Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 14
  2. Negative: 3 out of 14
  1. Nov 29, 2012
    60
    Speaking of wasted potential, if the developers wished to shove the Wii U GamePad down players' throats, they should have at least done something interesting with it.
  2. Nov 26, 2012
    60
    If only the main story and gameplay could begin to keep up with the wondrous vision that the game's world-builders came up with, Epic Mickey 2 could have been a fantastic game. Sadly, instead it's a journey of discovery that is bogged down by mediocre gameplay, bad A.I., and occasional bugs.
  3. Nov 17, 2012
    58
    The Wii U version also offers excellent graphics and motion controls, but exhibits some slowdown at times.
  4. Dec 14, 2012
    42
    With legendary game developer Warren Spector overseeing the game and iterating upon the things that worked in the first game while fixing those that didn't, I had high hopes this sequel would be one of the great games of the holiday. Unfortunately the end result is a game that I like even less than the original. There's a reason you'll see this game on sale at retailers already – it's not all that enjoyable. Buy with caution.
  5. Dec 9, 2012
    60
    A bad port, done without effort and rushed. There's little use of the Wii U exclusive features and the frame-rate drops below 20 without reason. You'll get used to that and enjoy the great game behind it, but we recommend playing in on another platform.
  6. Dec 14, 2012
    70
    There's a lot to like about Mickey's return to Wasteland, and the follow-up does improve on its predecessor in a number of ways. [Dec 2012, p.92]
  7. Mar 21, 2013
    70
    A solid game, although there are some weaknesses, some of them caused by Oswald being this AI teammate. The freedom you have to explore Wasteland as you wish and several great approaches in the matters of gameplay and story are unfortunately let down by some serious framerate issues and the fact that it's simply too easy to lose the thread.
  8. Jan 11, 2013
    40
    This isn't how a game port to a more powerful system should be, and if you absolutely have to sample Mickey's latest adventure we suggest looking to your old system or the Wii Menu.
  9. 60
    The Wii U version should be your last resort. I can't help but think it must have been rushed to meet the release date, when it would have benefited from some extra time in development.
  10. Feb 1, 2013
    40
    I want to be as explicit as possible and say that Epic Mickey 2 is not worth your time. A bad camera system, a poor help system, bad AI and the lack of substantial Wii U features make this game dull, uninteresting and frustrating.
  11. A potentially great title let down by a terrible camera and one of the most bewildering controller decisions we can remember. Get the Wii version instead.
  12. Mar 11, 2013
    70
    The mechanics are as mediocre as they were on the other systems, but additionally the Wii U version suffers from a stuttering framerate and superficial usage of the Wii U gamepad.
  13. Dec 19, 2012
    58
    For every tiny victory over the failings of the original, the sequel commits a massive oversight leading to even bigger problems. And in spite of the undeniable appeal of its twisted interpretation of all things Disney, what ultimately sinks this sequel is the sheer absence of fun in its formula.
  14. 50
    The great presentation values present in Epic Mickey 2 are regrettably unbalanced by mediocre gameplay while imprecise and questionable control schemes drag things down even more.
User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 3 out of 6
  1. Jan 15, 2013
    1
    Great game, on OTHER consoles. The port is sloppy and there are some seriously glaring framerate issues that make the game almost unplayableGreat game, on OTHER consoles. The port is sloppy and there are some seriously glaring framerate issues that make the game almost unplayable in certain areas. Meanstreet especially. I would say get the game, just NOT on the WII U Full Review »
  2. Dec 25, 2012
    8
    In my opinion this is a great game even if you haven't played the original how ever there are some minor bugs and issues that need to beIn my opinion this is a great game even if you haven't played the original how ever there are some minor bugs and issues that need to be addressed. but lets start with the games greatest features. the first one is of course the co op. the game is built around you and a friend gathering around the T.V and defeat enemies as Disney fans 2 most favorite characters. Second is the controls they feel fluid and good they don't feel as stiff as the last one. and also the sheer amount of stuff to collect. with this game you can collect stuff that can even change the scenery around you or free lost spirits.its enough to keep you entertained for a long time. the final good thing i would have to say is the vast amount of colors. both vibrant and dark everything has a Disney flare to it. However this game is far from perfect. here a couple of bad things about this game. number 1 is the problem with playing by yourself. Oswald is a smart piece of AI but he tends to wander off. if you need him in a situation where your dying and hes in the background walking away then you are screwed. the second is the control. although using the game pad is great its doesn't feel right that you cant use the controller that started the series. the Wii mote. that is especially reserved for the second player Oswald. also the touch screen integration could have been better. and the final one is the occasional bug. i have encountered at least 5 bugs in the time i played this game. while most of them are not game crashing one caused me to have to restart my Wii u completely. there can also be annoying frame rate drops and texture pop ins. overall a great game that welcomes new players and is great for fans of the series Full Review »
  3. Nov 2, 2013
    3
    THE GOOD: The graphical style is beautiful. Cutscenes look nice. The game features decades of Disney history. Voice acting is spot-on.

    THE
    THE GOOD: The graphical style is beautiful. Cutscenes look nice. The game features decades of Disney history. Voice acting is spot-on.

    THE BAD: The gameplay is very unsatisfying. You solve puzzles with the magic brush and they are not clever or enjoyable in the least. Loading times can be extremely long. The story is not nearly as good as the original. The game map is hard to get through and confusing to say the least. Finding your next objective can be a pain. There are sidequests but they are boring and not much of a good use of time. Wii U version has slowdown in many areas. There are many times where you have to repeatedly collect items but in order to finish these missions you have to enter and exit the same area over and over and collect the items. It can be tedious and truely annoying.

    This game is truely awful and not worth playing. SKIP IT!
    Full Review »