Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 112 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Batman: Arkham Origins features an expanded Gotham City and introduces an original prequel storyline set several years before the events of Batman: Arkham Asylum and Batman: Arkham City, the first two games in the franchise. Taking place before the rise of Gotham City’s most notoriousBatman: Arkham Origins features an expanded Gotham City and introduces an original prequel storyline set several years before the events of Batman: Arkham Asylum and Batman: Arkham City, the first two games in the franchise. Taking place before the rise of Gotham City’s most notorious criminals, the game showcases a young, unrefined Batman as he faces the defining moment of his early career and sets his path to becoming the Dark Knight. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Nov 20, 2013
    83
    The signature Arkham combat is back and more precise than ever.
  2. It would take a flinty heart not to be moved when iconic characters come into play. [Dec 2013, p.82]
  3. Dec 30, 2013
    60
    If you haven’t played a game in the Arkham series yet, you’d be better off starting with the superior Arkham City; diehard fans are sure to get some surface-level enjoyment out of Batman’s latest outing, but disappointment is sure to set in when examined too closely.
  4. Mar 3, 2014
    60
    Despite its similarities with Arkham City - Armoured Edition, this Arkham Origins ends up on a lower threshold. Its hints of innovation don't go as far as they seem to promise and the lack of a multiplayer component is simply impossible to understand. A higher degree of ambition would have worked much better for Arkham Origins.
  5. Jan 13, 2014
    60
    The Batman: Arkham series has been of a consistent quality since it began with Asylum, but with not too many changes to the formula, it has started to become a tad too stale.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    The cape is finally black, and there are no man panties in sight. Now Rocksteady should learn to make a serviceable Batman by omitting theThe cape is finally black, and there are no man panties in sight. Now Rocksteady should learn to make a serviceable Batman by omitting the absurd blue/purple cape and briefs, their Batman design is a walking paradox.
    P.S. The grey belt is nice, keep that too.
    Expand
  2. Apr 21, 2014
    10
    This game is just perfect! Combat makes really fun, stealth scetions can be breathtaking and there is a lot to do in the open world version ofThis game is just perfect! Combat makes really fun, stealth scetions can be breathtaking and there is a lot to do in the open world version of Gotham City. Expand
  3. Jan 7, 2014
    9
    It actually seemed like a shorter main story then some games, but believe me there's plenty else to do as well. The city seemed kind of dullIt actually seemed like a shorter main story then some games, but believe me there's plenty else to do as well. The city seemed kind of dull but it's night time so what do you expect. My game had a bug where you couldn't here certain audio on Local Surveillance. The fighting and predator gameplay was fantastic (I beat the game on hard mode and once i got the hang of things it was fun) The story was awesome, the game looked great. But the bugs and the dullness of some parts detracted from that. I give it a 8.5. Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2013
    8
    It's good but not as good as I was hoping. Graphics look great but not any better then the older systems such as ps3 and 360. I would say it'sIt's good but not as good as I was hoping. Graphics look great but not any better then the older systems such as ps3 and 360. I would say it's as good as Arkham City but not much better. Collapse
  5. May 26, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I played Batman: Arkham City and I was not disappointed when I picked it up, so I was pretty pumped about Arkham Origins. Fortunately, I was not let down by this game. Does Arkham Origins succeed in topping its predecessor or is it just a cash grab to get longtime fans to get the game?

    THE GOOD
    Luckily, this is an origin story so newcomers should have no problem jumping in. The story of the game is not better than City, but it still has shocking plot twists and quick moments. The cutscenes are now CGI which is pretty cool to look at. The gameplay remains largely the same but that isn't a bad thing, because you don't have to get used to everything all over again and forget the gameplay most players have done for two games.

    You have almost all your gadgets from the beginning and unlock some new ones throughout your journey on Christmas Eve, which may be a problem for some people but it was fine for me, because I don't want to unlock everything all over again. Batman gets a bunch of new gadgets--most are good but some are just copies of some from City but with different names. Batman also gets some shock gloves (which seem to be taken straight from Armored Edition) which makes the more challenging thugs a breeze if you're about to die.

    THE BAD
    The game's story is one of the games weak points. It starts awesome at first when "Black Mask" puts a $50,000,000 bounty on Batman's head, and sends 8 assassins out to kill Bats for the money. Then the bad part about the story is when Batman investigates a murder at a hotel and finds out that someone (everyone playing probably knows who that is) dragged Black Mask out of the hotel to get access into Black Mask's safe and get money. Once you get to the bank, there are TWO Black Masks. The one with the mask strangely has a humor of kicking people in the face. Then he takes off his mask and its.............THE JOKER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Seriously!? Then the game completely forgets the 8 assassins and it goes to another Batman vs. Joker story. If they were going to do that, they should at least make him Red Hood first, not Black Mask.

    Another bad thing is the graphics, after the astonishing graphics of Arkham City, they just took all the buildings and added some new ones. They are not even detailed at all. It is just muddy graphics with no attention to detail whatsoever.

    FINAL VERDICT
    Arkham Origins was a good game. No, it wasn't as good as City, but still worth your money even at full price. The gameplay is great, but the graphics and story aren't the best. That still shouldn't stop you from buying this game.
    Expand
  6. Nov 30, 2013
    6
    i had high hopes for batman arkham origins. I wanted to love this game as much as i love arkham asylum and arkham city but i cant, i just canti had high hopes for batman arkham origins. I wanted to love this game as much as i love arkham asylum and arkham city but i cant, i just cant do it. I was worried when i found out that rocksteady wasn't creating arkham origins but since im a fan of the first two(i rated both pretty high a few years earlier) i put faith in montreal studios and WB interactive entertainment to deliver something similar or better than the first two games but I was disappointed with the final product so i will start with the good first. the graphics are good but do not stand out. The controls are the same so that's a plus. The combat is roughly the same so also another plus. Arkham origins doesn't use the gamepad extensively like arkham city(rocksteady showing their superiority in design vs montreal and WB IE) But its cool.The shock gloves and attack grapple is pretty sweet and the city of arkham is just as big in arkham city if not bigger. The boss fights are...to say the least, more challenging than previous games but i will talk about that later. Well now its time for the bad parts: first the glitches, its pretty bad...actually its rage quitting bad. about every 20 minutes or so the game froze on me(just like darksiders 2, splinter cell blacklist on the wii u) Entering a new area of the map caused the game to freeze and i had to unplug my wii u since hitting the power button did nothing which got frustrating, also Id like to point out that sometimes when the game froze, I waited about 3 to 5 minutes and it finally kicked back into high gear but still it was very frustrating. Slow down happened mostly during combat and/or during exploration which,again, was very frustrating because sometimes this slowdown lead to the game freezing. Glitching through walls or sinking/falling through floors happened but not frequently. Enemies were also affected by glitches,sometimes when an enemy fell or was knocked out,they IMMEDIATELY got up while i started attacking another enemy only to ruin my combo chain with an attack from behind, countering is also spotty as attacks go right through your counter stance which,needless to say, is frustrating when your combo chain is 53 and your counter stance is completely ignored. Before i get to the boss fights i want to discuss the mad hatter level( i played this game with the hints off) The first door with the key hole was also affected by a glitch. I threw batterang after batterang to no avail but it was only when i turned on hints and what i needed to do was revealed that i was successful in passing this part, which was frustrating for me because i felt like the game either NEEDED to hold my hand on this part or it was a glitch. Now the bosses: this part of origins is freaking frustrating because its like the game NEEDS to hold your hand while playing as bosses are tediously cheap and frustrating starting with deathstroke. again, playing with the hints off, this fight was aggravating since you literally have little to no chance of winning if hints are turned off..turning them on(after losing 15 straight times) shows your EXACTLY when to counter him which sucks the skill out of this game but turning the hints off makes deathstroke a god....fighting fire fly isn't difficult as its just completely tedious and repetitiously boring but ending the fight with a hint is even worse...again with the hints off you wont know what to do or time it right if you want a victory over him to feel meaningful.. victory cant really be obtained without having hints turned off since you wont be able to time the counter correctly. fighting bain is where it REALLY gets frustrating, i mean he isn't pathetic as he is in asylum, its a good fight until henchmen,armored henchmen and karate guys jump in,this makes it easy for bain to mow you down as you try your best to avoid him or distract you while fighting him which is just cheap and frustrating. i also found the final fight with bain torturous and unfair since i had the hints off, i almost threw the gamepad through the tv when i successfully got behind him and it would not let me jump on him by pressing X. I think it was a glitch, but every time i got behind him it never let me grab him when i pressed X...he just turned around and threw me to the you failed screen...it was only when i was forced to turn on the hints when it allowed me to press X behind him which pissed me off...this is poor programming at its finest which is why i dont agree with most of this games positive reviews,its completely inexcusable. Its not the technology,but the programmers and designers of this game...the wii u deserves better than this. Taking out black mask as the main villain was also a mistake, i was looking forward to dealing with batmans other known criminals both when it was revealed that it was the joker all along i kinda felt lied to since before the game was released a lot of back-story was spent on black mask which basically got wasted! this game is a disappointment.6/10 Expand
  7. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    This game gave me a hemorrhoid, now I can't anymore, thanks Warner Bros. 1/10 would in a cup and throw it at the game case then light theThis game gave me a hemorrhoid, now I can't anymore, thanks Warner Bros. 1/10 would in a cup and throw it at the game case then light the disc on fire Expand

See all 18 User Reviews