Batman: Arkham Origins Image
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 125 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Batman: Arkham Origins features an expanded Gotham City and introduces an original prequel storyline set several years before the events of Batman: Arkham Asylum and Batman: Arkham City, the first two games in the franchise. Taking place before the rise of Gotham City’s most notoriousBatman: Arkham Origins features an expanded Gotham City and introduces an original prequel storyline set several years before the events of Batman: Arkham Asylum and Batman: Arkham City, the first two games in the franchise. Taking place before the rise of Gotham City’s most notorious criminals, the game showcases a young, unrefined Batman as he faces the defining moment of his early career and sets his path to becoming the Dark Knight. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Nov 20, 2013
    83
    The signature Arkham combat is back and more precise than ever.
  2. Official Nintendo Magazine UK
    Dec 29, 2013
    78
    It would take a flinty heart not to be moved when iconic characters come into play. [Dec 2013, p.82]
  3. Dec 30, 2013
    60
    If you haven’t played a game in the Arkham series yet, you’d be better off starting with the superior Arkham City; diehard fans are sure to get some surface-level enjoyment out of Batman’s latest outing, but disappointment is sure to set in when examined too closely.
  4. Mar 3, 2014
    60
    Despite its similarities with Arkham City - Armoured Edition, this Arkham Origins ends up on a lower threshold. Its hints of innovation don't go as far as they seem to promise and the lack of a multiplayer component is simply impossible to understand. A higher degree of ambition would have worked much better for Arkham Origins.
  5. Jan 13, 2014
    60
    The Batman: Arkham series has been of a consistent quality since it began with Asylum, but with not too many changes to the formula, it has started to become a tad too stale.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    The cape is finally black, and there are no man panties in sight. Now Rocksteady should learn to make a serviceable Batman by omitting theThe cape is finally black, and there are no man panties in sight. Now Rocksteady should learn to make a serviceable Batman by omitting the absurd blue/purple cape and briefs, their Batman design is a walking paradox.
    P.S. The grey belt is nice, keep that too.
    Expand
  2. Apr 21, 2014
    10
    This game is just perfect! Combat makes really fun, stealth scetions can be breathtaking and there is a lot to do in the open world version ofThis game is just perfect! Combat makes really fun, stealth scetions can be breathtaking and there is a lot to do in the open world version of Gotham City. Expand
  3. Jan 7, 2014
    9
    It actually seemed like a shorter main story then some games, but believe me there's plenty else to do as well. The city seemed kind of dullIt actually seemed like a shorter main story then some games, but believe me there's plenty else to do as well. The city seemed kind of dull but it's night time so what do you expect. My game had a bug where you couldn't here certain audio on Local Surveillance. The fighting and predator gameplay was fantastic (I beat the game on hard mode and once i got the hang of things it was fun) The story was awesome, the game looked great. But the bugs and the dullness of some parts detracted from that. I give it a 8.5. Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2013
    8
    It's good but not as good as I was hoping. Graphics look great but not any better then the older systems such as ps3 and 360. I would say it'sIt's good but not as good as I was hoping. Graphics look great but not any better then the older systems such as ps3 and 360. I would say it's as good as Arkham City but not much better. Expand
  5. Nov 25, 2015
    8
    Batman Arkham Origins is a little different than the other Arkham games. It is from a new developer and features new voice actors. WB MontrealBatman Arkham Origins is a little different than the other Arkham games. It is from a new developer and features new voice actors. WB Montreal takes the helm while Roger Craig Smith voices Batman and Troy Baker voices The Joker. Kevin Conroy and Mark Hamill left big shoes to fill for Origins, but Smith and Baker make it look easy. They do amazing jobs. WB Montreal also manages to do a great job. Everything you have come to know and love about the series is still here. The combat system, visuals, characters, feel of Gotham, Origins has it all. But is more of a good thing a bad thing?

    The story of Origins takes place before Arkham Asylum and Arkham City and revolves around Batman having to fight for survival when Black Mask puts a huge bounty on Batman’s head. Eight villains are up to the task, so you’ll get to go up against every single one, along with the many street thugs that inhabit Gotham’s desolate streets. It’s a nice change of pace from the heavy handedness of Asylum and City. That is where the main difference lies. The main villain can’t really compete with iconic Joker, so we can’t fault the writers too much. Luckily, there are several great and recognizable villains to encounter throughout the game. I enjoyed the story wholeheartedly. The gameplay is what you have come to expect. The button-mashing awesomeness of the fighting system is back, along with the crazy combo streaks. The controls are as tight as ever and bashing all the baddies is just as satisfying. The atmosphere in this game makes it stand apart from its predecessors. The snow is constantly falling, it’s Christmas Eve and there are Christmas trees and colorful lights everywhere. I just wish Gotham was more bustling. The only people around are police, thugs and Batman. It tends to feel a bit empty and dull at times.

    The visuals are pretty solid, especially for being an open-world title. There are some frame rate issues when gliding around the city from time to time, but it never hinders the experience. Also, some textures tend to look muddy if viewed up close. Character models are the standouts with good attention to detail. The city may be dark, but it’s always glimmering with lights from apartment windows, Christmas lights and lamp posts. Of course, there will be plenty of gliding around Gotham and focus on the main story, but what about all the in-between moments? To go with the combat, you will come across a few great weapons such as the Triple Batarang, Smoke Pellets, Cryptographic Sequencer, Concussion Detonator, Batclaw and more. There are plenty of bad guys to test your abilities and weaponry on around the city and it’s fun to listen in on their conversations. They are usually shaking in their boots because of Batman’s presence. Another last thing to note is the upgrade system. You get ability points by accomplishing various goals and missions. There are plenty of awesome upgrades, whether it’s to one of Batman’s weapons or armor. Overall, Batman Arkham Origins is a very fun and enjoyable game. It has an interesting story, great combat system, tight controls, nice atmosphere and a solid group of villains. Yes, it may be very similar to the other games in the series, but that’s not a bad thing. It doesn’t break any new ground, but it’s still one heck of a good time.
    Expand
  6. May 26, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I played Batman: Arkham City and I was not disappointed when I picked it up, so I was pretty pumped about Arkham Origins. Fortunately, I was not let down by this game. Does Arkham Origins succeed in topping its predecessor or is it just a cash grab to get longtime fans to get the game?

    THE GOOD
    Luckily, this is an origin story so newcomers should have no problem jumping in. The story of the game is not better than City, but it still has shocking plot twists and quick moments. The cutscenes are now CGI which is pretty cool to look at. The gameplay remains largely the same but that isn't a bad thing, because you don't have to get used to everything all over again and forget the gameplay most players have done for two games.

    You have almost all your gadgets from the beginning and unlock some new ones throughout your journey on Christmas Eve, which may be a problem for some people but it was fine for me, because I don't want to unlock everything all over again. Batman gets a bunch of new gadgets--most are good but some are just copies of some from City but with different names. Batman also gets some shock gloves (which seem to be taken straight from Armored Edition) which makes the more challenging thugs a breeze if you're about to die.

    THE BAD
    The game's story is one of the games weak points. It starts awesome at first when "Black Mask" puts a $50,000,000 bounty on Batman's head, and sends 8 assassins out to kill Bats for the money. Then the bad part about the story is when Batman investigates a murder at a hotel and finds out that someone (everyone playing probably knows who that is) dragged Black Mask out of the hotel to get access into Black Mask's safe and get money. Once you get to the bank, there are TWO Black Masks. The one with the mask strangely has a humor of kicking people in the face. Then he takes off his mask and its.............THE JOKER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Seriously!? Then the game completely forgets the 8 assassins and it goes to another Batman vs. Joker story. If they were going to do that, they should at least make him Red Hood first, not Black Mask.

    Another bad thing is the graphics, after the astonishing graphics of Arkham City, they just took all the buildings and added some new ones. They are not even detailed at all. It is just muddy graphics with no attention to detail whatsoever.

    FINAL VERDICT
    Arkham Origins was a good game. No, it wasn't as good as City, but still worth your money even at full price. The gameplay is great, but the graphics and story aren't the best. That still shouldn't stop you from buying this game.
    Expand
  7. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    This game gave me a hemorrhoid, now I can't anymore, thanks Warner Bros. 1/10 would in a cup and throw it at the game case then light theThis game gave me a hemorrhoid, now I can't anymore, thanks Warner Bros. 1/10 would in a cup and throw it at the game case then light the disc on fire Expand

See all 21 User Reviews