Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 79 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Batman: Arkham Origins features an expanded Gotham City and introduces an original prequel storyline set several years before the events of Batman: Arkham Asylum and Batman: Arkham City, the first two games in the franchise. Taking place before the rise of Gotham City’s most notorious criminals, the game showcases a young, unrefined Batman as he faces the defining moment of his early career and sets his path to becoming the Dark Knight. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Nov 20, 2013
    83
    The signature Arkham combat is back and more precise than ever.
  2. It would take a flinty heart not to be moved when iconic characters come into play. [Dec 2013, p.82]
  3. Dec 30, 2013
    60
    If you haven’t played a game in the Arkham series yet, you’d be better off starting with the superior Arkham City; diehard fans are sure to get some surface-level enjoyment out of Batman’s latest outing, but disappointment is sure to set in when examined too closely.
  4. Mar 3, 2014
    60
    Despite its similarities with Arkham City - Armoured Edition, this Arkham Origins ends up on a lower threshold. Its hints of innovation don't go as far as they seem to promise and the lack of a multiplayer component is simply impossible to understand. A higher degree of ambition would have worked much better for Arkham Origins.
  5. Jan 13, 2014
    60
    The Batman: Arkham series has been of a consistent quality since it began with Asylum, but with not too many changes to the formula, it has started to become a tad too stale.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    The cape is finally black, and there are no man panties in sight. Now Rocksteady should learn to make a serviceable Batman by omitting the absurd blue/purple cape and briefs, their Batman design is a walking paradox.
    P.S. The grey belt is nice, keep that too.
    Expand
  2. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    This is definitely one of the best games I have ever played, and definitely one of the best games on Wii U. It may not have the multiplayer on Wii U, but if you have a Wii U, you should get it on Wii U, because it is $10 cheaper, and the gamepad makes gameplay extraordinary just Arkham City Armored Edition, however not quite as many gamepad features as Armored Edition had. If you like Batman, you will like this game. Bad reviews are given by people WANTING the game to be bad because it wasn't made by Rocksteady. Those people need to jump off a cliff because this is an amazing game. The most awesome thing about this game may be the boss fights, this game has some of the BEST boss fights I have ever played! If you like Batman and video games, you NEED to get this game. It is amazing! Expand
  3. Jan 28, 2014
    9
    One of the best games of last year. The gameplay and graphics are great. And the story was surprisingly the best thing about it. I love this game and I hope i'll play this again at one point. But I rented so, I don't know. Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2013
    8
    It's good but not as good as I was hoping. Graphics look great but not any better then the older systems such as ps3 and 360. I would say it's as good as Arkham City but not much better. Expand
  5. Dec 31, 2013
    8
    While I give major credit to the storytelling, Origins is more of what we already had. That's not necessarily a bad thing but the lack of almost no important new items and mechanics holds this game back. Also, the Wii U version suffers from some frame rate issues. Expand
  6. Nov 1, 2013
    7
    Like most gamers out there who enjoyed the first two Arkham games, I was very excited for Origins to come out. After getting 50% through the game I can say that although I enjoy it, I am also disappointed by some of the things I've seen.

    I'll start with the good. Combat was one of my favorite things about the Arkham games and Origins didn't let me down in that aspect. I find it still as smooth and as fun as before, plus the addition of new enemy types keep it from getting too repetitive. I think the graphics for the game on the Wii U look amazing and I like having my map and current objectives displayed on the gamepad. I also find the new detective mode with the crime scenes a step up for the earlier games. Seeing how Batman actually puts everything together is something I have enjoyed very much. I find the story entertaining so far and I've enjoyed seeing how Batman first met some of his most famous ally's and enemy's.

    Now for the bad.. For everything I enjoyed about this game so far I've seen something that makes it frustrating as well. The biggest is the glitches, although I haven't experienced game breaking ones like some reviews I have read I've still had to put up with some of my own. I've fallen through the map and got stuck more times then I ever want to again. I also don't understand why I can grapple on to some buildings and not others? My last big problem is the emptiness of Gothem City. I understand that they have some silly curfew in order but come on. A little more liveliness would of been nice, maybe some crime in progress that involved citizens getting mugged or something? The city just feels so dead to me.

    If not for those issues I would of given the game a 9/10 instead of a 7/10. I hope the next Arkham game advances the series forward more than Origins.
    Expand
  7. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    This game gave me a hemorrhoid, now I can't anymore, thanks Warner Bros. 1/10 would in a cup and throw it at the game case then light the disc on fire Collapse

See all 12 User Reviews