Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 183 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag is a free-roaming action-adventure game for the PS3, PC, Xbox 360, and WiiU. It is rumored that the game's protagonist will be privateer Edward Kenway, grandfather of Assassin's Creed III star Connor, and will be set in the Caribbean, with players reportedlyAssassin's Creed IV: Black Flag is a free-roaming action-adventure game for the PS3, PC, Xbox 360, and WiiU. It is rumored that the game's protagonist will be privateer Edward Kenway, grandfather of Assassin's Creed III star Connor, and will be set in the Caribbean, with players reportedly able to travel to multiple islands including Jamaica, Cuba, and the Bahamas. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. A huge, almost constantly entertaining game. Brash, soulful and clever, it's astonishing that a title on a yearly schedule came out this meaty.
  2. 90
    Black Flag is a must have for fans of Assassin’s Creed, and newcomers with a love for pirates will surely find something to love.
  3. Dec 12, 2013
    87
    Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag is a great game on Wii U, but considering the frame rate issues, the absence of DLC support and a somewhat disappointing use of the Gamepad, you might want to stick to the other versions if you have the chance to.
  4. Nov 11, 2013
    80
    Black Flag is at its best when it allows the player to exist organically in its immensely beautiful and consuming open world. While the bulk of the game is exceptionally crafted, there are rough edges that keep it from reaching the masterful heights to which it aspires.
  5. Jan 14, 2014
    80
    The Assassin's Creed series is teetering on the brink of saturation. Credit to Black Flag for escaping that fate thanks to its interesting and innovative mechanics. Naval exploration brings in several additional hours of gameplay, which along with its competent plot contribute to make Black Flag the best Assassin's Creed game since the second chapter of the series.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29
  1. Oct 30, 2013
    10
    The latest installment of AC, is packed with action and a thrilling storyline. The Wii U version utilises the controller's screen as a map,The latest installment of AC, is packed with action and a thrilling storyline. The Wii U version utilises the controller's screen as a map, weapon selection and is also able to play the game entirely on the gamepad. Expand
  2. Nov 4, 2013
    10
    This is the best AC game ever made. Hands down. Also best Wii U game I've ever played. Graphics seem almost next-gen. Gameplay and everythingThis is the best AC game ever made. Hands down. Also best Wii U game I've ever played. Graphics seem almost next-gen. Gameplay and everything is just as amazing as you'd expect. Expand
  3. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    Seriously! There too many trolls in this life! Ignore the idiots that keep giving negative scores without giving an explanation. I am a videoSeriously! There too many trolls in this life! Ignore the idiots that keep giving negative scores without giving an explanation. I am a video game fan PERIOD! The wii u version is better then both the ps3 and Xbox version. It has sharper texture cause it is at native 1080p on wii u while it's only 720p on the other two. Wii u's version is 14gb while the other two are slightly under 10gb. That's a decent size difference. Why do people have to hate on any console? Expand
  4. Feb 16, 2014
    9
    This game is pretty much gonna have you talking like a pirate for days (be warned telling your wife to swab the decks you lazy bilge rat doesThis game is pretty much gonna have you talking like a pirate for days (be warned telling your wife to swab the decks you lazy bilge rat does not go down well) bruises aside whats not to like pirates, adventure life on the open sea the graphics are stunning and the controls have been improved. You can tell the development team had fun with this and it shows in the way the game plays out. My only gripe is yet again the Wii U gets stuffed on the dlc. It is a self fulfilling prophecy that dlc want sell on the Wii U so lets not bother. Expand
  5. Jul 5, 2015
    9
    Strangely, a step forward and a step back for the Assassin's Creed series.

    But let's focus on the positives first, shall we? Black Flag
    Strangely, a step forward and a step back for the Assassin's Creed series.

    But let's focus on the positives first, shall we? Black Flag greatly improves the already great ship combat from Assassin's Creed III. It also adds free roaming with main character Edward Kenway's ship, the Jackdaw which is a nice touch. Sometimes you just want to take in the sights and the ocean waves (oh, and shanties) and the occasional ship battle. Black Flag also added a better sense of immersion. In III, the citizens just felt like they were just...there and not a part of the city. Here, they can actually interact with the soldiers, attempt to fight you if you pull out a weapon, and more. I felt like I wanted to collect more things here than in III. One of the main collectibles in III were the almanac pages which ultimately did nothing. The sea shanties are Black Flag's answer to that and the good thing is I actually want to collect them.

    Ubisoft makes some random changes to the on-land combat here, making it a bit tougher and making the soldiers even more picky than they were in III, which I thought was impossible. Pull out a gun for a second and the soldiers will chase you and shoot you on sight. Grab onto a ledge and a soldier on a roof will attempt to ignite a new World War. The actual combat changes are a bit minor and you get used to them after a while but the thing is they are unnecessary changes and unneeded (pretty much describing Assassin's Creed Unity there).

    I really enjoyed the story of AC3. It was engaging, I really liked the grey areas the Assassins and Templars had, I liked the setting, and the characters were interesting. Black Flag gets 2.5 out of those things right: the setting, the characters, and at times engaging. When Edward starts going off on his pirate adventures, the story grounds to a halt. He is given the boring task of finding medicines while the story could be better focused on Assassin and Templar business...which brings me to the missing grey areas. Black Flag paints the Templars as psychopaths who want to spy on people and invade their business. Meh. In my opinion, III's better on the story side while Black Flag is better on the overall gameplay.

    Overall, Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag makes improvements while at the same time degrading some aspects of the game so to me...I actually like them the same amount and not one more than the other.
    Expand
  6. Dec 8, 2014
    8
    Simply put its the best version of the game compared to any other platform, no doubt by the way, the graphics are incredibly and gamepad useSimply put its the best version of the game compared to any other platform, no doubt by the way, the graphics are incredibly and gamepad use for map is pretty cool. If you enjoy games for escapism this is a good game. However I find it too easy personally and too repetitive but its the only Assasins creed game that has kept me hooked for a while. Expand
  7. Jun 28, 2014
    0
    A great idea and good execution ruined by repetitive quests and cutscenes. When you start to see ships to plunder and go "nah, I don't want toA great idea and good execution ruined by repetitive quests and cutscenes. When you start to see ships to plunder and go "nah, I don't want to deal with another cutscene of some simpering captain" you know this game is dead. Had this concept taken place in any other franchise, say Just Cause, GTA, it could have been great. Unfortunately it took place in Assassins Creed and if Ubisoft is good at anything, it's using Ctrl+C and Ctrl+V. They've been pasting the same **** side quests into every AC game since AC1 despite that being the biggest complaint for every game in the series. Besides that, AC has never been a truly open-world franchise. Pirate ships really need true open world openness. Sailing up to an island only to find out that it's just a polygon wall with a rock texture on it ruins the experience...over and over and over again.

    I would give it stars for its awesome animations and a great try at the concept (i've been hoping for a game like this for like 15 years) but for me it's incomplete. 10 hours in and I had to set it aside from boredom. That's just unacceptable. This franchise needs a new engine if it's going to do everything Ubisoft wants it to do.
    Expand

See all 29 User Reviews