Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Dec 30, 2013
    90
    It might not be the most complex or most challenging title out there, but it is unique, clever, funny, and, most importantly, genuinely and remarkably fun.
  2. Just like a catapulted boulder, this arrived suddenly out of nowhere and knocked us off our feet. Great fun. [March 2014, p.89]
  3. 85
    Even if the production values aren’t that great, there’s a lot to love about CastleStorm. The addictive gameplay coupled with the charming visual style and characters make it not only a must-play for Wii U owners, but a must-play for anyone who’s never been introduced to the Tower Defense genre of video games.
  4. Jan 13, 2014
    80
    If you like strategy, tower defence, or even physics-based puzzlers and action games, CastleStorm is highly recommended.
  5. Jan 13, 2014
    80
    CastleStorm succeeds at blending together the tower defence and 2D physics-based destruction genres to create a unique and very fun game that doesn't shy away from being a goofy, good time for the player with its dry sense of humour.
  6. Jan 7, 2014
    80
    Castlestorm is a great mix between a tower defense game and the popular Angry Birds formula.
  7. 79
    With highly addictive gameplay, a fun single player campaign, competitive leaderboards and online multiplayer offering replay value, the new touch screen controls and gorgeous graphics, all of this makes CastleStorm on the Wii U an absolute joy to play.
  8. Jan 28, 2014
    70
    Castlestorm displays certain qualities which are more than welcome and that shake the ground a bit in what is overwhelmingly a niche style. Nevertheless, its record would be far more interesting if its technical flaws and repetitiveness were solved.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Jan 10, 2014
    10
    Very fun strategy game! I'm addicted.
    The main game is fun, but the multiplayer is more fun and more addicting. It has BOTH local and online
    Very fun strategy game! I'm addicted.
    The main game is fun, but the multiplayer is more fun and more addicting. It has BOTH local and online multiplayer. Local has one player watch the TV while the other watches the Gamepad screen. Works like a CHAMP. Great fun!
    Balance your time and energy between spawning troops, shooting a balista, casting spells, and controlling your hero as you attempt to destroy the enemy castle or capture their flag.
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 31, 2013
    9
    Addictive and fun RTS/tower defence with a nice art style, dry sense of humour and light hearted atmosphere. There are a healthy amount ofAddictive and fun RTS/tower defence with a nice art style, dry sense of humour and light hearted atmosphere. There are a healthy amount of game modes and upgradeable units along with a simple castle editor and local or online co-op and versus multiplayer. It's a nice change of pace from hectic racers/shooters, and fits perfectly with Wii U.

    It's encouraging to see that Zen Studios can create something quite unique along with their excellent pinball tables!
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 6, 2015
    7
    SCORE: 6.7/10

    It is definitely what everyone says: Angry Birds + Castle Defense. I'm giving it a light recommend, but only at $2-$3. I
    SCORE: 6.7/10

    It is definitely what everyone says: Angry Birds + Castle Defense.

    I'm giving it a light recommend, but only at $2-$3. I would not recommend it at full price.

    This is a mobile game at its core, and as such, the price should match.

    It just isn't for me, but I can see how people would like it. It takes parts of two popular genres, melds them effectively, and has a nice art style and humor.

    I think I got it in a bundle which resulted in it being $1 or less, which is about what it is worth imo.
    Full Review »