User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 165 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 165

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 30, 2014
    5
    I played Asylum on the 360 and thought it was one of last gen's best games. The Wii U version is a buggy mess. There are framerate issues and all around it looks like a very lazy port from WB Montreal (that's right...Rocksteady couldn't be bothered to do it themselves) just like most 3rd party games on the Wii U. What I think happens is they port straight over from the 360 and that's it...no optimization, effects, shading, nothing! So it just looks off. I tried the PS3 version and it looks and runs better so I know it's just the Wii U version. But performance not withstanding...this does not messure up to AA in the slightest. It's probably a game that didn't need to be made but they had to. Expand
  2. Aug 8, 2014
    10
    Must have for a Wii U owner, Nintendo need more games like this, it uses the gamepad in the best way and have extras like harley queens revenge or riddler puzzles give a lot of hours of gamaplay.
  3. Apr 26, 2014
    10
    The action gameplay is flawless. The dialogue can be corny, and the Wii U version does experience some framerate drops, but this game was a dream to play in terms of combat, movement, and atmosphere. It improved upon Arkham Asylum in so many ways (which was already a very solid game). I would highly recommend it on the Wii U if you havent played it yet. The added gamepad features are actually kind of neat, and didnt feel gimmicky. Expand
  4. Mar 2, 2014
    9
    An open world Batman game which has an extreme amount of content and is extremely fun to play. This version of the game is on Wii U only, though it's essentially the X-BOX 360 version of the original game with all of the Downloadable Content and new control features. Any other version of this game gets a solid ten out of ten, though there's a reason why I deduct one point from the Wii U version. There's a game-breaking glitch which stops the player from completing this game one-hundred percent, and only allowing one play-through of a specific downloadable content. That is unacceptable. Expand
  5. Jan 9, 2014
    9
    An action game that improves on it's predecessor. Arkham City is much larger and just more fun. The villains are very well represented (the Joker especially), the world is massive, the narrative is well done, the visuals are impressive and the music is great. While i honestly found the beginning a little slow, this game is great in every regard. A great Wii U launch and in all honestly, i don't know why this version got lower rated as it's just great if not better then the PS3 version. Expand
  6. Sep 28, 2013
    9
    This game is by far one of my favourite wii u game! This game is great and works extremely well! The only thing that is bad thing is the desing. In all missions i found that the maps all looked the same. Other than that it comes with all the DLC!!! Great game you should buy it
  7. Sep 22, 2013
    10
    Si te gustan los juegos de Accion-Aventura sin duda debes comprarte este juego, es genial y super adicitivo, no tiene nada de malo, lo unico que le faltaria seria un multijugador online
  8. Sep 4, 2013
    9
    this is my favorite version of the game and also i think one of the games that show the true potential of the wii u, i recommend this to people who like action, stealth, or just have a wii u and still haven't tried the game out yet. This version also comes with all of the dlc and skins like the game of the year edition and it also has some awesome wii u exclusive content including the new interface, the B.A.T mode and a bat suit that fits a millionaire vigilante more than that old piece of cloth. Expand
  9. Aug 18, 2013
    9
    Excellent Gameplay, stunning visuals, great story; an excellent sequel to Arkham Asylum.
    Fantastic usage of the Gamepad, it absolutely feels amazing to turn yourself to look behind you.

    A must have.
  10. Jun 27, 2013
    6
    Call me grouchy, but I can't help but feel the quest for flashy graphics and gritty realism is chipping away at what made great action games in the past: the gameplay.

    Case in point: the critically-acclaimed Batman Arkham series. It sure sounds a lot of fun to get to wear the Dark Knight's (or Catwoman's) skin and explore the sprawling "detention block" of Gotham City. The case is even
    more so when you have all of Batman's gadgets at your disposal. This immersive presentation is where Arkham City really shines, at times making you feel as if you're inside a Batman movie. But the mechanics to make such a thing even possible end up convoluted, to the point where you'll need the game's constant on-screen tips and reminders to even get what you're supposed to do next.

    Arkham City could definitely learn a thing or two from the Zelda Castlevania book of epic adventuring. The most immediately obvious problem with the game is how it completely overwhelms you from the get-go with a plethora of available information, menus and weapons something both the aforementioned series avoid in exchange for a more linear method of getting new items over time and/or upgrading them. The game would greatly benefit from a more spread-out learning curve, perhaps letting you play in Bruce Wayne mode for a while longer, and focusing more on fun gameplay than on the (admittedly impressive) cinematics and cutscenes.

    Once you get the hang of it, though, Arkham City can be a rewarding experience. The combat system is pure old hack and slash, with some added nuance from counter-strikes. The gamepad-based mechanics, such as detective mode and the sonar, are often cute, even if sometimes they feel a bit gimmicky. And of course, Batman's world remains as intriguing as ever.

    If you're a fan of the modern style of action games, you should be thrilled with Arkham City. Otherwise, I'd suggest giving it a try before you buy it.
    Expand
  11. Jun 21, 2013
    9
    I've played through the Xbox 360 version also, but this version is the best. The little tweaks involving the game pad such as scanning, controlling the batterang and just something simple like Alfred talking to you on it improve the experience. However, my favourite part, like with most Wii U games, it being able to play the game without a TV. An essential purchase for the Wii U, whether you've played the other versions or not. Expand
  12. May 21, 2013
    8
    While I didn't really like Arkham Asylum, I think Arkham city is much better. The open environments of the city are much better fitted for this kind of game. Gliding around is really fun. I like the BAT mode, but you get it too often. Some problems I have is that you sometimes randomly die if you do something out of place even if it doesn't kill you. The map on the gamepad is useful.
  13. May 16, 2013
    10
    If you have not already played this game and own a Wii U, do yourself a favour, buy it, it's going cheap everywhere and is quite simply a masterpiece. The game, just like Arkham Asylum before it, gets the feel of Batman just right, you really do feel like Batman when you are playing. While the story of the first game is better, Arkham City makes up for it by having even more diverse gameplay and giving you a much larger world to explore and mess around in. The introduction of side quests really bulks out the campaign and adds even more of an atmosphere to an already incredible world. Arkham City is longer than the first game (I have played it now for over 30 hours and have only completed just over 60%), however, at times you will feel overwhelmed by the sheer amount of content on offer in the game; a strange criticism I know, but it is the only thing I disliked about the game. The inclusion of all the game's DLC in the Armoured edition is good as well, Harley Quinn's Revenge is great. Overall, this is a game you have no excuse not to play (unless of course if you're too young!). Incredible, 96/100. Expand
  14. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    I don't know if this is the best or worst version of the game, and frankly I. DON'T. CARE.!!!
    this is an awesome game for any console and so is this version, if you haven't played it buy it right now, this version have some little wii u exclusives that aren't incredible, they don't really make the game the perfect version, but this game, just as it is, is almost perfect, and only $40 is
    really not much for this experience, buy it now!!! Expand
  15. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    This is without a doubt the best Wii U title if not the best Game ever in my opinion, The Story, Music, Combat and everything's great. Can't want for Injustice Gods Among Us!
  16. Mar 21, 2013
    9
    I owned this game on the 360 but I have to say that this is the version to get. There was a slight graphical improvement over the 360 version with better lighting and shadows. I also enjoyed the touch pad features. For me it added a little something to game. I highly recommend this game.
  17. Mar 2, 2013
    10
    best batman game ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.......................................................................
  18. Feb 19, 2013
    9
    I'm kinda mixed on this game. On the upper hand it's really fun, great visuals, and decent story (just a few minor annoyances, but I don't wanna spoil anything sorry) though the good cant outweigh the bad. For one the game is easy. You can press one button for about 60-70% of the battles, and I personally wasn't to fond of the stealth mechanics. Though that's probably just the inpatient teen inside of me :P Though the best part about this game is the game pad integration. The map on the touch screen is perfect and using the motion controls for the batterange, pure awesomeness. So all and all I would recommend this game, it's a great but and the Gamepad just makes the game feel natural. Expand
  19. Jan 2, 2013
    10
    It's rare that 3 letters can describe a single game, but that is the case here. Those 3 letters? Wow. I played a little bit of Arkham Asylum and wasn't the biggest fan, it just didn't connect with me very well. I had read the rave reviews of Arkham City but never gave it a try. So when I got the Wii U I figured I would finally give it a shot. Simply amazing. The game is so much fun. It reminds me of a mix between Spider-Man 2 and Grand Theft Auto. Though I would say I enjoyed this game better than those 2. Graphically it is fantastic. I've heard the Wii U version is the best looking though I can't confirm nor deny that. The music is outstanding as well and sounds very similar to the score of the Dark Knight films. Now the controls are where Arkham Asylum turned me off. There seemed to be a lot of strange button combinations to do simple actions. Like pressing A + R, or something similar. The same is the case in Arkham City but it feels more comfortable and natural. They still take a bit get used to, but the Wii U gamepad makes it better. Speaking of the gamepad, the way it's used here is very surprising. I would have expected them to maybe have a map on there or cutscenes like the other Wii U ports. And while they do have those features, it has many more. All of your gadgets are easily accessible by simply touching them on the gamepad. You can even map certain gadgets to the d-pad for quick access. Some gadgets are strictly used on the gamepad like hacking computers and controlling the remote batarang. It works beautifully. Also on the gamepad is character bios, your entire suit upgrade system, and whenever you communicate with somebody via walkie talkie, it's played through the gamepad speaker. It all really gives you the impression that the developers really cared about this Wii U version which really makes it a great version to have. So that's where I'll end things. This has become one of my favorite games of the year and maybe my favorite Wii U game and I really recommend you play it if you're looking for an excellent game that really shows what makes the Wii U a unique console. Thanks! Expand
  20. Dec 31, 2012
    9
    Last year, Batman Arkham City was released one of the best games ever released.Now, for the launch of the Wii U, Arkham City returns in the form of Armored Edition. It contains the full game and the various Downloadable Content; now including Wii U gamepad specific features.
    The plot remains untouched. Evil Master Mind, Hugo Strange, is put in charge of Arkham City, a closed off part of
    Gotham, where criminals fight for control. Batman get Expand
  21. Dec 11, 2012
    9
    This game is awesome...just as good as PS360 if not better Batarific: all DLC content. Catwoman is awesome to play as Sweet skins, animated and 70's batman are my faves So much to do and explore with engaging side quests from the batman comics Pretty awesome to be able to go and play in bed, a room away from the console The Wii U controller is very immersiveI love getting calls from the joker, and doing inventory using the pad.
    New game plus that is actually fun
    Great combat that I never tired of The not so great:
    wish it were longer
    minor frame dropping

    A must buy if you don't own on PS360 and support core games for nintendo's next gen core console.
    Collapse
  22. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    one of the best WIIU launch titles for sure. a match between this and zombiu... maybe mario as well. overall the gameplay is far superior than could be on any non-interactive console. wonderful title!
  23. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    This is definitely a MUST HAVE if you did'nt already played it on other platform!

    I mean, this game is awesome, really beautiful and you also the DLC content inside!
    The challenges is also very good!
  24. Nov 21, 2012
    9
    batman armored edition is one of the strong launch titles of the Wii U line up.even though batman arkham city came out last year its still as good as it was when it first came out.With the added dlc,it was nice to see that my gameplay was extended.the Wii U tablet made doing the investigation part quick and easy also while playing i could switch to the tablet so i could let my girlfriend watch tv which is a added bonus.that being said the controls feel a little clunky at times and sometimes i couldn't execute a silent take down,but besides that its very worth it to get it if your looking for a good game for your Wii U. Expand
  25. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    This is the best Wii U launch game by so far. Yeah, maybe it's one year later, and it's suppose that there is not going to be anyone to play this one. Anyway, it's the same game, simply the great and brilliant game released on 2011. Nothing changes, even the technical aspect. But if you've played another versions, specially the GOTY one, you are going to waste your money shamelessly. This game is great for those who haven't played the game, or simply are Nintendo-Batman fans. Expand
  26. Nov 20, 2012
    9
    IF you have already played it, there is no need to play again, but, for people who have not played it, the wiiu is the definitive version of 2011's GOTY, including all DLC, and it looks pretty much the same as the other versions. However, the gamepad isnt really done well.
  27. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    .nintendo-gamer.net/ if there is anybody nintendo here please give this website a chance a once great no 1 nintendo magazine is dead please keep the website alive they were the best none biased mag, and have a great website now
  28. Nov 18, 2012
    8
    If you have already played it there is no reason to get this. The new editions are not worth it and the game looking side by side next to the 360 version looks about the same. I am glad all of the DLC is on it but I kind of feel like I should of passed on this. It is still the game it was a year ago and that is actually a big let down. But I am not gonna give it a bad score because it isn't a bad game. So I will give it what I gave the 360 version and assume someone will not make the same mistake I did. Expand
  29. Nov 18, 2012
    9
    It's still the great game of last year, but if you did play it back then, theres no need to do it again
    Some of it's Wii U features are good and the graphics and gameplay are as good as ever
    It also contains the Harley Quinn DLC and the Robin and Nightwing packs.
    If you own a Wii U and you haven't played it before then GO FOR IT!!
  30. Nov 18, 2012
    9
    I never got Arkham City when it first came out, so this is brand new for me. Its great, and even though I am not far in, I can already tell there is a lot of added value with all that dlc included. That said the WiiU controls aren't that amazing; they don't seem to add to much, but it could be a nice alternative for people who played Arkham City already.
    Glad I got this one at launch.
  31. Dec 11, 2012
    0
    This game is awesome...just as good as PS360 if not better Batarific: all DLC content. Catwoman is awesome to play as Sweet skins, animated and 70's batman are my faves So much to do and explore with engaging side quests from the batman comics Pretty awesome to be able to go and play in bed, a room away from the console The Wii U controller is very immersiveI love getting calls from the joker, and doing inventory using the pad.
    New game plus that is actually fun
    Great combat that I never tired of The not so great:
    wish it were longer
    minor frame dropping

    A must buy if you don't own on PS360 and support core games for nintendo's next gen core console.
    Collapse
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Feb 3, 2014
    80
    An outstanding experience that will throw the player into Arkham's sombre environments. This game is able to turn nearly everyone into a Batman follower, whether they're ready or not. An essential title which perfectly ties exquisite story-telling with near-perfect gameplay mechanics.
  2. Nov 16, 2013
    60
    Batman: Arkham Origins is the tricky type of game that isn’t innately bad, but it recycles so much from its predecessors and does absolutely nothing to improve upon them.
  3. Feb 20, 2013
    100
    Batman: Arkham City is one of the best games ever created, no matter the platform. It’s engaging from beginning to end, the production values are first rate, and on Wii U there’s an extra level of depth to the experience. You can't go wrong with an outright purchase.