Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 77 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 369 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze has players help Donkey Kong and his friends get back their home from Vikings. Swing, swim, leap, and barrel-blast your way through tons of eye-popping levels to save DK Island from a permanent freeze.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 77
  2. Negative: 0 out of 77
  1. Mar 13, 2014
    100
    Everything in Tropical Freeze was made with extreme care and attention. From the landscapes and enemies to the music and level design. Each island has its own ecosystem so filled with details and different things to do that, as soon as one level is over, the question of what will Retro do next always looms around, and the developer always surprises.
  2. Feb 13, 2014
    93
    Just like the previous game, I yelled alternating cries of agony and relief working through particularly challenging areas. Almost everything is fair and doable with enough focus and patience; the bonus stages are a little ridiculous, but that's to be expected. [March 2014, p.89]
  3. Feb 19, 2014
    90
    Another "job well done" by the masters at Retro Studios.
  4. Feb 17, 2014
    85
    Tropical Freeze is a marvel. Though it doesn’t deviate from expectations in the slightest, it’s an exceptional, and exceptionally tough platformer that just about every masochistic Wii U owner should play.
  5. Feb 27, 2014
    80
    Tropical Freeze is exactly what we expected from the sequel of one of the best platform games of the last generation. There might not be many surprises, but this is still an extremely polished (and great) game.
  6. Feb 17, 2014
    80
    You know what you are going to get when you buy a Donkey Kong Country game. Fortunately, that's a good thing and this is no exception.
  7. Feb 17, 2014
    60
    If the regular levels were as inventive as the boss battles, then Tropical Freeze would be a surefire hit, or at least a game that demands more of your attention. No matter how much I was looking forward to seeing DK in HD, it's difficult to maintain that enthusiasm when the end product plays it so safe: even the visuals fail to make an impact. They're nice enough, but like the level design, the environments are mostly bland.

See all 77 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 78
  2. Negative: 7 out of 78
  1. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    Haven't finished the game, but from what I've played some of these low reviews are baffling. The level design and attention to detail are top class. The gameplay is fluid and intuitive. Lots of great, subtle ideas presented on a moment by moment basis, so I'm not sure what all the "lack of ambitious gameplay" is all about. Maybe these reviewers rushed through things a bit?

    Absolutely beautiful game, by the way. Maybe the best looking game on the Wii U (Close between this and Mario 3D World). David Wise on the soundtrack puts it over the top. Get it.
    Collapse
  2. Mar 24, 2014
    10
    Just finished the game after playing it for about a few hours over the course of 3 weeks. I love Returns but this game blew it out of the water the music, level design, multiple characters, and beautiful levels made me want to 100% this entire game but man hard mode is hard.

    I highly recommend this game to anyone one of the best platformers on the system and with rayman legends and 3d world thats saying a lot I would love to see a third game from the returns series!
    Expand
  3. Feb 23, 2014
    10
    a masterfully crafted game. music,visuals,game play,variety. this game offers so much! the amount of detail this game has is incredible! to the enemy that inhabit the land to the environment all the way to the smallest animations. this game will keep you hooked. at one point you will be shot into a tornado, jumping on land that has been ripped from the ground while lighting strikes at you destroying the very platforms you stand on. at another you will be in a mine cart dodging left and right avoiding wholes in the track made by sharks right in front of your very eyes. there are many instances like these, challenging and rewarding and none of the game feels unfair. all of this action is complement by the beautifully crafted music and environment. for any wiiu owner, this is a must buy. Expand
  4. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    a nostalgic romp through all the best things that donkey kong country has to offer. the gameplay is fluid, quick and fun. the music is great and really true to the series. the graphics are also impressive as an HD Nintendo title.

    this game really hits the nail on the head if you are looking for a solid new entry to the donkey kong series.
    Expand
  5. Jun 19, 2014
    9
    This was my first Donkey Kong Country game and I was hooked instantly. Beautiful, well crafted levels and bosses set to fantastic music. Nintendo may be struggling with the Wii U but their games themselves are as creative and fun as ever. Expand
  6. Feb 21, 2014
    9
    Perfect? No. Beautiful, challenging, and ambitious? Absolutely. I own DK Returns on the Wii and 3DS, never got too much into it... But this one goes above and beyond, console-purchasing worthy gameplay with in-depth levels, a beautiful colorful world, and difficult enough even for the most avid gamers looking for a new challenge. I can't give it a 10 simply because, well, I think you can fairly compare this to the Mario franchise... While comparable, Mario just has an "it" factor that can't be touched. A tremendous game nonetheless and a must-have title for all current or potential Wii U owners. People really need to stop sleeping on this console as it currently has some excellent titles, DK Tropical Freeze being a noteworthy one. Expand
  7. Aug 4, 2014
    4
    This game just wasn't enjoyable to me. I didn't find it fun after the first few levels. Overcoming challenges was unsatisfying. Maybe you just have to play with another person? Expand

See all 78 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014 Image
    Published: January 13, 2014
    We preview 2014's most notable upcoming game releases, including major new titles like Titanfall, Watch Dogs, and Destiny, sequels to popular franchises like The Witcher and Elder Scrolls, and a few key indie games.