Citizens of Earth Wii U

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 28
  2. Negative: 3 out of 28

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 2, 2015
    7
    The good:
    Obvious Earthbound inspirations which is great if you like Earthbound.
    The combat system is presented visually similar to Earthbound but is mechanically unique and interesting with a wide variety of citizens to recruit each with unique play style and abilities. The world is detailed, colourful and interesting with lots of things to see and explore. The characters and story
    The good:
    Obvious Earthbound inspirations which is great if you like Earthbound.
    The combat system is presented visually similar to Earthbound but is mechanically unique and interesting with a wide variety of citizens to recruit each with unique play style and abilities.
    The world is detailed, colourful and interesting with lots of things to see and explore.
    The characters and story are decently written with good comedy.

    The bad:
    The game doesn't do a good job of describing what exactly you have to do, I realize this is an inspiration from older games but if you're going to be inspired by old games do the good thing not the annoying things.
    There's a part where you're required to write down clues. Once again, if you're going to be inspired by old games leave out the nonsense that was bad back then too.
    Way to many enemies that aren't really worth fighting making it frustrating to complete a task.
    The game has crashed a couple times for me.
    Expand
  2. Feb 16, 2015
    8
    I'd give it a 10 if it weren't for all the crashes and almost unbearable load times. Other than that it's a really slick looking and humorous take on a old school turn based RPGs. The blatant Earthbound references I found to be a delight. Great game, overall.
  3. Feb 12, 2015
    7
    The game itself is really wonderful. It's humor is very similar to Toe Jam & Earl and it's a classic RPG similar to Earthbound.

    However, this game freezes up the whole console about every hour and a half. There is an autosave feature, but I've had it go as long as 3 hours without autosaving. Save often. Oldskool RPG fans will love this if they can get past the freeze ups. Every
    The game itself is really wonderful. It's humor is very similar to Toe Jam & Earl and it's a classic RPG similar to Earthbound.

    However, this game freezes up the whole console about every hour and a half. There is an autosave feature, but I've had it go as long as 3 hours without autosaving. Save often.

    Oldskool RPG fans will love this if they can get past the freeze ups. Every citizen has an out of combat "talent" ranging from shops and transportation to game customizations. The mascot citizen allows you to adjust the difficulty with experience multipliers or penalties that are great for casual gamers and grinding.
    Expand
  4. Feb 10, 2015
    8
    The game itself is pretty good.
    Gameplay is solid, characters are funny, it has a colorful world and obviously, it's inspired by Earthbound.
    But there's some problems with it.
    In 10 hours it crashed 4 times for me and it bugged one time too.
    The other problem is that it has enemies everywhere that you can't evade easily, and that it's frustrating.

    But overall the game is good, i liked it.
  5. Feb 14, 2015
    6
    Mira que lo compré con ganas y alegría, pero los combates me han matado, demasiados y muuuuy fáciles, a pesar de ponerlo en el modo más difícil.

    Lo mejor: - La estética, es de un gran buen gusto y variada. - El humor. - Los minijuegos para reclutar a los distintos ciudadanos. Si hubieran mejorado el tema de los combates, estaríamos hablando de un juego de 7-8, de 8-9 si la BSO
    Mira que lo compré con ganas y alegría, pero los combates me han matado, demasiados y muuuuy fáciles, a pesar de ponerlo en el modo más difícil.

    Lo mejor:

    - La estética, es de un gran buen gusto y variada.
    - El humor.
    - Los minijuegos para reclutar a los distintos ciudadanos.

    Si hubieran mejorado el tema de los combates, estaríamos hablando de un juego de 7-8, de 8-9 si la BSO estuviera a gran nivel, de 10 si no existieran bugs, existiera versión física y con un bonito manual de instrucciones. ;)
    Expand
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Games Master UK
    Apr 9, 2015
    40
    Its heart is in the right place, but we can't forgive the dull, repetitive combat. [April 2015, p.70]
  2. Mar 22, 2015
    60
    Zany humour finds wonder and wackiness in the mundane, while the recruitment system lets you build a versatile army that changes the way you explore and battle in a JRPG.
  3. Feb 10, 2015
    65
    Citizens of Earth is a comical RPG that retro lovers will simply adore because of its settings and adorable characters, but ends up being simple and repetitive.