around enemy camps and forts our simply not wanting any soldiers to see you and then taking them out silently with one of the game's many weapon options. Long-range projectile weapons and close-range melee weapons are both available. I found myself using the projectiles often and only used melee if I had to...which brings me to the combat. The combat is a bit confusing to learn but once you get the hang of it, it's fluid and simple. There are a lot of different enemy types so you'll never find yourself fighting an easy rookie soldier.

    Exploring the huge open world is a big part of the game. You can go from Boston to New York to the vast frontier to the homestead the main character stays at. While the two cities look nearly identical to each other, the frontier offers free running and hunting opportunities. It always gives me a sense of satisfaction during "free running" whenever I make the leap to another tree. In my opinion, free running is a great addition to the game. Hunting was much easier to learn than I had expected it to be. It's not something I'll do everytime I boot up the game but it's nice that it's there. In the homestead, you can complete missions in order to expand the property and open more shops. These missions help the colonial American world of ACIII feel more lively and lifelike. It's a really nice touch.

    New to the series are the naval missions which take place in the sea. You control your ship, the Aquila, through treacherous storms or calm seas while battling Templar foes. Like most other things in the game, it's a bit tricky at first but I found myself really enjoying blasting other ships (and in some rare cases, forts) to pieces with the ship. The ship is a bit tough to control and it can be a bit confusing to learn how all of the sails work and such, but I still really liked the naval gameplay and battles.

    The game has an intricate story with very relatable and well developed characters. The game offers possibly the best story I've seen in some time. I like how the game makes you think if you're on the right side or not. Unlike most, I don't think the game gets off to a slow start and I rather enjoyed the introduction. The GamePad is put to great use here as both a large map (which is very useful) and something you can use to keep track of your health, weapons, and notoriety as well as call a horse at any time with your horse whistle.

    There are, however, a few things I didn't like about the game. Everytime you start up the game (as well as when you're fast traveling to other areas), you have to sit through an incredibly long loading time. It can get really annoying when you want to get back to the gameplay. Also, the game does lag a bit at times and while it's normally not distracting, I did find the lag sometimes messing up my jumps. Lastly, during the story mode, the game will randomly cut to Desmond Miles' storyline (a modern-day Assassin). I found these sections to be a bit of a drag and while I do know that he is pivotal to the overarching plot, I wish it didn't just randomly cut into the engaging story of the main mode.

    Overall, Assassin's Creed III is very enjoyable and fun despite having a few minor issues like loading times and (sometimes) unresponsive controls. The story's engaging, the combat's fluid, the naval missions are fun, and everything in the game is basically a blast.
    Expand
  4. Jan 18, 2013
    8
    This is a great game, but its without a doubt, the worst in the series. As a stand alone game, it feels more like a GTA sandbox than an ACThis is a great game, but its without a doubt, the worst in the series. As a stand alone game, it feels more like a GTA sandbox than an AC one, with a protagonist of grayish morality that works with many factions (Assassins, Templars, British, Patriots), without developing a significant bond with any of them, each one represented by a set of quirky or interesting NPC that give you an errand, even the "traitor figure", the one that is friendly at first, introduces you to the world, betrays you and is confronted in the end (Dimitry, Gary, etc), can be seen in Charles Lee. To this, one must add the more horizontal focus on the game and the fact that the horse is your main transportation method. ENVIROMENT and SETTING: the colonial period as a setting is a bad choice, since firearms have been introduced in previous games, the time period brings nothing new, the architecture is the same in both Boston and New York, specially when it comes to viewpoints as they are the same goddamn church, and the only variation is the mast in beacon hill. The frontier can feel claustrophobic and slow at times specially during winter, since you are surrounded by vertical elements that you cant always climb. There are places that look gorgeous, like the fields of New York, but the game doesnt encourage their exploration, they are dead space. Even as a history element, it could be argued that Desmond and company must search in america because they are pinned there, but they seem to change locations with ease. MAP: the map has its problems, as certain mission only show up when discovered, and it is difficult to distinguish an explored place from an unexplored one. COMBAT: The main innovation is regenerative health and the different strategies for different enemies, however health only goes up outside of combat, and most enemies can only be attacked in one way, leaving no room for variation of combos. WEAPONS: Unlike previous AC games, most weapons are unlocked since the begining for you to buy, in the end you realize that the best weapons are acquired early on, and are even cheaper than most of them. Your FISTS are FREE and are EQUALLY EFFECTIVE. STEALTH: The AC franchise is known for the ability to blend in the crowd, but in this installment all the variety introduced in the last 3 games seems pointless, when your are chased by guards and decide to hide in a bench, well, or haystack, one will always stay behind and search your hiding spot, eventually finding you if you dont kill him, and if you do the others might see you, thus making it more effective to just kill them all in place. You can cross through whole buildings to evade platoons, but chances are there is another one on the other side, and such places require you to stop and look for them. You can pass near "Vigilantes" to stop them, but they are few and far in between. Only one NPC is required to blend. The detection rate has gone up so climbing rooftops can be hard withouth alerting the whole city. SHOPS: Since AC 2 there have been plenty of different shops each with its own merchandise, however in AC3, they all share the same inventory, and have to be discovered by entering them, all the shops in the world are basically one. SIDE-MISSIONS: These are the core gameplay of a free roaming game, and its where AC3 fails hard, as they interconect and the pacing of their introduction render some pointless, mainly due to relying on the crafting system which really only progresses with the story, for example Almanacs must be chased after, normally with a conga line of red arrows, collecting them unlocks RECIPES with high requirements and when you craft them they are DECORATIVE INVENTIONS, that you cant use in any way. Overall, the unlocks consist in outfits, but most of them dont carry the Assassin theme. In summary it feels that they build the game around the crafting, hunting and naval mission systems, rewarding you with the activity itself rather than a final prize. STORY: This game learned nothing from its predecesor, having instead 3 protagonists, the intro confuses more than anything and only shows how little development Desmond has, his sections are walking from one cutscene to another, where the delivery come from an obviously evil "ghost"?, they made the terrible mistake of using a character from a tie-in comic as a pivotal one, mr Cross, whose appearence is sudden and everyone seems to know him, and a lil' wiki check on him only comes up with better material for possible games. Haytham and Connor's history is disjointed and shallow in importance, the first one isn't the antagonist, an exists solely for a plot twist in the begining and to reinforce the templar/assassin dichotomy, as for the latter, he shifts both his alliance and his hatred of his situation so much that he just seems hateful for no reason. Expand
  5. Aug 30, 2015
    8
    I really enjoyed the game. It kept my interest all the way through and multiplayer was fun and interesting. A good game for those who enjoyI really enjoyed the game. It kept my interest all the way through and multiplayer was fun and interesting. A good game for those who enjoy history, action, and drama. Expand
  6. Sep 19, 2013
    8
    ACIII is a good game with the potential to be a great game. Aspects such as combat and the story's setting are fun and intriguing, yet otherACIII is a good game with the potential to be a great game. Aspects such as combat and the story's setting are fun and intriguing, yet other aspects such as the open-world concept and controls are flawed. While visiting historic Boston is a treat, playing missions in the modern world is far less interesting. I found the characters interesting, but I felt no connection to the modern world crew. Stealth missions can be entertaining while blending-in with ordinary citizens, but it's not always easy to determine whether you're under cover or not. I think this game is worthy of a playthrough especially at a discounted price on any console; and given the WiiU's thin library, this is probably one of the best games available on the Nintendo console. Expand
  7. Feb 18, 2013
    2
    This game is really just a new coat of paint for previous games. There is no new innovation that makes the game more worth while. This gameThis game is really just a new coat of paint for previous games. There is no new innovation that makes the game more worth while. This game adds even more clunky mini game type parts that are unresponsive with poor controls and extremely shallow, shadow issues seem to ruin the possibility of thinking this game might have descent graphics. The controls work some time and in other times they will work so horribly that you won't have to retry just to figure out how to get the controls to work how they should have in the first place. The only thing that people have been enjoying is the story which is exceedingly convoluted and pandering to a certain conspiracy theory type of people. Expand

See all 36 User Reviews