Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 164 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Black Ops II makes use of Wii U’s second-screen including the ability to view multiplayer maps, call in score streaks and choose load-outs. Players have the option to use Wii U’s split-screen functions to use both the GamePad and the Wii U Pro Controller. Use the GamePad touch screen to customize controls in real-time, or switch at any time to use another controller of your choice. Set in a potential near-future, the game thrusts players into a visual landscape in an epic single player campaign highlighted by branching story lines and non-linear missions; a revamped multiplayer introduces players to progressive weaponry and equipment that 2025 might have to offer; and punched up with an all-new Zombies experience running in the multiplayer engine. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
  1. Nov 21, 2012
    93
    Level for level, gun for gun, the campaign, multiplayer and zombies content of Black Ops 2 on Wii U is almost the same. This version may cut the livestreaming feature, and currently doesn't have Elite, but it makes up for it with some nifty GamePad functionality.
  2. Nov 30, 2012
    90
    Black Ops 2 on Wii U lives up to its Xbox counterpart (that being slightly superior to the PS3 version) in almost every way. The lack of CoD Elite support and live video streaming is irrelevant to your enjoyment of the actual game, and additionally insignificant next to the lack of players at the moment – a limitation that will subside as the user base grows.
  3. Dec 11, 2012
    90
    Overall, Black Ops 2 on the Wii U is easily recommendable. It proves that the Wii U can handle a modern top-tier shooter with ease, and is easily one of the best titles in the launch lineup. Unless you're buying a Wii U for the kiddies this year, you'll want to add Black Ops 2 to your new console's bundle.
  4. Nov 29, 2012
    85
    A great title with the best multiplayer we've seen on this console so far. There are some framerate issues, but if you're a FPS fan, then this is a must have.
  5. Jan 15, 2013
    81
    GamePad play doesn't make up for online gaps, but this is the best Nintendo CoD. [Feb 2013, p.77]
  6. Dec 10, 2012
    80
    If you are looking for a decent shooter for the Wii U, then this is the title to get. It offers a single-player, a zombi mode and lots of hours to spend in the multiplayer.
  7. Dec 18, 2012
    30
    A really great game has been demolished by the GamePad, Pro Controller and Wii-mote. All technical specifications and content is up to par with its competitors, but that doesn't matter at all if the controllers ruins the entire experience.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 39
  2. Negative: 4 out of 39
  1. Nov 27, 2012
    10
    I love this game. Being able to actually play the whole game on the gamepad is awesome to say the least. The graphics rock and controls, well, take a bit to get used to, are great. If Nintendo keeps this up, and encourages fps shooters on the platform and game pad, they will have a Hugh success. Could not be happier with this purchase. Expand
  2. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    I have seen all versions of this game. The WiiU has the superior graphics by far. There is a comparison video online that proves this but I've seen it first hand. Now what you think about the game is your own personal opinion. But anyone who is wondering if the WiiU version is worth buying over any other console, my answer is a big fat YES! Expand
  3. Jun 21, 2013
    9
    I haven't really played the single player so this review is really only for offline and online multiplayer. The multiplayer is great, having the loadout on the game pad as well as the ability to choose ari strikes from it is a nice touch, but really the games best feature which makes it better than other COD's is that you have 2 screens, so if you have a friend round the experience is so much better than split screen. Also being able to play single player just on the tablet while my girlfriend watches TV is a nice compromise of the living room.

    I've also not come accross any issues trying to find a game. Games like Sonic Racing and FIFA are a struggle, but there seems to be alot of people always playing Blacks Ops 2 on Wii U
    Expand
  4. Nov 21, 2012
    9
    This is Cod so you know what to expect. The WiiU version is the best looking and most player friendly version with all of it's controll options and the gamepad's awesome ability to let you pick classes, use killstreaks, and see the entire map without leaving gameplay. I highly recommend it to WiiU owners that don't have the game yet. The online is great and I haven't experienced any bugs at all. The custimization is by far the best of any CoD game to date. Treyarch has done an amazing job this year with BO's 2. Collapse
  5. Mar 22, 2013
    8
    Game has some slight hiccups graphically compared to the other two big consoles. Minus that gameplay the same. Single player is short and entertaining, while the multiplayer is as time consuming as ever. Best part of the Wii U release is the ability to play on the gamepad screen. I found myself doing much better, and having a lot better accuracy on the smaller screen compared to my HD tv. Best FPS experience on the console so far. I just hope that the Wii U community will receive the DLC from other consoles, but the player base may just be too small to justify. Expand
  6. Jan 5, 2013
    8
    Excellent conversion of BLOPS2, playing with the gamepad off TV is worth the price alone even if you have this on other formats. I already have this on PC but being able to play in the day whilst my daughter hogs the main TV is a huge selling point! Expand
  7. Dec 1, 2012
    2
    Do you like eating the same crap every year? Do you like Crap that copies Goldeneye? That is what you Call of Duty people are now. Maybe one day Call of duty will be like call of duty 3, but that is just a dream. Since when did Call of Duty become Guitar Hero. Oh my bad I have to remember this is activision. Expand

See all 39 User Reviews