Call of Duty: Black Ops II Wii U

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 231 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 53 out of 231
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 19, 2012
    6
    Great looking game but I have found too many bugs in it, unlike the Xbox or PS3 version. Graphics, sound, all are great. Just too buggy. I was a bit let down after playing it.
  2. Nov 21, 2012
    7
    ¡FINALLY! Finally you can play Call of Duty IN YOUR BATHROOM. Is that not amazing? Well, that's good. Maybe the touchable screen is not required, but the ability to play in the control it's well received here. The Wii U version looks a little bit better than the PS3/360 ones. I'm saying that because it's very destacable. Out of that stuff, Black Ops II is completely the same as the¡FINALLY! Finally you can play Call of Duty IN YOUR BATHROOM. Is that not amazing? Well, that's good. Maybe the touchable screen is not required, but the ability to play in the control it's well received here. The Wii U version looks a little bit better than the PS3/360 ones. I'm saying that because it's very destacable. Out of that stuff, Black Ops II is completely the same as the other consoles. Like in Assassin's Creed III and Arkham City, nothing changes. Elite it's not here, but you won't miss it, trust me. And stay relaxed, because the Season Pass is coming, the experience is the same. Saying this because many people affirms that this verision is an inferior one. Now, checking the game, unfortunately, the Black Ops II campaign it's too short, we're talking about between the five and ten hours. Always depend on the difficulty and the player's abilities. Multiplayer doesn't change much since the first Modern Warfare but anyway, Call of Duty it's still fun. Expand
  3. Nov 27, 2012
    7
    this game is great, showing new weapons, items and new ways to play online but in the wii u is the same as on other consoles except that divides the screen and does not charge for online play
  4. Aug 7, 2013
    7
    Black Ops 2 para Wii U, a ser sincero mejora y empeora las cosas con respecto a las otras entregas.
    Con la posibilidad de usar el Wii U GamePad como apoyo, esta pudo ser la mejor versión, pero no, un multijugador mediocre, empeorado, un modo Zombies mediocre, errores, sin DLC, caídas en el framerate y gráficas desmejoradas arruinan esta versión del juego que pudo ser la mejor. Y no es que
    Black Ops 2 para Wii U, a ser sincero mejora y empeora las cosas con respecto a las otras entregas.
    Con la posibilidad de usar el Wii U GamePad como apoyo, esta pudo ser la mejor versión, pero no, un multijugador mediocre, empeorado, un modo Zombies mediocre, errores, sin DLC, caídas en el framerate y gráficas desmejoradas arruinan esta versión del juego que pudo ser la mejor. Y no es que Wii U no sea potente, porque lo es y mucho, sino que la mediocridad de las third-parties no puede ser peor.
    Expand
  5. Oct 17, 2013
    7
    Call of duty BO2 is an excellent example of an fps game it's crazy fun and competitive But it's too old and it gets boring quick Besides those flaws I think it has great graphics and decent gameplay .the wiiU version is the best way to play this game
  6. Oct 27, 2014
    7
    Really, nothing more than a solid Call of Duty game. With the same addicting online multiplayer, underwhelming campaign and more focus in online. If you remember the original Modern Warfare, then you know what Black Ops II is about.
  7. Nov 25, 2015
    7
    This game kept me occupied for about 1.5 years. I got tired of it pretty much after those years. But it's a good game in general. The online is okay, it's not bad either.
  8. Oct 1, 2016
    7
    If you have played any CoD game, you know what to expect from Call of Duty: Black Ops II. The game doesn't break any new ground but it is a solid entry in the series and a welcome addition to the Wii U catalog, which is precariously short on competitive online games.
  9. Feb 7, 2017
    6
    I merely added this to my Wii U title for it adds some extra gameplay mechanics that make this title more desirable and I wanted to show some support for mature titles on the Wii U. But if it never hit the Wii U, I probably would never have picked this title up. The gameplay is smooth and crisp which is what most games should always have and I give it credit for achieving this andI merely added this to my Wii U title for it adds some extra gameplay mechanics that make this title more desirable and I wanted to show some support for mature titles on the Wii U. But if it never hit the Wii U, I probably would never have picked this title up. The gameplay is smooth and crisp which is what most games should always have and I give it credit for achieving this and integrating the second screen from the Wii U. I enjoyed that. However, I also check games out for story most of all. And this game lacks an interesting or compelling story. The game switches between two timelines; one in 1986 through 1989, and another set in 2025. The 1980s section uses the previous protagonist, Alex Mason, for the overall story of the rise of the antagonist named Raul Menendez. Which, by the way, is one of the only memorable characters you can take away and say is one of the only best things about the game. The 2025 parts go into Alex's son, David's, story and his role against Menendez. Raul has started plotting against the United States and China. Basically, his plan involves getting the U.S. and China against each other in a new Cold War due to his thirst for revenge. The thing that also helps to make this game stick out and is used for the franchise's future games is the use of futuristic tech like; unmanned vehicles, robotics, cyberwarfare, and so on. But other than those things that I mentioned, the story is a snooze fest. There is only two or three characters you can distinguish while the rest is pretty much bland. They try to stick out but they simply fail short at leaving an impression. Alex is sort of eh. David is; well David. I can't even remember the others on how they acted except for Raul which he's pretty intimidating to gaze upon in first person perspective. He also suffered due to a disfigurement of his only family, his sister, and so on that can easily trigger him. Poor guy couldn't take a break. Then you have a teammate of David's, named Harper, who is basically the standout kick every ass you see stereotype but is still recognizable at the end. You also have Woods who is the teammate of Alex who is a pretty **** in the head individual in his youth who can still somewhat rationalize certain situations. Other than those three characters, everyone else I completely forgot. In terms of gameplay, you incorporate some use of futuristic tech, few half assed stealth elements, and mostly what the franchise is known for, blasting anything that moves or shoots back. Not much is new and or makes this game stick out from previous or future installments in my opinion. But what else can you expect from a franchise that releases one of these titles every single November under a publisher that can be compared to as the video game equivalent of McDonald's. If you really want this title in your collection, get this port and enjoy the incorporation they did with the Wii U gamepad. It's very crisp, no screen tearing, and is somewhat good looking with the various locations for each of the missions. If you still want it but for another port, don't bother wasting your money on this cookie cutter. You are way better off getting a far better shooter like the remake of DOOM or a true futuristic shooter like Syndicate. If I was playing this title on another console or even on PC, that score you see from me would be a lot lower. I'm just being as nice as possible with it since the Wii U doesn't have enough mature third-party titles. Thanks for reading my review and have a good one! Expand
  10. Dec 3, 2012
    9
    This is absolutely the best version of black ops 2. I love that I can use the pro controller and put the game pad on the screen showing the map and kill streaks. Even playing the entire game on the gamepad feels right and is handy when my fiancée wants to watch tv. I actually had the ps3 version but sold it so I could get it on the wii u and I absolutely don't regret it. The sheerThis is absolutely the best version of black ops 2. I love that I can use the pro controller and put the game pad on the screen showing the map and kill streaks. Even playing the entire game on the gamepad feels right and is handy when my fiancée wants to watch tv. I actually had the ps3 version but sold it so I could get it on the wii u and I absolutely don't regret it. The sheer ammount of controle options make it worth it. I, like many other people would say that the graphics are slightly improved but not overly so. The only complaint I had was that there wasn't many people online but then the community literally doubled then doubled again over the last 2 days so I don't have that complaint anymore. Overall I have to say from experience that the wii u version is the superior versions. Collapse
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
  1. Games Master UK
    Jan 15, 2013
    81
    GamePad play doesn't make up for online gaps, but this is the best Nintendo CoD. [Feb 2013, p.77]
  2. Jan 9, 2013
    70
    As a Wii U launch title, Black Ops II strives to innovate upon the well-known Call of Duty-formula, and to some extent it also manages to do so. While it still is very much the same game previously released on Sony's and Microsoft's consoles, it is the ability to play the game single-handed through the game pad that should be Nintendo's selling point.
  3. Placed in the greater CODverse and BLOPS2 is too inconsistent to rank among the classics. Nice ideas rub shoulders with absolute howlers, and smart additions are hampered by a complacent disregard for beginners. In the Nintendoverse, however, this COD is a big fish in a small pond.