Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 84 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Runner 2 - Future Legend of Rhythm Alien is inspired by the Bit.Trip series originally released on Nintendo platforms.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Mar 29, 2013
    100
    A masterful work of art. It has it all: hilarious presentation, great aesthetic, stellar music, and compelling gameplay. It’s a rare sequel that improves on the original in every single way imaginable. I highly recommend this game, and it’s one of the best values you can get. You owe it to yourself to pick up this amazing title as soon as you can.
  2. Mar 6, 2013
    90
    It's a wonderful sensation to lose yourself in this game, whether you are facing down the formidable challenges of The Mounting Sadds or simply going for a breezy run in The Emerald Brine. Runner 2 doesn't just offer you an entertaining experience; it throws its arm around you companionably, ushers you into its whimsical world, and makes you feel like part of something special.
  3. Apr 14, 2013
    90
    A better game than its predecessor, fun, addictive and powered by great gameplay.
  4. An amazing amount of thought has gone into this; in an industry dominated by scattershot excess, this is a perfect exercise in honing a single strength.
  5. 80
    In the end, Runner2 appears to be more than a rhythm game. This is not wrong, as it is not less certain the balance of its elements, which even make us forget the limits of our actions.
  6. Apr 23, 2013
    80
    The charm and fun present are not easily found elsewhere and it’s great to see something which sets itself out as a pure gaming experience without the pretentious overtures that many bigger budget games now have. It’s both something old and something new and you should stop reading now and go and buy it.
  7. Apr 24, 2013
    65
    The audiovisual presentation with its retro flair is charming and thanks to the constant challenge the motivation starts on a high level. It is replaced by frustration though, because challenge quickly becomes routine, which in turn made me go back to more classic jump&runs.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. d3v
    Mar 5, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best games right now, it's addicting as hell! And after one playthrough, you can feel that you want to play it on a easier difficulty or the harder one! Really a must-have for the Wii-U! I got it on PC too, and it's also pretty awesome. Expand
  2. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    This game is just amazing fun. I would highly recommend this to anyone on this planet. It's beautiful, the music is great and it completely delivers with gameplay. Expand
  3. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    This is one of my most interesting games, I even got the six retro games of Commando Video. Basically, it's a rhythm game, maybe action too. If you played the retro games of Commando Video, then you should know that this story takes place between the fourth and the fifth game. The story, continues with Timbletot, that just made Commando Video a bit more through the negative path. You jump, kick, slide, spring, block the things that were all from that old Runner game. But this time you will learn more moves, like dancing, which is for ranking up the leaderboard. Lots of feature, with 125 levels in total, 100 future levels and 25 retro levels, all are brand new. I enjoyed this so much I played it straight through. 9 hours and then beated, with most of the collectibles earned. It was just too much fun. Expand
  4. Feb 28, 2013
    10
    The sequel to the best auto run game doesn't disappoint. It takes everything that the first game did and does it better. The experience is a well polished, larger more fleshed out experience. From the games strange sense of humor to its amazing sound track this game keeps you entertained through out. It offers tons of replay value, whether it be replaying the levels for higher scores and different "perfect" scores, or the hidden treasures and vintage styled levels peppered through out. Playing it off TV on the Wii U pad works perfectly and using headphones lets you really experience the amazing music. If you love music, fun or indie games in general, you'll love Runner 2. Expand
  5. May 24, 2013
    9
    One of the best, most addictive games I have ever played. Has an old school feel to it, especially the retro levels.
    I haven't played a game
    with that "Just one more try" appeal for a long time. I bought it from eShop for only £7 and change and it's the best purchase I've made in recent years.
    Simple gameplay with enough variation and style to keep you running. This could easily have been a budget release for £19.99 on the shelf at Game. You'd be crazy to miss out.
    Expand
  6. Feb 28, 2013
    9
    The best indie game on the Wii U to date (maybe even the best on the console digital or physical). It's everything you could want from a rhythm based game. There's not tons of content, but getting perfect on every level provides a challenge. You may find the game repetitive at times, but the different setting for each world helps relieve that feeling. A must have on the Wii U right now. Expand
  7. Jun 1, 2014
    7
    Bit.Trip Presents...Runner2: Future Legend of Rhythm Alien definitely is a good game, much better than its predecessor. The goal of the game is simple: Reach the end of the track, and avoid any obstacle. What differentiates this game with most of today's platformers is that your character is always moving at a constant speed. This, paired with its way of integrating music into gameplay give this game a distinct feeling to it.

    So where does this game fall? There aren't really anything this game does that is bad, and if I was following the same rating-scale that many others do, I would probably end up giving the game an 8, or maybe even a 9. My biggest concern with the game though is that, while it gives you a variety of different challenges, when mastering one, mastering the next will be fairly easy. Another concern I have is that there's little variety in the visuals of the game. The game has some really good looking backgrounds, but I won't really be able to pay much attention to those when playing. I'm more likely to be paying attention to the platforms and obstacles, and I often find myself running on the same old tree platforms.

    All in all though, I absolutely love Bit.Trip Presents...Runner2: Future Legend of Rhythm Alien, a game that was well worth its purchase. If you're a person who like platform games, this is definitely a game you should try out. While the game can be hectic, its music will cool you right back down.
    Expand

See all 14 User Reviews