Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Feb 20, 2013
    100
    Batman: Arkham City is one of the best games ever created, no matter the platform. It’s engaging from beginning to end, the production values are first rate, and on Wii U there’s an extra level of depth to the experience. You can't go wrong with an outright purchase.
  2. Nov 29, 2012
    100
    This is hands down the best and most complete version of the game.
  3. Nov 27, 2012
    100
    Armored Edition comes with all the pre-existing DLC as part of the game, and the player can jump right into Harley Quinn's Revenge from the start screen (though it warns you that this is likely to spoil a great deal of the story). This, plus the awesome immersion of the Wii U Gamepad makes it so, I can't imagine wanting to play this incredible game on any other system.
  4. Nov 17, 2012
    95
    Batman: Arkham City isn't perfect, but listing the little things I didn't like gets in the way of all the stuff I adored.
  5. Jan 23, 2013
    92
    Armoured Edition is an excellent superhero's sandbox. The BatGamePad-gadgets work nicely. [Jan 2013]
  6. Nov 29, 2012
    91
    If you've never had a chance to play Arkham City and are looking for a fun action/adventure game that has awesome combat, fun exploration, and an excellent presentation, you can't go wrong with Batman: Arkham City Armored Edition. The game has enough content to keep you busy for over twenty hours and is entertaining from beginning to end.
  7. Dec 17, 2012
    90
    A really good game that becomes fantastic with GamePad. It almost feels like the whole game was designed only for this way of playing Batman: Arkham City.
  8. Dec 14, 2012
    90
    Batman: Arkham City-Armored Edition sets a new bar, not just for comic-book adaptations, but for games in general. [Dec 2012, p.76]
  9. 90
    Even if you don't play Batman's story again, just the extra content is enough to justify the purchase.
  10. Nov 26, 2012
    90
    A very good port of an already excellent action-adventure game. If you missed the original, try out this unique Wii U edition.
  11. Nov 18, 2012
    90
    Armored Edition is a great way to finally appreciate the game along with a majority of its DLC. However, the Wii U port isn't preferable to Game of the Year versions you'll find on PS3 and 360. Armored Edition utilizes the GamePad better than some other AAA games being ported to the system, but that's still not enough to make this the definitive release, or one you should go out of your way to play.
  12. Nov 17, 2012
    90
    The coolest use of the GamePad, however, is in the environmental audio. When Batman receives radio transmissions from Oracle or overhears a conversation with his surveillance equipment, the audio comes in over the GamePad, simulating Batman's earpiece.
  13. Dec 12, 2012
    89
    If you haven't played Batman: Arkham City yet, you should really do it now with the Armored Edition. It's a very well-done open world action adventure with an formidable atmosphere, that gets seldomly disturbed by technical deficits.
  14. Dec 11, 2012
    87
    Still an outstanding game, however the new features introduced to take advantage of the GamePad are generally superficial and really add nothing to the experience.
  15. Nov 30, 2012
    87
    Arkham City is one of the strongest games in the Wii U launch lineup, mainly thanks to the original content that's as fascinating as it was about a year ago. But this port also benefits from good implementation of the touch pad controls that seem tailor-made.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 159 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. Nov 18, 2012
    8
    If you have already played it there is no reason to get this. The new editions are not worth it and the game looking side by side next to the 360 version looks about the same. I am glad all of the DLC is on it but I kind of feel like I should of passed on this. It is still the game it was a year ago and that is actually a big let down. But I am not gonna give it a bad score because it isn't a bad game. So I will give it what I gave the 360 version and assume someone will not make the same mistake I did. Full Review »
  2. Nov 18, 2012
    9
    I never got Arkham City when it first came out, so this is brand new for me. Its great, and even though I am not far in, I can already tell there is a lot of added value with all that dlc included. That said the WiiU controls aren't that amazing; they don't seem to add to much, but it could be a nice alternative for people who played Arkham City already.
    Glad I got this one at launch.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    This is the best Wii U launch game by so far. Yeah, maybe it's one year later, and it's suppose that there is not going to be anyone to play this one. Anyway, it's the same game, simply the great and brilliant game released on 2011. Nothing changes, even the technical aspect. But if you've played another versions, specially the GOTY one, you are going to waste your money shamelessly. This game is great for those who haven't played the game, or simply are Nintendo-Batman fans. Full Review »