User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 92 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 92
  2. Negative: 11 out of 92

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    Epic game, the adventure game of the year, is still the epic version of ps3 and 360 but this one is the definitive edition, epic combat, epic story EPIC!
  2. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    Definitely the definitive version of this game... graphics seem slightly better to me on the wii u over the ps3, and it all runs silky smooth. While the gamepad is not implemented a ton, the things that is used for (like inventory management) really do help with the gameplay. This is all-around the best version of an already-incredible game, and something you have to buy if you are into action/adventure games Expand
  3. Nov 29, 2012
    9
    Utterly.
    Amazing.
    The graphics are clear, although the sound is... eh. The palette of color spread around this game makes it visually stimulating like nothing else. Bright neon colors, to dim and dark shades. The sound on the other hand is... well, pretty much nonexistent. When going through a dungeon, it's near dead silent unless there are enemies around. The game play is fantastic, it
    controls easily and fluidly, even the wall running is easy. My only complaints about this game is that some of the interactive controls are hard to use (for example, the ball you push gets stuck on tiny rocks), and sometimes the enemies get a little boring, but not for long. Expand
  4. Jan 6, 2013
    9
    An excellent game with magnificently crafted puzzles and action, as well as being large enough to keep you entertained for many hours, easily pushing the content-price ratio in favour of the consumer. The GamePad is utilised enough to be useful, and doesn't force you to look down any more than you would like to in an adventure game. Bugs caused me to have to reset the console on numerous occasions, but seeing how vastly huge this game is, the number of bugs is easily forgivable. An overall beautiful game brimming with content and awe-striking detail. This is a must-have game in your Wii U library. Expand
  5. Feb 27, 2013
    9
    The game has a great story if you played the prequel but it's Meh if you didn't, the attacks and the amount of weapons is great too, the puzzles are excellent, the levels may become a little bit repetitive as the missions last for a long time, the ability to switch weapons directly is nice and the boss fights are epic
    the only complaint I have is the camera during normal play (there is a
    lock on system for battles) Expand
  6. Jan 8, 2013
    8
    Never played Darksiders, let alone it's sequel on the other consoles. I'm not entirely sure what attracted me to the Wii U version, but I'm glad I bought it. Great blend of action, puzzles, graphics, sound, and story telling. It's part Shadow Of The Colossus, part Legend Of Zelda. All the features from the other two consoles (including DLC) are on this disc. As it says on the cover "5 additional hours of gameplay." Plus, it includes a good stock pile of weapons and armor to help boost your character to incredible strength The only issue that holds this game back from being perfect is that it has some frame rate issues. I'll battle 5 or 6 enemies at once and the frame drops a little bit. However; the same issue has been said about the other console versions. Despite one issue, this is definitely one of the best games on Wii U. Expand
  7. Aug 9, 2013
    9
    WiiU Edition.This game was a real surprise. The style is great, and the characters are awesome. The bosses were epic and plentiful. I loved the voice acting, and the music/sound. Great adventure/RPG with just the right amount of puzzle. The graphics are good, and smooth despite reviews i read about occasional screen tearing. I never had any of that, it played great all the way through. i did run into a few glitches, but nothing that wasn't solved by reloading the last autosave/save.
    This game would have gotten a 10 out of me, if it wouldn't have had those glitches(due to poor porting i'm assuming), and if the weapons system was more refined and simplified. A lot of useless weapon drops, however i guess thats not really a downside for some.
    Expand
  8. Nov 29, 2013
    10
    This is an amazing game. The perfect combination of The Legend of Zelda and God of War all wrapped up with a great atmosphere and amazing soundtrack.
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Jan 17, 2013
    90
    Darksiders II is an excellent launch game to test your Wii U. Its mixture of gameplay styles puts the console through its places and proves that the Wii U is well adapted to traditional games. Besides that, Darksiders II is an enormous adventure and the Wii U version even includes the first round of DLC on the disc, so if you've been holding out on Darksiders II, the Wii U version is the one to get.
  2. Jan 15, 2013
    88
    If you're a Wii U owner who hasn't played this on other systems, and are itching for Zelda, this is a great way to make the wait more bearable. [Feb 2013, p.77]
  3. Jan 14, 2013
    85
    In the end, the Wii U version of Darksiders II is almost exactly like the other console versions. The added control options are nice but don't give Wii U owners a large advantage over their brethren.