Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 103 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Batman: Arkham Origins features an expanded Gotham City and introduces an original prequel storyline set several years before the events of Batman: Arkham Asylum and Batman: Arkham City, the first two games in the franchise. Taking place before the rise of Gotham City’s most notoriousBatman: Arkham Origins features an expanded Gotham City and introduces an original prequel storyline set several years before the events of Batman: Arkham Asylum and Batman: Arkham City, the first two games in the franchise. Taking place before the rise of Gotham City’s most notorious criminals, the game showcases a young, unrefined Batman as he faces the defining moment of his early career and sets his path to becoming the Dark Knight. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Nov 20, 2013
    83
    The signature Arkham combat is back and more precise than ever.
  2. It would take a flinty heart not to be moved when iconic characters come into play. [Dec 2013, p.82]
  3. Dec 30, 2013
    60
    If you haven’t played a game in the Arkham series yet, you’d be better off starting with the superior Arkham City; diehard fans are sure to get some surface-level enjoyment out of Batman’s latest outing, but disappointment is sure to set in when examined too closely.
  4. Mar 3, 2014
    60
    Despite its similarities with Arkham City - Armoured Edition, this Arkham Origins ends up on a lower threshold. Its hints of innovation don't go as far as they seem to promise and the lack of a multiplayer component is simply impossible to understand. A higher degree of ambition would have worked much better for Arkham Origins.
  5. Jan 13, 2014
    60
    The Batman: Arkham series has been of a consistent quality since it began with Asylum, but with not too many changes to the formula, it has started to become a tad too stale.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    The cape is finally black, and there are no man panties in sight. Now Rocksteady should learn to make a serviceable Batman by omitting theThe cape is finally black, and there are no man panties in sight. Now Rocksteady should learn to make a serviceable Batman by omitting the absurd blue/purple cape and briefs, their Batman design is a walking paradox.
    P.S. The grey belt is nice, keep that too.
    Expand
  2. Apr 21, 2014
    10
    This game is just perfect! Combat makes really fun, stealth scetions can be breathtaking and there is a lot to do in the open world version ofThis game is just perfect! Combat makes really fun, stealth scetions can be breathtaking and there is a lot to do in the open world version of Gotham City. Expand
  3. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    This is definitely one of the best games I have ever played, and definitely one of the best games on Wii U. It may not have the multiplayer onThis is definitely one of the best games I have ever played, and definitely one of the best games on Wii U. It may not have the multiplayer on Wii U, but if you have a Wii U, you should get it on Wii U, because it is $10 cheaper, and the gamepad makes gameplay extraordinary just Arkham City Armored Edition, however not quite as many gamepad features as Armored Edition had. If you like Batman, you will like this game. Bad reviews are given by people WANTING the game to be bad because it wasn't made by Rocksteady. Those people need to jump off a cliff because this is an amazing game. The most awesome thing about this game may be the boss fights, this game has some of the BEST boss fights I have ever played! If you like Batman and video games, you NEED to get this game. It is amazing! Expand
  4. Dec 31, 2013
    8
    While I give major credit to the storytelling, Origins is more of what we already had. That's not necessarily a bad thing but the lack ofWhile I give major credit to the storytelling, Origins is more of what we already had. That's not necessarily a bad thing but the lack of almost no important new items and mechanics holds this game back. Also, the Wii U version suffers from some frame rate issues. Expand
  5. Jun 19, 2014
    8
    A little too similar to arkham city. Very few new ideas and some repetitive gameplay. No online mode on Wii U edition but they made up for itA little too similar to arkham city. Very few new ideas and some repetitive gameplay. No online mode on Wii U edition but they made up for it for making it cost $10 less. Still a great Batman story, I never ran into any glitches that people were complaining about Expand
  6. Mar 15, 2015
    8
    Weirdly, the wii U platform does not support the multiplayer component of this game. It can obviously run it if even a PS3 can, but the ArkhamWeirdly, the wii U platform does not support the multiplayer component of this game. It can obviously run it if even a PS3 can, but the Arkham Saga seems a little racist towards Nintendo outside of Arkham City Armored Edition (Debatably the best in the series). There's no multiplayer, but the gamepad is integrated quite well without interrupting gameplay (and optional, so you can just use a regular pro controller if you please) and any avid Arkham fan knows the game doesn't flow terribly well in multiplayer to begin with. With a ten dollar lower price tag this is the system I recommend you get Origins on.

    It Isn't terribly innovative, but rather refines Arkham City. Combat is slightly deeper with new tools and combos, flowing a bit faster and feeling much more fluid. Story is much more interesting, bringing out many obscure characters such as "Anarky", "Firefly", "Calendar Man" and more (Yes, Calendar man is a villain. And he's not as silly as he sounds). The introduction of such creative characters, including the fantastic boss fights not only build interest in the characters but their comic book origins. After meeting a character a little bio is unlocked, and I'm unafraid to say I've read them all. This cast is new, fun, and feels less like an obligatory parade of Penguin, Two Face, Catwoman etc. (Though a number of usual suspects also appear). With more refined combat, larger plentiful maps for stealth scenarios the game will be left with one flaw. It borrows a LOT from Arkham City.

    Numerous parts of the much larger map are in fact taken from Arkham City. You might find it lazy, but they're modified significantly enough and from a story perspective there's no reason they wouldn't have been built yet. Small glitches WILL occur, but rarely enough that they won't distract from the game (At least on Wii U, PC is an infamously different tale). If you liked Arkham City, treat yourself and explore Gotham and its inhabitants. If you haven't played it, try Armored Edition first. If you weren't thrilled with City though, Origins won't be changing your mind.
    Expand
  7. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    This game gave me a hemorrhoid, now I can't anymore, thanks Warner Bros. 1/10 would in a cup and throw it at the game case then light theThis game gave me a hemorrhoid, now I can't anymore, thanks Warner Bros. 1/10 would in a cup and throw it at the game case then light the disc on fire Collapse

See all 15 User Reviews