Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Sep 5, 2013
    80
    From what we’ve seen so far, Disney Infinity intends to live up to its name, constantly expanding its universe through the release of new figures and Play Sets, but only time will tell how long the trend will last. For our money, we hope that the franchise continues thriving for years to come.
  2. Despite its potential, the Starter Pack feels a little limited. That said, four solid games is not to be sniffed at and we imagine there's far more to come.
  3. Aug 29, 2013
    76
    Toys and videogames put together in a very solid and attractive product, full of possibilities. Kids are going to go nuts.
  4. Aug 26, 2013
    76
    Fans of Disney as well as creative minds will find endless hours of fun and yearn for every extra character, Play Set, and Power Disk that can be purchased. The rest of the crowd will likely pass on Disney Infinity.
  5. Oct 24, 2013
    75
    All Disney fans should play this game.Its cute, it's lovely and so much fun. Although it's a shame you can only play coop if you buy another character in the store.
  6. 70
    There is always someone to punch, always something on top of each building, always a treasure chest to investigate, the problem is when the game tells us that “this trunk” can only be opened with a character that we don’t have, "ups, Dad! ... "
  7. Sep 5, 2013
    70
    The foundations are solid, and we have, and can expect, a great variety of gameplay based on extremely popular franchises. It's not perfect, but we're looking forward to what it's yet to come.
  8. 70
    I wish it had more variety, as the available Play Sets are from three Pixar movies and two live-action movies starring Johnny Depp. Even still, Disney Infinity is the game, and potentially the platform, for Disney fans. And hopefully these Disney fans have some money to spend.
  9. Aug 23, 2013
    60
    If Disney wants to challenge Skylanders, they have to aim for better quality than this.
  10. Sep 5, 2013
    42
    The game cuts its own legs out from under it by locking content so many different ways– whether it’s via toys or play sets. And possibly the worst offense is the lottery system within Toy Box, which holds back cool items like helicopters or assets from Tron (can you tell I like that universe yet?). Disney Infinity shows a spark of brilliance with the Toy Box mode, but everything else in game is rough, raw or boring.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Aug 25, 2013
    10
    My kids absoultely loves it, and basically, that's what counts for me with this game. Game is fun, and it's using the same engine as Toy Story 3, which is great in my opinion. You get to build a lot of different things in the toy box, and I see a lot of fun in the different play sets. Figures is of decent quality. PS: The Wii U lets you see the parts on the LCD screen as you build. A nice feature which the other consoles don't have. Full Review »
  2. Feb 1, 2014
    7
    Decent game, not a decent price. . Full Review »
  3. Mar 14, 2014
    8
    Disney Infinity stands primarily on the strength of the Toy Box experience. The play sets are hardly shallow; each is at least a 10+ hour game in its own right, and despite the common mechanics, each feels like a very different beast. But the Toy Box, as a fully-customizable arena meant to facilitate ridiculous nonsense, is incredibly successful, in no small part thanks to the Internet multiplayer allowing up to 4 players to participate in creating said ridiculous nonsense. The Toy Box's free-form nature, combined with the open world of the play sets, offers a very liberating and powerful feeling, which I am sure will inevitably be capitalized on by gamers alternating between engineering incredible labors of love and vulgar displays of silliness. Such is the Internet.

    The price of the starter set is good if you consider the extent of everything you are getting in the starter set alone, but additional characters cost more than they likely should, and the game is designed not to ever let you forget that your collection is incomplete. The cash grab feel is a bit of a shock from a company usually so concerned with seeming friendly to its customers. Although the play sets are by no means mini-games, they feel somewhat shallower than the full games they are trying to be, and quality varies significantly. And, of course, since the Toy Box is limited only by your imagination, it's only as good as you are.

    A good game overall, though hardly perfect.
    Full Review »