Call of Duty: Black Ops II Wii U

Call of Duty: Black Ops II Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 214 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Black Ops II makes use of Wii U’s second-screen including the ability to view multiplayer maps, call in score streaks and choose load-outs. Players have the option to use Wii U’s split-screen functions to use both the GamePad and the Wii U Pro Controller. Use the GamePad touch screen toBlack Ops II makes use of Wii U’s second-screen including the ability to view multiplayer maps, call in score streaks and choose load-outs. Players have the option to use Wii U’s split-screen functions to use both the GamePad and the Wii U Pro Controller. Use the GamePad touch screen to customize controls in real-time, or switch at any time to use another controller of your choice. Set in a potential near-future, the game thrusts players into a visual landscape in an epic single player campaign highlighted by branching story lines and non-linear missions; a revamped multiplayer introduces players to progressive weaponry and equipment that 2025 might have to offer; and punched up with an all-new Zombies experience running in the multiplayer engine. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
  1. Nov 21, 2012
    93
    Level for level, gun for gun, the campaign, multiplayer and zombies content of Black Ops 2 on Wii U is almost the same. This version may cut the livestreaming feature, and currently doesn't have Elite, but it makes up for it with some nifty GamePad functionality.
  2. Nov 30, 2012
    90
    Black Ops 2 on Wii U lives up to its Xbox counterpart (that being slightly superior to the PS3 version) in almost every way. The lack of CoD Elite support and live video streaming is irrelevant to your enjoyment of the actual game, and additionally insignificant next to the lack of players at the moment – a limitation that will subside as the user base grows.
  3. Dec 11, 2012
    90
    Overall, Black Ops 2 on the Wii U is easily recommendable. It proves that the Wii U can handle a modern top-tier shooter with ease, and is easily one of the best titles in the launch lineup. Unless you're buying a Wii U for the kiddies this year, you'll want to add Black Ops 2 to your new console's bundle.
  4. Nov 29, 2012
    85
    A great title with the best multiplayer we've seen on this console so far. There are some framerate issues, but if you're a FPS fan, then this is a must have.
  5. Games Master UK
    Jan 15, 2013
    81
    GamePad play doesn't make up for online gaps, but this is the best Nintendo CoD. [Feb 2013, p.77]
  6. Dec 10, 2012
    80
    If you are looking for a decent shooter for the Wii U, then this is the title to get. It offers a single-player, a zombi mode and lots of hours to spend in the multiplayer.
  7. Dec 18, 2012
    30
    A really great game has been demolished by the GamePad, Pro Controller and Wii-mote. All technical specifications and content is up to par with its competitors, but that doesn't matter at all if the controllers ruins the entire experience.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 46
  2. Negative: 5 out of 46
  1. Nov 27, 2012
    10
    I love this game. Being able to actually play the whole game on the gamepad is awesome to say the least. The graphics rock and controls, well,I love this game. Being able to actually play the whole game on the gamepad is awesome to say the least. The graphics rock and controls, well, take a bit to get used to, are great. If Nintendo keeps this up, and encourages fps shooters on the platform and game pad, they will have a Hugh success. Could not be happier with this purchase. Expand
  2. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    I have seen all versions of this game. The WiiU has the superior graphics by far. There is a comparison video online that proves this but I'veI have seen all versions of this game. The WiiU has the superior graphics by far. There is a comparison video online that proves this but I've seen it first hand. Now what you think about the game is your own personal opinion. But anyone who is wondering if the WiiU version is worth buying over any other console, my answer is a big fat YES! Expand
  3. Apr 22, 2013
    9
    This is a solid shooter. I swapped my Xbox 360 copy for this one because I thought I would enjoy playing it on my gamepad while my wifeThis is a solid shooter. I swapped my Xbox 360 copy for this one because I thought I would enjoy playing it on my gamepad while my wife watched TV so far I'm quite pleased with it. Expand
  4. Dec 22, 2012
    9
    Call of Duty, a franchise that has been milked more than any other franchise to date! I almost gave up on it and in fact haven't owned oneCall of Duty, a franchise that has been milked more than any other franchise to date! I almost gave up on it and in fact haven't owned one since MW2 but I have played and beat all of them since. After MW3 I was about to give up on the COD franchise forever, thank goodness I didn't! COD:BO2 is a fresh take on the series, adding many new features and actually warranting a purchase this time around. I decided to go with the Wii U version despite knowing that the 360 version was the best in terms of performance, out of the 3 consoles. There is a reason for this, the Gamepad! The Gamepad is an awesome addition to the COD world and it has to do with asymmetrical gameplay, not really the extra features of the Gamepad during single or multiplayer. COD on Wii U offers a unique experience that can NOT be found anywhere else, it has the ability to play multiplayer on separate screens without the need of split-screen a second console. This may not sound to impressive but the fact is that the game is running twice sending different images at the same time to the TV and Gamepad! One might think that playing on the Gamepad itself wouldn't be a good idea, thankfully that isn't the case. The Gamepad works flawlessly and displays a good enough image that it really doesn't matter what screen you choose to play on. The cool part is being able to play local or online with a buddy right next to you enjoying the action. This is the future my friends and it's great to see developers capitalize on this opportunity... Every game should have this feature as it really enhances the experience. Okay you get it, the Gamepad is AWESOME, you want to know about the game itself; COD:BO2 has been resurrected into something special. It looks like Activision and Treyarch were listening to the fans cry's because the game has got a facelift. Graphics are surprisingly topnotch, and where MW3 failed to impress, BO2 doesn't. It's beautiful destruction and one of the best looking in the series. The gameplay has also been reworked. They have an RTS type mode that is limited in scope but succeeds where others have failed! (I'm looking at you Command an Conquer Generals) In this mode you are given an option to have an overhead view of the field, seamlessly switching between FPS and RTS, giving orders to squad members or other types of vehicles and/or devises. It's not without its flaws but Treyarch is on to something special if they improve on it. They could even make an entire game based on this mode! It's that good... The game is a step in the right direction. Zombies is back and you could take it or leave it. I don't really want to get into that because everyone I know seems to have a different opinion on it. I like it but really can't compare it to the previous one because I really didn't like MW3 too much and didn't play Zombies last time around, but playing it now is great!

    My main gripe on the Wii U version is that the game wasn't optimized for it like the 360 version which runs at a locked 60fps. The Wii U version manages to maintain 60fps throughout the MP but the campaign suffers when the action gets heated. It's not too bad and shouldn't really affect most people but it is noticeable nonetheless. The Wii U version is a great alternative for those looking for something new on Nintendo's new system and I do recommend it to those that have friends come over on a regular or family members that want to play at the same time; this is where the Wii U version outshines the competition and is the major reason why I would recommend it over the others.
    Collapse
  5. Dec 4, 2012
    8
    My view might be a little off as its the first COD I've owned (have played others). I like BF formula better, but picking up my WiiU, I wantedMy view might be a little off as its the first COD I've owned (have played others). I like BF formula better, but picking up my WiiU, I wanted the local multiplayer this offers as well as its online.

    I never have cared for FPS story mode, so it doesn't affect my score.

    The multi-player is a lot of fun and I'm glad I bought it. Additionally, with the various control options you have with this on WiiU, plus the capability to only play on Gamepad (TV off or doing something else), its easy to say this is the best version to own.
    Expand
  6. Mar 16, 2014
    8
    Is this the same recycled Call of Duty crap that everyone trashes? Probably. But I haven't bought a CoD game in years, and so picking this upIs this the same recycled Call of Duty crap that everyone trashes? Probably. But I haven't bought a CoD game in years, and so picking this up for Wii U to have a game that I could play online was a good call because I really enjoy it. The campaign was entirely forgettable, but its pretty addicting to pick up and play online. Being able to play on the gamepad is really neat. I prefer the TV and the Pro Controller, but playing on the gamepad is a really nice feature to have. Using it as a map is also super useful. Overall I am very pleased with it, but probably won't be buying another entry in the series anytime soon since this scratches my FPS itch just fine. Expand
  7. Jan 16, 2015
    2
    This game is like having a crappy job. I get put on "probation" for not playing full matches, because I keep getting disconnected from theThis game is like having a crappy job. I get put on "probation" for not playing full matches, because I keep getting disconnected from the server. My fault? Nay I say. Not to mention that when I get disconnected, none of my achievements or K/D ratio come with me. I can't advance to Prestige...Ever!! This is the only game I have that problem with. Also, by now you'd think that working out all the kinks to eliminate cheaters would be done. Nope. Actually as far as cheating is concerned, it's the worst COD yet. I'm not totally blaming COD makers, how much of a loser do you have to be to cheat at a rewardless video game?? Unless you consider sacrificing your dignity and self respect a reward. I also have a life so I guess I can't relate. Save your money. Although, if you like being disconnected constantly and cheating like a complete tool, than this game is totally for you. Expand

See all 46 User Reviews