Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 18 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Chasing Aurora is an aerial action game that is set in the thin air of the Alps. It is a 2D open world action game featuring physics-based flight and air combat. Your quest is to find and retrieve shards of the shattered sun and return them to the sun altar. Move freely in three different climate zones, searching for the shards of the sun. Some of them were found by vile animals, some landed in precarious locations, some are hidden from plain sight. Sometimes it takes a fight, and sometimes it takes a breakneck stunt in midair to retrieve a shard. Chasing Aurora is a game about the dream of flight. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Nov 30, 2012
    80
    Chasing Aurora is a perfect example of what an eShop game should be - simple, but beautiful, while offering up an experience that can't be had anywhere else. A treat for the eyes and ears, its presentation sticks out amongst Wii U titles with ten times the budget and resources. Its $15 price tag is a steep considering the complete lack of online functionality, but anyone who loves score-based games will get their money's worth out of it.
  2. The eShop couldn't have hoped for a more unique interesting title on day one. [Jan 2013, p.106]
  3. Dec 7, 2012
    69
    Chasing Aurora offers delightful backgrounds and unique multiplayer gameplay… but in the long run the game ends being too bland.
  4. Nov 23, 2012
    60
    Looks spectacular and does succeed in capturing the feeling of being a soaring bird, but falls short most everywhere else.
  5. Jan 31, 2013
    60
    Chasing Aurora should be played by you and your friends, then and only then it can deliver any amount of fun.
  6. Dec 17, 2012
    60
    Chasing Aurora has a striking presentation, that's why we felt a disappointment when discovered the lack of game modes. An opportunity to create a great game was missed.
  7. Dec 10, 2012
    45
    Chasing Aurora is a Competitive Party Game that does not work. The weakness of the gameplay structure and a not involving single player made every effort useful. A bad game to stay away from.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. frz
    Dec 4, 2012
    9
    what most reviewer don't tell is that chasing aurora is a really really fun local multiplayer game. it's hard to describe the kind of fun situations that emerge. basically you pass around the gamepad, so that everybody in the round gets to be the priviledged bird. there are multiple games where the gamepad bird chases the others or is chased. this leads to a lot of shouting and pointing, as the non-gamepad players try to coordinate their efforts. in the end, it's hillarious and exhausting, a rare type of game that engages the players in much more communication than usual. i refuse to give it 10 points as i would expect a little bit more single player content for that price; then again, i rarely ever give 10/10 points for anything :) Collapse
  2. Feb 19, 2014
    8
    I bought this game on sale, so for the price I give it a high review. Im not sure if its worth full price though.

    That said, the local
    multiplayer is the real fun here. Dont buy this if you dont plan on playing with friends. The single player is bland and forgettable, even boring. There really is nothing new to offer after about 30-60 minutes of play.

    The multiplayer makes this game wonderful. Its very hectic and fun. the other reviewer named frz did a good job of describing it.

    I would also add that I love the art direction and soundtrack. Its certainly a well crafter and beautiful game if nothing else!
    Expand