Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 170 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag is a free-roaming action-adventure game for the PS3, PC, Xbox 360, and WiiU. It is rumored that the game's protagonist will be privateer Edward Kenway, grandfather of Assassin's Creed III star Connor, and will be set in the Caribbean, with players reportedlyAssassin's Creed IV: Black Flag is a free-roaming action-adventure game for the PS3, PC, Xbox 360, and WiiU. It is rumored that the game's protagonist will be privateer Edward Kenway, grandfather of Assassin's Creed III star Connor, and will be set in the Caribbean, with players reportedly able to travel to multiple islands including Jamaica, Cuba, and the Bahamas. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. A huge, almost constantly entertaining game. Brash, soulful and clever, it's astonishing that a title on a yearly schedule came out this meaty.
  2. 90
    Black Flag is a must have for fans of Assassin’s Creed, and newcomers with a love for pirates will surely find something to love.
  3. Dec 12, 2013
    87
    Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag is a great game on Wii U, but considering the frame rate issues, the absence of DLC support and a somewhat disappointing use of the Gamepad, you might want to stick to the other versions if you have the chance to.
  4. Nov 11, 2013
    80
    Black Flag is at its best when it allows the player to exist organically in its immensely beautiful and consuming open world. While the bulk of the game is exceptionally crafted, there are rough edges that keep it from reaching the masterful heights to which it aspires.
  5. Jan 14, 2014
    80
    The Assassin's Creed series is teetering on the brink of saturation. Credit to Black Flag for escaping that fate thanks to its interesting and innovative mechanics. Naval exploration brings in several additional hours of gameplay, which along with its competent plot contribute to make Black Flag the best Assassin's Creed game since the second chapter of the series.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 27
  2. Negative: 2 out of 27
  1. Oct 30, 2013
    10
    The latest installment of AC, is packed with action and a thrilling storyline. The Wii U version utilises the controller's screen as a map,The latest installment of AC, is packed with action and a thrilling storyline. The Wii U version utilises the controller's screen as a map, weapon selection and is also able to play the game entirely on the gamepad. Expand
  2. Nov 4, 2013
    10
    This is the best AC game ever made. Hands down. Also best Wii U game I've ever played. Graphics seem almost next-gen. Gameplay and everythingThis is the best AC game ever made. Hands down. Also best Wii U game I've ever played. Graphics seem almost next-gen. Gameplay and everything is just as amazing as you'd expect. Expand
  3. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    Seriously! There too many trolls in this life! Ignore the idiots that keep giving negative scores without giving an explanation. I am a videoSeriously! There too many trolls in this life! Ignore the idiots that keep giving negative scores without giving an explanation. I am a video game fan PERIOD! The wii u version is better then both the ps3 and Xbox version. It has sharper texture cause it is at native 1080p on wii u while it's only 720p on the other two. Wii u's version is 14gb while the other two are slightly under 10gb. That's a decent size difference. Why do people have to hate on any console? Expand
  4. Dec 3, 2013
    9
    This is my first Assassin's Creed game, and I have to say, it is a very good game. Although I have started far in the series, I am reallyThis is my first Assassin's Creed game, and I have to say, it is a very good game. Although I have started far in the series, I am really enjoying the story as adventurer Edward Kennay, sailing the seas as an Assassin in great graphics, offering a great storyline, and interesting challenges. Along side the single player, multiplayer is addictive and entertaining. I am having a slight hard time adjusting to each game mode, but having a fun time. Overall, this is a great game and new experience for me, and I am excited to play future Assassin's Creed titles on my Wii U. Expand
  5. Feb 20, 2015
    9
    Llevo un mes y medio jugándolo y me falta aun bastante. Es un juego enorme pero tiene la capacidad de volver adicto al usuario. Tiene susLlevo un mes y medio jugándolo y me falta aun bastante. Es un juego enorme pero tiene la capacidad de volver adicto al usuario. Tiene sus errores pero admito que no me han entorpecido la experiencia de juego. Que si la historia, que si el personaje... el juego como tal me ha divertido y me sigue divirtiendo mucho. Expand
  6. Oct 27, 2014
    8
    Black Flag has one very real world, all thanks to the freedom brought by ships, which can be fully customized and are able to assault otherBlack Flag has one very real world, all thanks to the freedom brought by ships, which can be fully customized and are able to assault other ones. This is the most interesting part of Black Flag, as you can do this for 100 and not getting bored. However, land-based missions may not be as solid as other Assassin's Creed games. Expand
  7. Jun 28, 2014
    0
    A great idea and good execution ruined by repetitive quests and cutscenes. When you start to see ships to plunder and go "nah, I don't want toA great idea and good execution ruined by repetitive quests and cutscenes. When you start to see ships to plunder and go "nah, I don't want to deal with another cutscene of some simpering captain" you know this game is dead. Had this concept taken place in any other franchise, say Just Cause, GTA, it could have been great. Unfortunately it took place in Assassins Creed and if Ubisoft is good at anything, it's using Ctrl+C and Ctrl+V. They've been pasting the same **** side quests into every AC game since AC1 despite that being the biggest complaint for every game in the series. Besides that, AC has never been a truly open-world franchise. Pirate ships really need true open world openness. Sailing up to an island only to find out that it's just a polygon wall with a rock texture on it ruins the experience...over and over and over again.

    I would give it stars for its awesome animations and a great try at the concept (i've been hoping for a game like this for like 15 years) but for me it's incomplete. 10 hours in and I had to set it aside from boredom. That's just unacceptable. This franchise needs a new engine if it's going to do everything Ubisoft wants it to do.
    Expand

See all 27 User Reviews