Child of Light Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 147 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The duke's daughter Aurora is dead; and yet, she lives. Join Aurora across the mysterious kingdom of Lemuria on her quest to return home. Helped by Igniculus the firefly, Finn the Capilli and many more, she must defeat the Queen of the Night who has stolen the sun, the moon and the stars.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. May 15, 2014
    90
    Child of Light is a fantastic game, despite its flaws, and can be enjoyed by any kind of player without regrets.
  2. Apr 28, 2014
    90
    Sound combines with art and writing for the creative triple treat. Piano is at the forefront of most of the game’s soundtrack, with an orchestral accompaniment providing a robust lift; perfect for this manner of presentation.
  3. Official Nintendo Magazine UK
    Jun 29, 2014
    87
    An aesthetically pleasing wonder for the eShop. It might be a short game, but it's definitely worth the asking price. [July 2014, p.82]
  4. May 29, 2014
    85
    Child of Light is an artist's RPG through and through. Combat is more thoughtful than intimidating, the story is at once archetypal and clever, and the game's visual and auditory flare is truly something to behold.
  5. May 28, 2014
    80
    Child of Light is nothing short of a delight of appealing mechanics and marvelous artistic component, set to enchant those looking for a charming RPG. Its storylines could use some additional development, as well as more tasks outside the plot’s line, but this remains a solid choice.
  6. May 5, 2014
    80
    Child of Light is a great first step into the genre for Ubisoft and a thoroughly enjoyable experience overall. It takes the classic Active Time Battle system and puts a twist on it with the Timeline mechanic. The presentation is top notch and sure to generate some interest in the game all on its own.
  7. 75
    It is terrific to look at, and its battle system remained addictive for several hours of gameplay. The humdrum exploration, the too-repetitive (though fun) combat, and the unfocused story bring the title down after a strong first impression.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Apr 29, 2014
    10
    That's what I most expect from modern gaming. Fresh and rich new ideas, with great emphasis on mood, soundtrack and design. This game is a joyThat's what I most expect from modern gaming. Fresh and rich new ideas, with great emphasis on mood, soundtrack and design. This game is a joy from the title screen. Local multiplayer is a big plus on Wii-U. I'll be sitting on the couch with my wife for long hours of delight. Expand
  2. Jan 21, 2015
    10
    Awesome game. Simply a delight to play. Simple but funny battle system and progression of characters. Nice atmosphere and great music to wrapAwesome game. Simply a delight to play. Simple but funny battle system and progression of characters. Nice atmosphere and great music to wrap it all. Definitely recommended. :) Expand
  3. Mar 31, 2017
    10
    Hacia mucho tiempo no veia un RPG con esta calidad. El modo de batalla, el sistema de leveo, la historia, etc. un diez por donde se lo mire...Hacia mucho tiempo no veia un RPG con esta calidad. El modo de batalla, el sistema de leveo, la historia, etc. un diez por donde se lo mire... pero lo que rompe la escala y supera el diez es su grafica. Se nota la dedicacion del autor. Dzaga Expand
  4. Dec 29, 2014
    9
    Simply amazing! Its a perfect example to say that you don't need ultra HD graphics to make an amazing game experience. The only reason a gaveSimply amazing! Its a perfect example to say that you don't need ultra HD graphics to make an amazing game experience. The only reason a gave a 9 instead of a 10 its for the short it was. Expand
  5. Nov 26, 2015
    9
    + Gorgeous art style,
    + Rewarding combat system
    +The soundtrack is melancholy yet beautiful +A good fairy tail story with likable
    + Gorgeous art style,
    + Rewarding combat system
    +The soundtrack is melancholy yet beautiful
    +A good fairy tail story with likable characters

    -Too short
    -Skill trees and crafting are flawed
    Expand
  6. Aug 18, 2016
    8
    good but i hate that i had to distribute points into my characters every 2 battles the entire game. ruined the pacing. screw flanders screwgood but i hate that i had to distribute points into my characters every 2 battles the entire game. ruined the pacing. screw flanders screw flanders screw flanders Expand
  7. Aug 21, 2015
    5
    I did not enjoy this at all, after looking forward to it for ages. And I feel bad for disliking it, because the art is gorgeous, and the worldI did not enjoy this at all, after looking forward to it for ages. And I feel bad for disliking it, because the art is gorgeous, and the world is indeed very compelling. But the turn-based battles just seemed so disruptive and abrupt and painful after the beautiful flow of exploring that I was immediately turned off and frustrated. I'm not sure how anyone finds it fun to stand there waiting for an enemy to attack you while you do nothing. Yet everyone seems to love the game...I'm mystified. Expand

See all 31 User Reviews