Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 7
  2. Negative: 3 out of 7
  1. Mar 6, 2014
    60
    A unique and genuinely fun puzzle game with some decidedly rough edges, BLOK DROP U is a brief but engaging experience that will appeal to indie-lovers and puzzle fans in spite of its flaws — and it's easier to forgive those flaws when it costs less than a latte.
  2. 60
    Blok Drop U is a fun, addictive puzzler at a bargain price that is no nonsense in its gameplay and presentation. It’s short and simple, and is enjoyable for what it is. It’s not lengthy, but it isn’t meant to keep gamers at bay for hours at end.
  3. Short, but never quite sweet, Wii U's first budget game does exactly what you'd expect, good and bad. [May 2014, p.91]
  4. Jul 22, 2014
    50
    Puzzle games need to be easy to learn and difficult to master but Blok Drop U doesn't leave much space for that, as its short amount of levels and lack of a scoring system don't leave much room for the players to appreciate it. While its gameplay mechanics and physics are well implemented, there's still a lot that Blok Drop U needs to be more of an acceptable piece of gaming.
  5. Mar 6, 2014
    45
    Blok Drop U's systems work to some extent, but the almost complete absence of other attractives and the feel of randomness makes it a difficult game to recommend.
  6. Mar 6, 2014
    42
    It doesn’t quite live up to its premise, but many fans are still pitching in their two bucks for the downloadable eShop title to tell Nintendo there’s a market for independent games on Wii U. I fully support that! But I still can’t in good faith recommend a game with no sound effects or even any save function.
  7. Mar 12, 2014
    40
    As is, at $2, less than the cost of a side dish at a fast food restaurant, it is so inoffensive, so softly marketed, that it actually may be a good purchase for some fans of physics puzzling games. Be warned, though, that much like fast food, the entire game may be finished in less than 30 minutes.
User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 2 out of 4
  1. May 20, 2014
    7
    It's a $2.00 game, and the developer's first game. Sure, if you stay at it, you can beat it in under an hour, and its interface isn't exactly the best in the world, not to mention, you have to start all over again if you shut the game off, but for a $2.00 game, it's okay. Not to mention, the developer is still supporting the game, releasing patches and more levels. I think that this could be a stepping stone toward bigger and better games in the future for RCMADIAX. I enjoyed it. Full Review »
  2. Mar 9, 2014
    2
    A perfect example of an indie game gone bad. I've downloaded plenty of indie games from the eShop that were extremely enjoyable. This game is poop. Complete and utter poop. Full Review »
  3. Jun 30, 2014
    7
    I downloaded Blok Drop U from the Nintendo E Shop last night and I have to say, I am impressed. Blok Drop U is about a block which starts at the top of the screen. Then you have other blocks underneath it which you have to get rid of in order to reach your red block to safety.

    I think the reason why I enjoyed this game so much is because it was so different. I was passing the stylus between my brother and I frantically trying to solve the puzzles.

    Now the only down side to the game is that it is far too short but for £1.50 you cannot grumble. It is definitely worth the money.

    I also heard that the developer is going to add an extra 50 levels which I am highly anticipating. Hopefully the developer will make a Blok Drop U 2 on Wii U one day as the game really deserves a sequel with more content and replay value.
    Full Review »