Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Nov 30, 2012
    80
    Chasing Aurora is a perfect example of what an eShop game should be - simple, but beautiful, while offering up an experience that can't be had anywhere else. A treat for the eyes and ears, its presentation sticks out amongst Wii U titles with ten times the budget and resources. Its $15 price tag is a steep considering the complete lack of online functionality, but anyone who loves score-based games will get their money's worth out of it.
  2. Nov 20, 2012
    80
    As a game that aims to let players experience the wonder of flight, Chasing Aurora succeeds brilliantly. Arcing through the air feels sublime thanks to the smooth controls and satisfying physics, and the atmosphere crafted by the sound and art style is positively dreamlike. Wonder aside, Aurora is perhaps not for everyone; while the multiplayer modes have universal appeal, the single-player experience is best enjoyed by players with an affinity for simplicity who will enjoy, rather than tolerate, replaying stages. But anyone with access to a few feathered friends for multiplayer and/or the score-chasing sensibilities needed to get the most out of the game's solo flights will have a wonderful time in the world of Chasing Aurora. A joyous game.
  3. Jan 16, 2013
    77
    Get five people in the mix and you've a riot of brek-into-cliff chaos. [Feb 2013, p.89]
  4. The eShop couldn't have hoped for a more unique interesting title on day one. [Jan 2013, p.106]
  5. Dec 4, 2012
    77
    A limited single-player experience is supported by a brilliant (if basic) multiplayer mode. Very much a case of style over substance, but the substance it does have should keep you entertained for a while.
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Feb 19, 2014
    8
    I bought this game on sale, so for the price I give it a high review. Im not sure if its worth full price though.

    That said, the local
    I bought this game on sale, so for the price I give it a high review. Im not sure if its worth full price though.

    That said, the local multiplayer is the real fun here. Dont buy this if you dont plan on playing with friends. The single player is bland and forgettable, even boring. There really is nothing new to offer after about 30-60 minutes of play.

    The multiplayer makes this game wonderful. Its very hectic and fun. the other reviewer named frz did a good job of describing it.

    I would also add that I love the art direction and soundtrack. Its certainly a well crafter and beautiful game if nothing else!
    Full Review »
  2. frz
    Dec 4, 2012
    9
    what most reviewer don't tell is that chasing aurora is a really really fun local multiplayer game. it's hard to describe the kind of funwhat most reviewer don't tell is that chasing aurora is a really really fun local multiplayer game. it's hard to describe the kind of fun situations that emerge. basically you pass around the gamepad, so that everybody in the round gets to be the priviledged bird. there are multiple games where the gamepad bird chases the others or is chased. this leads to a lot of shouting and pointing, as the non-gamepad players try to coordinate their efforts. in the end, it's hillarious and exhausting, a rare type of game that engages the players in much more communication than usual. i refuse to give it 10 points as i would expect a little bit more single player content for that price; then again, i rarely ever give 10/10 points for anything :) Full Review »