Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 101 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Darksiders II follows the exploits of DEATH, one of the 4 horsemen of the Apocalypse, in a weaving tale that runs parallel to the events in the original Darksiders game. This epic journey propels DEATH through various light and dark realms as he tries to redeem his brother WAR, the horseman who was blamed for prematurely starting the Apocalypse in Darksiders. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Nov 29, 2012
    100
    The voice acting is all wonderfully done, especially Death. He's such a great character and is very funny throughout the game, especially in the way he deals with some of the side-quests that characters give him. If you already own the game, there's very little incentive to picking up the Wii U version, but if you've held off or never had the means to buy it until now, I highly recommend the purchase.
  2. Nov 28, 2012
    90
    The Wii U version of Darksiders 2 won't revolutionize the way players were usually playing. Having the entire HUD on the GamePad is pleasant but the navigation is not as good as it should be. Moreover, the different moves that need to be done with the motion controls are not really intuitive. And yet, despite these few minor problems, Darksiders 2 is still fun to play, especially with the new "remote play" function brought by the Wii U version.
  3. Dec 13, 2012
    90
    This version of Darksiders II is nearly identical to the ones released on the PS3, 360 and PC in Auguest. While the Wii U version doesn't offer many innovations, it does come with all of the currently available DLC. The GamePad makes little difference to the gameplay, and though it's fun to have maps and inventory items ready and in front of you at all times, I still preferred to play with the standard controller. It's a great game, perfect for anyone who likes a good action-RPG.
  4. Nov 25, 2012
    85
    All that said, if you have already taken Death's journey, there is little reason to come back for seconds. Darksiders II is a great game, but once is more than enough here. I am still dealing with side quests and DLC from the original 360 version personally, so unless you skipped it altogether, there is no single feature that makes this worthy of a double dip. Wii U owners that have yet to embark on the series should definitely check it out. It is a massive game that will last you upwards of 50 hours to complete. As a launch title, that is impressive.
  5. Jan 14, 2013
    85
    In the end, the Wii U version of Darksiders II is almost exactly like the other console versions. The added control options are nice but don't give Wii U owners a large advantage over their brethren.
  6. A fantastic start to the Wii U's more mature library, this is grim, gritty and, most importantly, hugely enjoyable to play, especially if you're a Zelda fan.
  7. Dec 7, 2012
    70
    This makes Darksiders II's bugs gamebusters. The bugs are so prevalent, the freezes such a problem, that I would only recommend the game to those willing to risk the wear and tear on their brand new hardware by having to unplug it regularly; this cannot be good for the Wii U's processors and hard drive.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    Definitely the definitive version of this game... graphics seem slightly better to me on the wii u over the ps3, and it all runs silky smooth. While the gamepad is not implemented a ton, the things that is used for (like inventory management) really do help with the gameplay. This is all-around the best version of an already-incredible game, and something you have to buy if you are into action/adventure games Expand
  2. Apr 26, 2014
    10
    questo gioco รจ uno dei migliori giochi mai fatti dalla thq e dpero che la nordic games riesca a fare un sequel degno di questo gioco che ama prendere qui e la elementi di altri giochi Expand
  3. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    Epic game, the adventure game of the year, is still the epic version of ps3 and 360 but this one is the definitive edition, epic combat, epic story EPIC! Expand
  4. Aug 9, 2013
    9
    WiiU Edition.This game was a real surprise. The style is great, and the characters are awesome. The bosses were epic and plentiful. I loved the voice acting, and the music/sound. Great adventure/RPG with just the right amount of puzzle. The graphics are good, and smooth despite reviews i read about occasional screen tearing. I never had any of that, it played great all the way through. i did run into a few glitches, but nothing that wasn't solved by reloading the last autosave/save.
    This game would have gotten a 10 out of me, if it wouldn't have had those glitches(due to poor porting i'm assuming), and if the weapons system was more refined and simplified. A lot of useless weapon drops, however i guess thats not really a downside for some.
    Expand
  5. Feb 27, 2013
    9
    The game has a great story if you played the prequel but it's Meh if you didn't, the attacks and the amount of weapons is great too, the puzzles are excellent, the levels may become a little bit repetitive as the missions last for a long time, the ability to switch weapons directly is nice and the boss fights are epic
    the only complaint I have is the camera during normal play (there is a lock on system for battles)
    Collapse
  6. Jan 6, 2013
    9
    An excellent game with magnificently crafted puzzles and action, as well as being large enough to keep you entertained for many hours, easily pushing the content-price ratio in favour of the consumer. The GamePad is utilised enough to be useful, and doesn't force you to look down any more than you would like to in an adventure game. Bugs caused me to have to reset the console on numerous occasions, but seeing how vastly huge this game is, the number of bugs is easily forgivable. An overall beautiful game brimming with content and awe-striking detail. This is a must-have game in your Wii U library. Expand
  7. Jul 21, 2014
    6
    Expansive semi-open world adventures aren't really the most common thing on the Wii U, and Darksiders 2 is one of the earliest available options for fans of the genre to get their fix.

    It's fitting that this game came to a Nintendo console, because the gameplay structure is very obviously based on The Legend of Zelda: you brave dungeons in search of keys, a dungeon map, and a new item, with a boss encounter in the end. The actual controls are closer to a traditional brawler, however, with plenty of button-mashing and combo options. It is a pleasant structure that should sway fans of both action RPGs and hack 'n' slash titles.

    Sadly, some problems do take away from the experience, beginning with some stylistic choices. You play as Death, one of the four riders of the Apocalypse, and it's fair to say his character design looks straight out of a He-Man cartoon. He isn't ominous or mysterious: he's just a muscular, testosterone-filled zombie thing. His bad-boy personality is also quite annoying, and the world itself is a bit too dreary to be as inviting for exploration as settings like Hyrule and Skyrim. The storyline itself is confusing and uninteresting, especially if you haven't played the first game in the series.

    The Wii U gamepad is used for inventory management, which works quite well. The effort to integrate the hardware into the game here is commendable, and way better than third parties generally offer on the console. Still, I couldn't find an option to make it display a map, and that's certainly something the game needs. I found myself pausing often to look at each area's general design, since the on-screen map display is very restrictive. There are also some quite sketchy motion controls in place for swimming sections, but thankfully those can be turned off.

    Most problems in the game can definitely be overlooked in face of the enjoyable action, but one of them is absolutely inexcusable: four or so hours in, I ran into a game-breaking bug. I accidentally knocked a puzzle piece out of reach, and as a result couldn't complete the dungeon. The game's auto-saving feature meant that I had no option other than restarting from scratch. Looking for a solution online, I found out that there are several other known glitches, none of which were the one I ran into. This sort of careless design is one of my largest pet peeves with the game industry nowadays, and one that I can't really overlook.

    Calling Darksiders II a darker version of a Zelda game would be somewhat accurate, and this alone will be enough to convince some gamers to take the plunge. The game is a decidedly fun experience while it lasts, only without the level of polish seen on better titles. Its world, characters, and lore lack charm, and glitches threaten to cut the enjoyable hack 'n' slash action way short.

    Rating: 6.0
    Expand

See all 11 User Reviews