Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 93 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The duke's daughter Aurora is dead; and yet, she lives. Join Aurora across the mysterious kingdom of Lemuria on her quest to return home. Helped by Igniculus the firefly, Finn the Capilli and many more, she must defeat the Queen of the Night who has stolen the sun, the moon and the stars.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. May 15, 2014
    90
    Child of Light is a fantastic game, despite its flaws, and can be enjoyed by any kind of player without regrets.
  2. Apr 28, 2014
    90
    Sound combines with art and writing for the creative triple treat. Piano is at the forefront of most of the game’s soundtrack, with an orchestral accompaniment providing a robust lift; perfect for this manner of presentation.
  3. An aesthetically pleasing wonder for the eShop. It might be a short game, but it's definitely worth the asking price. [July 2014, p.82]
  4. May 29, 2014
    85
    Child of Light is an artist's RPG through and through. Combat is more thoughtful than intimidating, the story is at once archetypal and clever, and the game's visual and auditory flare is truly something to behold.
  5. May 28, 2014
    80
    Child of Light is nothing short of a delight of appealing mechanics and marvelous artistic component, set to enchant those looking for a charming RPG. Its storylines could use some additional development, as well as more tasks outside the plot’s line, but this remains a solid choice.
  6. May 5, 2014
    80
    Child of Light is a great first step into the genre for Ubisoft and a thoroughly enjoyable experience overall. It takes the classic Active Time Battle system and puts a twist on it with the Timeline mechanic. The presentation is top notch and sure to generate some interest in the game all on its own.
  7. 75
    It is terrific to look at, and its battle system remained addictive for several hours of gameplay. The humdrum exploration, the too-repetitive (though fun) combat, and the unfocused story bring the title down after a strong first impression.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. Apr 29, 2014
    10
    That's what I most expect from modern gaming. Fresh and rich new ideas, with great emphasis on mood, soundtrack and design. This game is a joyThat's what I most expect from modern gaming. Fresh and rich new ideas, with great emphasis on mood, soundtrack and design. This game is a joy from the title screen. Local multiplayer is a big plus on Wii-U. I'll be sitting on the couch with my wife for long hours of delight. Collapse
  2. Jan 8, 2015
    10
    An absolutely astounding game, especially for its price tag. Child of Light is a mix of RPG and 2D Platformers, and the blend works very well.An absolutely astounding game, especially for its price tag. Child of Light is a mix of RPG and 2D Platformers, and the blend works very well. It takes influences from series such as Final Fantasy and Zelda, and then blends it all together with a charming fairytale atmosphere. The result is a game that feels simultaneously familiar, yet also innovative in subtle and key ways. Gameplay wise, it's a brilliant title from start to finish.

    In particular, I was surprised by how deep the battle system was. It feels very much like the classic Final Fantasy ATB, but the focus on interruptions and dynamic cast times makes winning a difficult fight in the game exhilarating. Ubisoft did an excellent job providing the player with lots of options in terms of characters and roles. There's also an "oculi" system, a light relic/materia system in a sense. The result is a highly satisfying amount of customization. It's never overwhelming, and for a $15 game, it completely exceeded my expectations.

    The title's graphics and music are a delight. The Ubiart engine does an amazing job of brining the world of lemuria to life, and the soundtrack is a beautiful mix of violin and piano. This is definitely a title in which you'll stop playing for awhile just to take in the magnificence of the atmosphere created.

    Overall, I can't recommend child of light enough, it's definitely one of the best titles on the eshop right now.
    Expand
  3. May 1, 2014
    10
    This is one of the most beautiful games to be available only via download in the history of video games. It is pure pleasure. There is an auraThis is one of the most beautiful games to be available only via download in the history of video games. It is pure pleasure. There is an aura about this game that makes everything else, especially Micro$oft and Phony Spaystation downloadables, seem jejune in comparison. In the world of gaming, it is a sweet success petal floating on a sea of fail. Expand
  4. Jun 20, 2014
    9
    Child of Light. I bought this for the 5th of a full-price game, but boy did it deliver. Ubisoft doesn't really cut my mustard these days, butChild of Light. I bought this for the 5th of a full-price game, but boy did it deliver. Ubisoft doesn't really cut my mustard these days, but this game was really refreshing. Nice graphics, original story, beautiful music and relatively okay controls makes this game a nice game-experience. The turn-based fighting could have been a little more intuitive but it works. It takes time to learn tactics in some of the battles however, and the skill-system is somewhat hard to understand right away. Got a bit of collecting going on too and once you set into this the game gets a bit more interesting. Very few quests to do, but they are unlike many other games very different from each other, even though most of them involves locating places. Thumb up for this one Ubisoft, but this is the only one you will get from me this year. You won't regret buying this one. Expand
  5. May 3, 2014
    9
    I'm going to start this off by saying if you like Studio Ghibli films then you will love this game! It's absolutely gorgeous and we'llI'm going to start this off by saying if you like Studio Ghibli films then you will love this game! It's absolutely gorgeous and we'll animated! The story is charming and gameplay is different enough to be fresh. My recommendation for anybody with even a remote understanding of rpgs is to select the hard/expert mode. So far I've yet to die on hard mode and don't see that changing. Wonderful experience thus far and a game everyone should at least try out for themselves. Expand
  6. Dec 29, 2014
    9
    Simply amazing! Its a perfect example to say that you don't need ultra HD graphics to make an amazing game experience. The only reason a gaveSimply amazing! Its a perfect example to say that you don't need ultra HD graphics to make an amazing game experience. The only reason a gave a 9 instead of a 10 its for the short it was. Expand
  7. Aug 11, 2014
    0
    I'd give this a 4 but you all know how metacritic works graphics are in simplicity : cheap gameplay is steryotypical and nothing all thatI'd give this a 4 but you all know how metacritic works graphics are in simplicity : cheap gameplay is steryotypical and nothing all that knew story is non existent honestly and the audio is good but that won't make a game for me at least I did not like this one bit Expand

See all 20 User Reviews

Trailers