Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 191 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Developed by WB Games Montreal, Batman: Arkham City Armored Edition is the enhanced version of the game created by Rocksteady Studios. The Wii U version delivers the same impactful story and gameplay as the original title, this time with enhanced gameplay mechanics and features made possibleDeveloped by WB Games Montreal, Batman: Arkham City Armored Edition is the enhanced version of the game created by Rocksteady Studios. The Wii U version delivers the same impactful story and gameplay as the original title, this time with enhanced gameplay mechanics and features made possible with the Wii U and its unique GamePad. Batman: Arkham City is set in the new maximum security “home” for all of Gotham City’s thugs, gangsters and insane criminal masterminds. Featuring an vast Rogues Gallery of Gotham City’s most dangerous criminals including Catwoman, The Joker, The Riddler, Two-Face, Harley Quinn, The Penguin, Mr. Freeze and many others, the game allows players to genuinely experience what it feels like to be The Dark Knight delivering justice on the streets of Gotham City. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Feb 20, 2013
    100
    Batman: Arkham City is one of the best games ever created, no matter the platform. It’s engaging from beginning to end, the production values are first rate, and on Wii U there’s an extra level of depth to the experience. You can't go wrong with an outright purchase.
  2. Jan 23, 2013
    92
    Armoured Edition is an excellent superhero's sandbox. The BatGamePad-gadgets work nicely. [Jan 2013]
  3. 90
    Even if you don't play Batman's story again, just the extra content is enough to justify the purchase.
  4. Dec 2, 2012
    85
    It looks like Nintendo have finally grown a pair and are willing to partake in an older gamer's market - delivering mature, dark, and often violent titles like Arkham City. It is also a comforting display of loyalty from a brilliant studio like Rocksteady, who haven't just ported the game, but honestly had some genuine fun with the new hardware of the Wii U.
  5. Jan 15, 2013
    84
    A treat for the dedicated Nintendo-heads. Others should stick to 360/PS3 GOTY edition. [Feb 2013, p.74]
  6. Feb 3, 2014
    80
    An outstanding experience that will throw the player into Arkham's sombre environments. This game is able to turn nearly everyone into a Batman follower, whether they're ready or not. An essential title which perfectly ties exquisite story-telling with near-perfect gameplay mechanics.
  7. Nov 18, 2012
    70
    It took things that already worked perfectly and shook them until they cracked. Not shattered completely, but undoubtedly broken, just a little bit.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    This is the best Wii U launch game by so far. Yeah, maybe it's one year later, and it's suppose that there is not going to be anyone to playThis is the best Wii U launch game by so far. Yeah, maybe it's one year later, and it's suppose that there is not going to be anyone to play this one. Anyway, it's the same game, simply the great and brilliant game released on 2011. Nothing changes, even the technical aspect. But if you've played another versions, specially the GOTY one, you are going to waste your money shamelessly. This game is great for those who haven't played the game, or simply are Nintendo-Batman fans. Expand
  2. Jan 9, 2014
    10
    An action game that improves on it's predecessor. Arkham City is much larger and just more fun. The villains are very well represented (theAn action game that improves on it's predecessor. Arkham City is much larger and just more fun. The villains are very well represented (the Joker especially), the world is massive, the narrative is well done, the visuals are impressive and the music is great. While i honestly found the beginning a little slow, this game is great in every regard. A great Wii U launch and in all honestly, i don't know why this version got lower rated as it's just great if not better then the PS3 version. Expand
  3. Apr 26, 2014
    10
    The action gameplay is flawless. The dialogue can be corny, and the Wii U version does experience some framerate drops, but this game was aThe action gameplay is flawless. The dialogue can be corny, and the Wii U version does experience some framerate drops, but this game was a dream to play in terms of combat, movement, and atmosphere. It improved upon Arkham Asylum in so many ways (which was already a very solid game). I would highly recommend it on the Wii U if you havent played it yet. The added gamepad features are actually kind of neat, and didnt feel gimmicky. Expand
  4. Sep 28, 2013
    9
    This game is by far one of my favourite wii u game! This game is great and works extremely well! The only thing that is bad thing is theThis game is by far one of my favourite wii u game! This game is great and works extremely well! The only thing that is bad thing is the desing. In all missions i found that the maps all looked the same. Other than that it comes with all the DLC!!! Great game you should buy it Expand
  5. Feb 19, 2013
    9
    I'm kinda mixed on this game. On the upper hand it's really fun, great visuals, and decent story (just a few minor annoyances, but I don'tI'm kinda mixed on this game. On the upper hand it's really fun, great visuals, and decent story (just a few minor annoyances, but I don't wanna spoil anything sorry) though the good cant outweigh the bad. For one the game is easy. You can press one button for about 60-70% of the battles, and I personally wasn't to fond of the stealth mechanics. Though that's probably just the inpatient teen inside of me :P Though the best part about this game is the game pad integration. The map on the touch screen is perfect and using the motion controls for the batterange, pure awesomeness. So all and all I would recommend this game, it's a great but and the Gamepad just makes the game feel natural. Expand
  6. Apr 18, 2015
    9
    el mejor juego de batman que he jugado, la mejor historia que he visto en algun lanzamiento de batman, supera sin dudas a las versiones de ps3el mejor juego de batman que he jugado, la mejor historia que he visto en algun lanzamiento de batman, supera sin dudas a las versiones de ps3 y xbox360. Las funciones del gamepad lo hacen muy interactivo y te brinda esa sensacion de hacer lo mismo que hace batman, te sientes batman mientras juegas el juego. Expand
  7. Sep 30, 2014
    5
    I played Asylum on the 360 and thought it was one of last gen's best games. The Wii U version is a buggy mess. There are framerate issues andI played Asylum on the 360 and thought it was one of last gen's best games. The Wii U version is a buggy mess. There are framerate issues and all around it looks like a very lazy port from WB Montreal (that's right...Rocksteady couldn't be bothered to do it themselves) just like most 3rd party games on the Wii U. What I think happens is they port straight over from the 360 and that's it...no optimization, effects, shading, nothing! So it just looks off. I tried the PS3 version and it looks and runs better so I know it's just the Wii U version. But performance not withstanding...this does not messure up to AA in the slightest. It's probably a game that didn't need to be made but they had to. Expand

See all 36 User Reviews