Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 92 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Darksiders II follows the exploits of DEATH, one of the 4 horsemen of the Apocalypse, in a weaving tale that runs parallel to the events in the original Darksiders game. This epic journey propels DEATH through various light and dark realms as he tries to redeem his brother WAR, the horseman who was blamed for prematurely starting the Apocalypse in Darksiders. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Nov 29, 2012
    100
    The voice acting is all wonderfully done, especially Death. He's such a great character and is very funny throughout the game, especially in the way he deals with some of the side-quests that characters give him. If you already own the game, there's very little incentive to picking up the Wii U version, but if you've held off or never had the means to buy it until now, I highly recommend the purchase.
  2. Nov 28, 2012
    90
    The Wii U version of Darksiders 2 won't revolutionize the way players were usually playing. Having the entire HUD on the GamePad is pleasant but the navigation is not as good as it should be. Moreover, the different moves that need to be done with the motion controls are not really intuitive. And yet, despite these few minor problems, Darksiders 2 is still fun to play, especially with the new "remote play" function brought by the Wii U version.
  3. Dec 13, 2012
    90
    This version of Darksiders II is nearly identical to the ones released on the PS3, 360 and PC in Auguest. While the Wii U version doesn't offer many innovations, it does come with all of the currently available DLC. The GamePad makes little difference to the gameplay, and though it's fun to have maps and inventory items ready and in front of you at all times, I still preferred to play with the standard controller. It's a great game, perfect for anyone who likes a good action-RPG.
  4. Nov 25, 2012
    85
    All that said, if you have already taken Death's journey, there is little reason to come back for seconds. Darksiders II is a great game, but once is more than enough here. I am still dealing with side quests and DLC from the original 360 version personally, so unless you skipped it altogether, there is no single feature that makes this worthy of a double dip. Wii U owners that have yet to embark on the series should definitely check it out. It is a massive game that will last you upwards of 50 hours to complete. As a launch title, that is impressive.
  5. Jan 14, 2013
    85
    In the end, the Wii U version of Darksiders II is almost exactly like the other console versions. The added control options are nice but don't give Wii U owners a large advantage over their brethren.
  6. A fantastic start to the Wii U's more mature library, this is grim, gritty and, most importantly, hugely enjoyable to play, especially if you're a Zelda fan.
  7. Dec 7, 2012
    70
    This makes Darksiders II's bugs gamebusters. The bugs are so prevalent, the freezes such a problem, that I would only recommend the game to those willing to risk the wear and tear on their brand new hardware by having to unplug it regularly; this cannot be good for the Wii U's processors and hard drive.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    Definitely the definitive version of this game... graphics seem slightly better to me on the wii u over the ps3, and it all runs silky smooth. While the gamepad is not implemented a ton, the things that is used for (like inventory management) really do help with the gameplay. This is all-around the best version of an already-incredible game, and something you have to buy if you are into action/adventure games Collapse
  2. Nov 29, 2013
    10
    This is an amazing game. The perfect combination of The Legend of Zelda and God of War all wrapped up with a great atmosphere and amazing soundtrack.
  3. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    Epic game, the adventure game of the year, is still the epic version of ps3 and 360 but this one is the definitive edition, epic combat, epic story EPIC! Expand
  4. Aug 9, 2013
    9
    WiiU Edition.This game was a real surprise. The style is great, and the characters are awesome. The bosses were epic and plentiful. I loved the voice acting, and the music/sound. Great adventure/RPG with just the right amount of puzzle. The graphics are good, and smooth despite reviews i read about occasional screen tearing. I never had any of that, it played great all the way through. i did run into a few glitches, but nothing that wasn't solved by reloading the last autosave/save.
    This game would have gotten a 10 out of me, if it wouldn't have had those glitches(due to poor porting i'm assuming), and if the weapons system was more refined and simplified. A lot of useless weapon drops, however i guess thats not really a downside for some.
    Expand
  5. Feb 27, 2013
    9
    The game has a great story if you played the prequel but it's Meh if you didn't, the attacks and the amount of weapons is great too, the puzzles are excellent, the levels may become a little bit repetitive as the missions last for a long time, the ability to switch weapons directly is nice and the boss fights are epic
    the only complaint I have is the camera during normal play (there is a lock on system for battles)
    Expand
  6. Jan 6, 2013
    9
    An excellent game with magnificently crafted puzzles and action, as well as being large enough to keep you entertained for many hours, easily pushing the content-price ratio in favour of the consumer. The GamePad is utilised enough to be useful, and doesn't force you to look down any more than you would like to in an adventure game. Bugs caused me to have to reset the console on numerous occasions, but seeing how vastly huge this game is, the number of bugs is easily forgivable. An overall beautiful game brimming with content and awe-striking detail. This is a must-have game in your Wii U library. Expand
  7. Jan 8, 2013
    8
    Never played Darksiders, let alone it's sequel on the other consoles. I'm not entirely sure what attracted me to the Wii U version, but I'm glad I bought it. Great blend of action, puzzles, graphics, sound, and story telling. It's part Shadow Of The Colossus, part Legend Of Zelda. All the features from the other two consoles (including DLC) are on this disc. As it says on the cover "5 additional hours of gameplay." Plus, it includes a good stock pile of weapons and armor to help boost your character to incredible strength The only issue that holds this game back from being perfect is that it has some frame rate issues. I'll battle 5 or 6 enemies at once and the frame drops a little bit. However; the same issue has been said about the other console versions. Despite one issue, this is definitely one of the best games on Wii U. Expand

See all 9 User Reviews