Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 157 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag is a free-roaming action-adventure game for the PS3, PC, Xbox 360, and WiiU. It is rumored that the game's protagonist will be privateer Edward Kenway, grandfather of Assassin's Creed III star Connor, and will be set in the Caribbean, with players reportedlyAssassin's Creed IV: Black Flag is a free-roaming action-adventure game for the PS3, PC, Xbox 360, and WiiU. It is rumored that the game's protagonist will be privateer Edward Kenway, grandfather of Assassin's Creed III star Connor, and will be set in the Caribbean, with players reportedly able to travel to multiple islands including Jamaica, Cuba, and the Bahamas. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. A huge, almost constantly entertaining game. Brash, soulful and clever, it's astonishing that a title on a yearly schedule came out this meaty.
  2. 90
    Black Flag is a must have for fans of Assassin’s Creed, and newcomers with a love for pirates will surely find something to love.
  3. Dec 12, 2013
    87
    Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag is a great game on Wii U, but considering the frame rate issues, the absence of DLC support and a somewhat disappointing use of the Gamepad, you might want to stick to the other versions if you have the chance to.
  4. Nov 11, 2013
    80
    Black Flag is at its best when it allows the player to exist organically in its immensely beautiful and consuming open world. While the bulk of the game is exceptionally crafted, there are rough edges that keep it from reaching the masterful heights to which it aspires.
  5. Jan 14, 2014
    80
    The Assassin's Creed series is teetering on the brink of saturation. Credit to Black Flag for escaping that fate thanks to its interesting and innovative mechanics. Naval exploration brings in several additional hours of gameplay, which along with its competent plot contribute to make Black Flag the best Assassin's Creed game since the second chapter of the series.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    I have been a solid Creed fan since day one, I own all of the previous games on Xbox 360 and I can honestly say this version is much superior,I have been a solid Creed fan since day one, I own all of the previous games on Xbox 360 and I can honestly say this version is much superior, I have played on PS4, Xbox One and 360, loading times are faster than the competition, gamepad use is good usual off screen play and map functionality is all there but not essential it is easier to check the gamepad map than having to load up the normal map, soundtrack is epic the pirates singing is a laugh, graphically I have seen the comparison vids and can honestly say its up there with Xbox One and PS4 Wii U is finally flexing some muscle, multiplayer connects perfectly with no problems and lots of people online to match against, the way you manage Edwards fleet and vessel is awesome as is the sea battles, so far Edward tops Ezio and Connor in every way(fighting and character) and is definitely more likeable than Haytham! Definitely a must have for the Wii U, you can snapshot you moments to the Miiverse, the story has become more epic, without spoiling anything you just need to crack on with it, people will still be playing this in 6 months time there is just so much to do 10/10 get in there on your new Nintendo, Peace. Expand
  2. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    Seriously! There too many trolls in this life! Ignore the idiots that keep giving negative scores without giving an explanation. I am a videoSeriously! There too many trolls in this life! Ignore the idiots that keep giving negative scores without giving an explanation. I am a video game fan PERIOD! The wii u version is better then both the ps3 and Xbox version. It has sharper texture cause it is at native 1080p on wii u while it's only 720p on the other two. Wii u's version is 14gb while the other two are slightly under 10gb. That's a decent size difference. Why do people have to hate on any console? Expand
  3. Oct 30, 2013
    10
    The latest installment of AC, is packed with action and a thrilling storyline. The Wii U version utilises the controller's screen as a map,The latest installment of AC, is packed with action and a thrilling storyline. The Wii U version utilises the controller's screen as a map, weapon selection and is also able to play the game entirely on the gamepad. Expand
  4. PMG
    Jul 9, 2014
    9
    In my opinion this is by far one of the best games of 2013. As an Assassin's Creed game goes it is a farly open stealth game that despite notIn my opinion this is by far one of the best games of 2013. As an Assassin's Creed game goes it is a farly open stealth game that despite not being were difficult, can be a challenge if you wanna be extra sneake. The differens is that you can sail, with probely the best sailing ever found in a video game. Visuels are also impressive and though they might not be completly onpar with other consoles one tye Wii U, i don't care. Story wise it has one of the best protagonists in the series, only outperformed by Etzio. If you like pirate games, team up with Keenway, Blackbeard and Colico jack in this fantastic game. Expand
  5. Nov 1, 2013
    8
    I was never a HUGE fan of the AC series. I played AC2 and AC3 but never beat them. By no means did I think the games were bad, I just gotI was never a HUGE fan of the AC series. I played AC2 and AC3 but never beat them. By no means did I think the games were bad, I just got bored with the repetitiveness of the missions. That all changed with AC4 though. I'm only a few hours into it but I'm enjoying the open world very much. The amount of exploring you do between the story missions more that makes up for the repetitiveness I felt in the other games in the series. I think the pirate idea was a great one to explore and I'm looking forward to getting many hours of enjoyment out of this game! Expand
  6. Jan 16, 2014
    8
    A rare and welcome open-world adventure game on the Wii U, the fourth main entry in the Assassin's Creed series is filled with excitingA rare and welcome open-world adventure game on the Wii U, the fourth main entry in the Assassin's Creed series is filled with exciting quests, epic battles and a ridiculous amount of content.

    The game puts you in the skin of Edward Kenway, a Welsh buccaneer who ends up becoming a pirate and getting involved in the centuries-old war between assassins and templars. Truth be told, the story itself is nothing to write home about; the writing goes from passable to bland, whereas the (thankfully short) modern-day segments are not only eye-rollingly dull, but completely uncalled for in a game about pirates. Thankfully, the lush Caribbean setting more than makes up for it, and exploring the many tropical islands in Central America will be an experience to remember.

    One of the games biggest victories is the plethora of different ways to play it. There are stealth missions, sword combat sequences, huge naval battles (including fantastic sidequest battles with "legendary ships"), underwater exploration, land and sea hunting, boardgame-like trade missions, and more. Most of them are fantastic, whereas some (like underwater segments and, especially, the modern-day parts) can be a bit dull; either way, this variety ensures than gameplay almost never gets stale, and there's always something different for you to do should you get bored of a particular style of play. In this way, this is really many games in one, and the basics of each of them are surprisingly intuitive.

    A particular disappointment is how Ubisoft missed opportunities in porting it to the Wii U. Having the gamepad as a large map is awesome, but there is so much more that could have been done. For you to interact with the map (by setting markers, for example), you need to press select and use the analog sticks to scroll through it. This is perfectly acceptable on other platforms, obviously, but why not let us do that on the gamepad touchscreen? It would not only be a time-saver, but a tangible reason for people to choose the Wii U version over others.

    Be that as it may, Black Flag is still one of the better ways to get your M-rated action fix on the Wii U. The game's great sense of immersion (helped by the beautiful visuals) will entice you to spend countless hours roaming every corner of its world, and the whole experience can easily exceed 50 hours if you're keen on exploration.

    Rating: 8.0
    Expand
  7. Jun 28, 2014
    0
    A great idea and good execution ruined by repetitive quests and cutscenes. When you start to see ships to plunder and go "nah, I don't want toA great idea and good execution ruined by repetitive quests and cutscenes. When you start to see ships to plunder and go "nah, I don't want to deal with another cutscene of some simpering captain" you know this game is dead. Had this concept taken place in any other franchise, say Just Cause, GTA, it could have been great. Unfortunately it took place in Assassins Creed and if Ubisoft is good at anything, it's using Ctrl+C and Ctrl+V. They've been pasting the same **** side quests into every AC game since AC1 despite that being the biggest complaint for every game in the series. Besides that, AC has never been a truly open-world franchise. Pirate ships really need true open world openness. Sailing up to an island only to find out that it's just a polygon wall with a rock texture on it ruins the experience...over and over and over again.

    I would give it stars for its awesome animations and a great try at the concept (i've been hoping for a game like this for like 15 years) but for me it's incomplete. 10 hours in and I had to set it aside from boredom. That's just unacceptable. This franchise needs a new engine if it's going to do everything Ubisoft wants it to do.
    Expand

See all 25 User Reviews