Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 218 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag is a free-roaming action-adventure game for the PS3, PC, Xbox 360, and WiiU. It is rumored that the game's protagonist will be privateer Edward Kenway, grandfather of Assassin's Creed III star Connor, and will be set in the Caribbean, with players reportedlyAssassin's Creed IV: Black Flag is a free-roaming action-adventure game for the PS3, PC, Xbox 360, and WiiU. It is rumored that the game's protagonist will be privateer Edward Kenway, grandfather of Assassin's Creed III star Connor, and will be set in the Caribbean, with players reportedly able to travel to multiple islands including Jamaica, Cuba, and the Bahamas. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag - Horizon E3 2013 Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. A huge, almost constantly entertaining game. Brash, soulful and clever, it's astonishing that a title on a yearly schedule came out this meaty.
  2. 90
    Black Flag is a must have for fans of Assassin’s Creed, and newcomers with a love for pirates will surely find something to love.
  3. Dec 12, 2013
    87
    Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag is a great game on Wii U, but considering the frame rate issues, the absence of DLC support and a somewhat disappointing use of the Gamepad, you might want to stick to the other versions if you have the chance to.
  4. Nov 11, 2013
    80
    Black Flag is at its best when it allows the player to exist organically in its immensely beautiful and consuming open world. While the bulk of the game is exceptionally crafted, there are rough edges that keep it from reaching the masterful heights to which it aspires.
  5. Jan 14, 2014
    80
    The Assassin's Creed series is teetering on the brink of saturation. Credit to Black Flag for escaping that fate thanks to its interesting and innovative mechanics. Naval exploration brings in several additional hours of gameplay, which along with its competent plot contribute to make Black Flag the best Assassin's Creed game since the second chapter of the series.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. Oct 30, 2013
    10
    The latest installment of AC, is packed with action and a thrilling storyline. The Wii U version utilises the controller's screen as a map,The latest installment of AC, is packed with action and a thrilling storyline. The Wii U version utilises the controller's screen as a map, weapon selection and is also able to play the game entirely on the gamepad. Expand
  2. Nov 23, 2013
    10
    Assassin's Creed IV is the best in the series yet. Gorgeous graphics, nice controls, fun multiplayer... this is by far the most enjoyable gameAssassin's Creed IV is the best in the series yet. Gorgeous graphics, nice controls, fun multiplayer... this is by far the most enjoyable game I have played in a long time. Edward Kenway is such a likeable character and you will really enjoy this. The gamepad shows the map and you can do Off-TV Play on it as well. Perfect and a must-buy. Expand
  3. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    I have been a solid Creed fan since day one, I own all of the previous games on Xbox 360 and I can honestly say this version is much superior,I have been a solid Creed fan since day one, I own all of the previous games on Xbox 360 and I can honestly say this version is much superior, I have played on PS4, Xbox One and 360, loading times are faster than the competition, gamepad use is good usual off screen play and map functionality is all there but not essential it is easier to check the gamepad map than having to load up the normal map, soundtrack is epic the pirates singing is a laugh, graphically I have seen the comparison vids and can honestly say its up there with Xbox One and PS4 Wii U is finally flexing some muscle, multiplayer connects perfectly with no problems and lots of people online to match against, the way you manage Edwards fleet and vessel is awesome as is the sea battles, so far Edward tops Ezio and Connor in every way(fighting and character) and is definitely more likeable than Haytham! Definitely a must have for the Wii U, you can snapshot you moments to the Miiverse, the story has become more epic, without spoiling anything you just need to crack on with it, people will still be playing this in 6 months time there is just so much to do 10/10 get in there on your new Nintendo, Peace. Expand
  4. Feb 20, 2015
    9
    Llevo un mes y medio jugándolo y me falta aun bastante. Es un juego enorme pero tiene la capacidad de volver adicto al usuario. Tiene susLlevo un mes y medio jugándolo y me falta aun bastante. Es un juego enorme pero tiene la capacidad de volver adicto al usuario. Tiene sus errores pero admito que no me han entorpecido la experiencia de juego. Que si la historia, que si el personaje... el juego como tal me ha divertido y me sigue divirtiendo mucho. Expand
  5. Feb 24, 2016
    9
    esse foi o melhor jogo que a ubisoft lançou para o wii u sem sombra de dúvidas. o jogo tem uma boa história, ótima jogabilidade, um mundoesse foi o melhor jogo que a ubisoft lançou para o wii u sem sombra de dúvidas. o jogo tem uma boa história, ótima jogabilidade, um mundo grande cheio de segredos, uma ótima trilha sonora e um bom modo online. só não gostei da forma que ele virou assassino, acho que poderia ter sido mais interessante, por isso não dei 10. mas o resto ficou ótimo. Expand
  6. Nov 1, 2013
    8
    I was never a HUGE fan of the AC series. I played AC2 and AC3 but never beat them. By no means did I think the games were bad, I just gotI was never a HUGE fan of the AC series. I played AC2 and AC3 but never beat them. By no means did I think the games were bad, I just got bored with the repetitiveness of the missions. That all changed with AC4 though. I'm only a few hours into it but I'm enjoying the open world very much. The amount of exploring you do between the story missions more that makes up for the repetitiveness I felt in the other games in the series. I think the pirate idea was a great one to explore and I'm looking forward to getting many hours of enjoyment out of this game! Expand
  7. Jun 28, 2014
    0
    A great idea and good execution ruined by repetitive quests and cutscenes. When you start to see ships to plunder and go "nah, I don't want toA great idea and good execution ruined by repetitive quests and cutscenes. When you start to see ships to plunder and go "nah, I don't want to deal with another cutscene of some simpering captain" you know this game is dead. Had this concept taken place in any other franchise, say Just Cause, GTA, it could have been great. Unfortunately it took place in Assassins Creed and if Ubisoft is good at anything, it's using Ctrl+C and Ctrl+V. They've been pasting the same **** side quests into every AC game since AC1 despite that being the biggest complaint for every game in the series. Besides that, AC has never been a truly open-world franchise. Pirate ships really need true open world openness. Sailing up to an island only to find out that it's just a polygon wall with a rock texture on it ruins the experience...over and over and over again.

    I would give it stars for its awesome animations and a great try at the concept (i've been hoping for a game like this for like 15 years) but for me it's incomplete. 10 hours in and I had to set it aside from boredom. That's just unacceptable. This franchise needs a new engine if it's going to do everything Ubisoft wants it to do.
    Expand

See all 37 User Reviews