Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 107 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Batman: Arkham Origins features an expanded Gotham City and introduces an original prequel storyline set several years before the events of Batman: Arkham Asylum and Batman: Arkham City, the first two games in the franchise. Taking place before the rise of Gotham City’s most notoriousBatman: Arkham Origins features an expanded Gotham City and introduces an original prequel storyline set several years before the events of Batman: Arkham Asylum and Batman: Arkham City, the first two games in the franchise. Taking place before the rise of Gotham City’s most notorious criminals, the game showcases a young, unrefined Batman as he faces the defining moment of his early career and sets his path to becoming the Dark Knight. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Nov 20, 2013
    83
    The signature Arkham combat is back and more precise than ever.
  2. It would take a flinty heart not to be moved when iconic characters come into play. [Dec 2013, p.82]
  3. Dec 30, 2013
    60
    If you haven’t played a game in the Arkham series yet, you’d be better off starting with the superior Arkham City; diehard fans are sure to get some surface-level enjoyment out of Batman’s latest outing, but disappointment is sure to set in when examined too closely.
  4. Mar 3, 2014
    60
    Despite its similarities with Arkham City - Armoured Edition, this Arkham Origins ends up on a lower threshold. Its hints of innovation don't go as far as they seem to promise and the lack of a multiplayer component is simply impossible to understand. A higher degree of ambition would have worked much better for Arkham Origins.
  5. Jan 13, 2014
    60
    The Batman: Arkham series has been of a consistent quality since it began with Asylum, but with not too many changes to the formula, it has started to become a tad too stale.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    The cape is finally black, and there are no man panties in sight. Now Rocksteady should learn to make a serviceable Batman by omitting theThe cape is finally black, and there are no man panties in sight. Now Rocksteady should learn to make a serviceable Batman by omitting the absurd blue/purple cape and briefs, their Batman design is a walking paradox.
    P.S. The grey belt is nice, keep that too.
    Expand
  2. Apr 21, 2014
    10
    This game is just perfect! Combat makes really fun, stealth scetions can be breathtaking and there is a lot to do in the open world version ofThis game is just perfect! Combat makes really fun, stealth scetions can be breathtaking and there is a lot to do in the open world version of Gotham City. Expand
  3. Jan 7, 2014
    9
    It actually seemed like a shorter main story then some games, but believe me there's plenty else to do as well. The city seemed kind of dullIt actually seemed like a shorter main story then some games, but believe me there's plenty else to do as well. The city seemed kind of dull but it's night time so what do you expect. My game had a bug where you couldn't here certain audio on Local Surveillance. The fighting and predator gameplay was fantastic (I beat the game on hard mode and once i got the hang of things it was fun) The story was awesome, the game looked great. But the bugs and the dullness of some parts detracted from that. I give it a 8.5. Expand
  4. Dec 31, 2013
    8
    While I give major credit to the storytelling, Origins is more of what we already had. That's not necessarily a bad thing but the lack ofWhile I give major credit to the storytelling, Origins is more of what we already had. That's not necessarily a bad thing but the lack of almost no important new items and mechanics holds this game back. Also, the Wii U version suffers from some frame rate issues. Expand
  5. May 26, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I played Batman: Arkham City and I was not disappointed when I picked it up, so I was pretty pumped about Arkham Origins. Fortunately, I was not let down by this game. Does Arkham Origins succeed in topping its predecessor or is it just a cash grab to get longtime fans to get the game?

    THE GOOD
    Luckily, this is an origin story so newcomers should have no problem jumping in. The story of the game is not better than City, but it still has shocking plot twists and quick moments. The cutscenes are now CGI which is pretty cool to look at. The gameplay remains largely the same but that isn't a bad thing, because you don't have to get used to everything all over again and forget the gameplay most players have done for two games.

    You have almost all your gadgets from the beginning and unlock some new ones throughout your journey on Christmas Eve, which may be a problem for some people but it was fine for me, because I don't want to unlock everything all over again. Batman gets a bunch of new gadgets--most are good but some are just copies of some from City but with different names. Batman also gets some shock gloves (which seem to be taken straight from Armored Edition) which makes the more challenging thugs a breeze if you're about to die.

    THE BAD
    The game's story is one of the games weak points. It starts awesome at first when "Black Mask" puts a $50,000,000 bounty on Batman's head, and sends 8 assassins out to kill Bats for the money. Then the bad part about the story is when Batman investigates a murder at a hotel and finds out that someone (everyone playing probably knows who that is) dragged Black Mask out of the hotel to get access into Black Mask's safe and get money. Once you get to the bank, there are TWO Black Masks. The one with the mask strangely has a humor of kicking people in the face. Then he takes off his mask and its.............THE JOKER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Seriously!? Then the game completely forgets the 8 assassins and it goes to another Batman vs. Joker story. If they were going to do that, they should at least make him Red Hood first, not Black Mask.

    Another bad thing is the graphics, after the astonishing graphics of Arkham City, they just took all the buildings and added some new ones. They are not even detailed at all. It is just muddy graphics with no attention to detail whatsoever.

    FINAL VERDICT
    Arkham Origins was a good game. No, it wasn't as good as City, but still worth your money even at full price. The gameplay is great, but the graphics and story aren't the best. That still shouldn't stop you from buying this game.
    Expand
  6. Nov 1, 2013
    7
    Like most gamers out there who enjoyed the first two Arkham games, I was very excited for Origins to come out. After getting 50% through theLike most gamers out there who enjoyed the first two Arkham games, I was very excited for Origins to come out. After getting 50% through the game I can say that although I enjoy it, I am also disappointed by some of the things I've seen.

    I'll start with the good. Combat was one of my favorite things about the Arkham games and Origins didn't let me down in that aspect. I find it still as smooth and as fun as before, plus the addition of new enemy types keep it from getting too repetitive. I think the graphics for the game on the Wii U look amazing and I like having my map and current objectives displayed on the gamepad. I also find the new detective mode with the crime scenes a step up for the earlier games. Seeing how Batman actually puts everything together is something I have enjoyed very much. I find the story entertaining so far and I've enjoyed seeing how Batman first met some of his most famous ally's and enemy's.

    Now for the bad.. For everything I enjoyed about this game so far I've seen something that makes it frustrating as well. The biggest is the glitches, although I haven't experienced game breaking ones like some reviews I have read I've still had to put up with some of my own. I've fallen through the map and got stuck more times then I ever want to again. I also don't understand why I can grapple on to some buildings and not others? My last big problem is the emptiness of Gothem City. I understand that they have some silly curfew in order but come on. A little more liveliness would of been nice, maybe some crime in progress that involved citizens getting mugged or something? The city just feels so dead to me.

    If not for those issues I would of given the game a 9/10 instead of a 7/10. I hope the next Arkham game advances the series forward more than Origins.
    Expand
  7. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    This game gave me a hemorrhoid, now I can't anymore, thanks Warner Bros. 1/10 would in a cup and throw it at the game case then light theThis game gave me a hemorrhoid, now I can't anymore, thanks Warner Bros. 1/10 would in a cup and throw it at the game case then light the disc on fire Collapse

See all 16 User Reviews