Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 203 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag is a free-roaming action-adventure game for the PS3, PC, Xbox 360, and WiiU. It is rumored that the game's protagonist will be privateer Edward Kenway, grandfather of Assassin's Creed III star Connor, and will be set in the Caribbean, with players reportedlyAssassin's Creed IV: Black Flag is a free-roaming action-adventure game for the PS3, PC, Xbox 360, and WiiU. It is rumored that the game's protagonist will be privateer Edward Kenway, grandfather of Assassin's Creed III star Connor, and will be set in the Caribbean, with players reportedly able to travel to multiple islands including Jamaica, Cuba, and the Bahamas. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. A huge, almost constantly entertaining game. Brash, soulful and clever, it's astonishing that a title on a yearly schedule came out this meaty.
  2. 90
    Black Flag is a must have for fans of Assassin’s Creed, and newcomers with a love for pirates will surely find something to love.
  3. Dec 12, 2013
    87
    Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag is a great game on Wii U, but considering the frame rate issues, the absence of DLC support and a somewhat disappointing use of the Gamepad, you might want to stick to the other versions if you have the chance to.
  4. Nov 11, 2013
    80
    Black Flag is at its best when it allows the player to exist organically in its immensely beautiful and consuming open world. While the bulk of the game is exceptionally crafted, there are rough edges that keep it from reaching the masterful heights to which it aspires.
  5. Jan 14, 2014
    80
    The Assassin's Creed series is teetering on the brink of saturation. Credit to Black Flag for escaping that fate thanks to its interesting and innovative mechanics. Naval exploration brings in several additional hours of gameplay, which along with its competent plot contribute to make Black Flag the best Assassin's Creed game since the second chapter of the series.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 32
  2. Negative: 2 out of 32
  1. Oct 30, 2013
    10
    The latest installment of AC, is packed with action and a thrilling storyline. The Wii U version utilises the controller's screen as a map,The latest installment of AC, is packed with action and a thrilling storyline. The Wii U version utilises the controller's screen as a map, weapon selection and is also able to play the game entirely on the gamepad. Expand
  2. Nov 23, 2013
    10
    Assassin's Creed IV is the best in the series yet. Gorgeous graphics, nice controls, fun multiplayer... this is by far the most enjoyable gameAssassin's Creed IV is the best in the series yet. Gorgeous graphics, nice controls, fun multiplayer... this is by far the most enjoyable game I have played in a long time. Edward Kenway is such a likeable character and you will really enjoy this. The gamepad shows the map and you can do Off-TV Play on it as well. Perfect and a must-buy. Expand
  3. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    I have been a solid Creed fan since day one, I own all of the previous games on Xbox 360 and I can honestly say this version is much superior,I have been a solid Creed fan since day one, I own all of the previous games on Xbox 360 and I can honestly say this version is much superior, I have played on PS4, Xbox One and 360, loading times are faster than the competition, gamepad use is good usual off screen play and map functionality is all there but not essential it is easier to check the gamepad map than having to load up the normal map, soundtrack is epic the pirates singing is a laugh, graphically I have seen the comparison vids and can honestly say its up there with Xbox One and PS4 Wii U is finally flexing some muscle, multiplayer connects perfectly with no problems and lots of people online to match against, the way you manage Edwards fleet and vessel is awesome as is the sea battles, so far Edward tops Ezio and Connor in every way(fighting and character) and is definitely more likeable than Haytham! Definitely a must have for the Wii U, you can snapshot you moments to the Miiverse, the story has become more epic, without spoiling anything you just need to crack on with it, people will still be playing this in 6 months time there is just so much to do 10/10 get in there on your new Nintendo, Peace. Expand
  4. Dec 3, 2013
    9
    This is my first Assassin's Creed game, and I have to say, it is a very good game. Although I have started far in the series, I am reallyThis is my first Assassin's Creed game, and I have to say, it is a very good game. Although I have started far in the series, I am really enjoying the story as adventurer Edward Kennay, sailing the seas as an Assassin in great graphics, offering a great storyline, and interesting challenges. Along side the single player, multiplayer is addictive and entertaining. I am having a slight hard time adjusting to each game mode, but having a fun time. Overall, this is a great game and new experience for me, and I am excited to play future Assassin's Creed titles on my Wii U. Expand
  5. Jul 5, 2015
    9
    Strangely, a step forward and a step back for the Assassin's Creed series.

    But let's focus on the positives first, shall we? Black Flag
    Strangely, a step forward and a step back for the Assassin's Creed series.

    But let's focus on the positives first, shall we? Black Flag greatly improves the already great ship combat from Assassin's Creed III. It also adds free roaming with main character Edward Kenway's ship, the Jackdaw which is a nice touch. Sometimes you just want to take in the sights and the ocean waves (oh, and shanties) and the occasional ship battle. Black Flag also added a better sense of immersion. In III, the citizens just felt like they were just...there and not a part of the city. Here, they can actually interact with the soldiers, attempt to fight you if you pull out a weapon, and more. I felt like I wanted to collect more things here than in III. One of the main collectibles in III were the almanac pages which ultimately did nothing. The sea shanties are Black Flag's answer to that and the good thing is I actually want to collect them.

    Ubisoft makes some random changes to the on-land combat here, making it a bit tougher and making the soldiers even more picky than they were in III, which I thought was impossible. Pull out a gun for a second and the soldiers will chase you and shoot you on sight. Grab onto a ledge and a soldier on a roof will attempt to ignite a new World War. The actual combat changes are a bit minor and you get used to them after a while but the thing is they are unnecessary changes and unneeded (pretty much describing Assassin's Creed Unity there).

    I really enjoyed the story of AC3. It was engaging, I really liked the grey areas the Assassins and Templars had, I liked the setting, and the characters were interesting. Black Flag gets 2.5 out of those things right: the setting, the characters, and at times engaging. When Edward starts going off on his pirate adventures, the story grounds to a halt. He is given the boring task of finding medicines while the story could be better focused on Assassin and Templar business...which brings me to the missing grey areas. Black Flag paints the Templars as psychopaths who want to spy on people and invade their business. Meh. In my opinion, III's better on the story side while Black Flag is better on the overall gameplay.

    Overall, Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag makes improvements while at the same time degrading some aspects of the game so to me...I actually like them the same amount and not one more than the other.
    Expand
  6. Jan 16, 2014
    8
    A rare and welcome open-world adventure game on the Wii U, the fourth main entry in the Assassin's Creed series is filled with excitingA rare and welcome open-world adventure game on the Wii U, the fourth main entry in the Assassin's Creed series is filled with exciting quests, epic battles and a ridiculous amount of content.

    The game puts you in the skin of Edward Kenway, a Welsh buccaneer who ends up becoming a pirate and getting involved in the centuries-old war between assassins and templars. Truth be told, the story itself is nothing to write home about; the writing goes from passable to bland, whereas the (thankfully short) modern-day segments are not only eye-rollingly dull, but completely uncalled for in a game about pirates. Thankfully, the lush Caribbean setting more than makes up for it, and exploring the many tropical islands in Central America will be an experience to remember.

    One of the games biggest victories is the plethora of different ways to play it. There are stealth missions, sword combat sequences, huge naval battles (including fantastic sidequest battles with "legendary ships"), underwater exploration, land and sea hunting, boardgame-like trade missions, and more. Most of them are fantastic, whereas some (like underwater segments and, especially, the modern-day parts) can be a bit dull; either way, this variety ensures than gameplay almost never gets stale, and there's always something different for you to do should you get bored of a particular style of play. In this way, this is really many games in one, and the basics of each of them are surprisingly intuitive.

    A particular disappointment is how Ubisoft missed opportunities in porting it to the Wii U. Having the gamepad as a large map is awesome, but there is so much more that could have been done. For you to interact with the map (by setting markers, for example), you need to press select and use the analog sticks to scroll through it. This is perfectly acceptable on other platforms, obviously, but why not let us do that on the gamepad touchscreen? It would not only be a time-saver, but a tangible reason for people to choose the Wii U version over others.

    Be that as it may, Black Flag is still one of the better ways to get your M-rated action fix on the Wii U. The game's great sense of immersion (helped by the beautiful visuals) will entice you to spend countless hours roaming every corner of its world, and the whole experience can easily exceed 50 hours if you're keen on exploration.

    Rating: 8.0
    Expand
  7. Jun 28, 2014
    0
    A great idea and good execution ruined by repetitive quests and cutscenes. When you start to see ships to plunder and go "nah, I don't want toA great idea and good execution ruined by repetitive quests and cutscenes. When you start to see ships to plunder and go "nah, I don't want to deal with another cutscene of some simpering captain" you know this game is dead. Had this concept taken place in any other franchise, say Just Cause, GTA, it could have been great. Unfortunately it took place in Assassins Creed and if Ubisoft is good at anything, it's using Ctrl+C and Ctrl+V. They've been pasting the same **** side quests into every AC game since AC1 despite that being the biggest complaint for every game in the series. Besides that, AC has never been a truly open-world franchise. Pirate ships really need true open world openness. Sailing up to an island only to find out that it's just a polygon wall with a rock texture on it ruins the experience...over and over and over again.

    I would give it stars for its awesome animations and a great try at the concept (i've been hoping for a game like this for like 15 years) but for me it's incomplete. 10 hours in and I had to set it aside from boredom. That's just unacceptable. This franchise needs a new engine if it's going to do everything Ubisoft wants it to do.
    Expand

See all 32 User Reviews