Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. May 15, 2014
    90
    Child of Light is a fantastic game, despite its flaws, and can be enjoyed by any kind of player without regrets.
  2. Apr 28, 2014
    90
    Sound combines with art and writing for the creative triple treat. Piano is at the forefront of most of the game’s soundtrack, with an orchestral accompaniment providing a robust lift; perfect for this manner of presentation.
  3. An aesthetically pleasing wonder for the eShop. It might be a short game, but it's definitely worth the asking price. [July 2014, p.82]
  4. May 29, 2014
    85
    Child of Light is an artist's RPG through and through. Combat is more thoughtful than intimidating, the story is at once archetypal and clever, and the game's visual and auditory flare is truly something to behold.
  5. May 28, 2014
    80
    Child of Light is nothing short of a delight of appealing mechanics and marvelous artistic component, set to enchant those looking for a charming RPG. Its storylines could use some additional development, as well as more tasks outside the plot’s line, but this remains a solid choice.
  6. May 5, 2014
    80
    Child of Light is a great first step into the genre for Ubisoft and a thoroughly enjoyable experience overall. It takes the classic Active Time Battle system and puts a twist on it with the Timeline mechanic. The presentation is top notch and sure to generate some interest in the game all on its own.
  7. 75
    It is terrific to look at, and its battle system remained addictive for several hours of gameplay. The humdrum exploration, the too-repetitive (though fun) combat, and the unfocused story bring the title down after a strong first impression.
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 84 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Apr 29, 2014
    10
    That's what I most expect from modern gaming. Fresh and rich new ideas, with great emphasis on mood, soundtrack and design. This game is a joyThat's what I most expect from modern gaming. Fresh and rich new ideas, with great emphasis on mood, soundtrack and design. This game is a joy from the title screen. Local multiplayer is a big plus on Wii-U. I'll be sitting on the couch with my wife for long hours of delight. Full Review »
  2. Apr 30, 2014
    10
    I bought this game this morning because i read many good reviews and i can say i'm not disappointed ! I love the graphics and the design, theI bought this game this morning because i read many good reviews and i can say i'm not disappointed ! I love the graphics and the design, the controls are comfortable like the gameplay, the musics just goes very well with the world they accompany. It's a very charming world where the characters are set !
    I also like how a "platformer" can be a rpg, the game is an original mix of some kind of games that are usually separated and that make it fresh ! Multiplayer is good too, i got my nephew (he's 5) helping me and he liked it !
    I recommend this game to any Wii U owner, it's worth the price.
    PS: I just regret we can't (Wii U owners) have access to the collector version, i'd have bought it.
    Full Review »
  3. May 1, 2014
    10
    This is one of the most beautiful games to be available only via download in the history of video games. It is pure pleasure. There is an auraThis is one of the most beautiful games to be available only via download in the history of video games. It is pure pleasure. There is an aura about this game that makes everything else, especially Micro$oft and Phony Spaystation downloadables, seem jejune in comparison. In the world of gaming, it is a sweet success petal floating on a sea of fail. Full Review »