Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 77 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 574 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze has players help Donkey Kong and his friends get back their home from Vikings. Swing, swim, leap, and barrel-blast your way through tons of eye-popping levels to save DK Island from a permanent freeze.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 77
  2. Negative: 0 out of 77
  1. Mar 13, 2014
    100
    Everything in Tropical Freeze was made with extreme care and attention. From the landscapes and enemies to the music and level design. Each island has its own ecosystem so filled with details and different things to do that, as soon as one level is over, the question of what will Retro do next always looms around, and the developer always surprises.
  2. Feb 13, 2014
    93
    Just like the previous game, I yelled alternating cries of agony and relief working through particularly challenging areas. Almost everything is fair and doable with enough focus and patience; the bonus stages are a little ridiculous, but that's to be expected. [March 2014, p.89]
  3. Feb 19, 2014
    90
    Another "job well done" by the masters at Retro Studios.
  4. Feb 17, 2014
    85
    Tropical Freeze is a marvel. Though it doesn’t deviate from expectations in the slightest, it’s an exceptional, and exceptionally tough platformer that just about every masochistic Wii U owner should play.
  5. Feb 27, 2014
    80
    Tropical Freeze is exactly what we expected from the sequel of one of the best platform games of the last generation. There might not be many surprises, but this is still an extremely polished (and great) game.
  6. Feb 17, 2014
    80
    You know what you are going to get when you buy a Donkey Kong Country game. Fortunately, that's a good thing and this is no exception.
  7. Feb 17, 2014
    60
    If the regular levels were as inventive as the boss battles, then Tropical Freeze would be a surefire hit, or at least a game that demands more of your attention. No matter how much I was looking forward to seeing DK in HD, it's difficult to maintain that enthusiasm when the end product plays it so safe: even the visuals fail to make an impact. They're nice enough, but like the level design, the environments are mostly bland.

See all 77 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 115
  1. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    Haven't finished the game, but from what I've played some of these low reviews are baffling. The level design and attention to detail are topHaven't finished the game, but from what I've played some of these low reviews are baffling. The level design and attention to detail are top class. The gameplay is fluid and intuitive. Lots of great, subtle ideas presented on a moment by moment basis, so I'm not sure what all the "lack of ambitious gameplay" is all about. Maybe these reviewers rushed through things a bit?

    Absolutely beautiful game, by the way. Maybe the best looking game on the Wii U (Close between this and Mario 3D World). David Wise on the soundtrack puts it over the top. Get it.
    Collapse
  2. Feb 24, 2014
    10
    This game is simply incredible. It's the ultimate culmination of all previous DKC games, and if I could have seen this back in the early 90'sThis game is simply incredible. It's the ultimate culmination of all previous DKC games, and if I could have seen this back in the early 90's my brain would have exploded. Graphics, gameplay, and sound all come together in an epic tour de force, as one of the best games I've played. WOW THIS GAME IS GOOD. Expand
  3. Feb 7, 2015
    10
    Classic challenging platforming from the masters at Nintendo. Great same couch co-op game! More difficult than Rayman or Super Mario Bros, soClassic challenging platforming from the masters at Nintendo. Great same couch co-op game! More difficult than Rayman or Super Mario Bros, so be prepared! Expand
  4. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    this game is a masterpiece! boss fight are very good. one of the best game my ever played.luckily this game is very challenge it´s like it!this game is a masterpiece! boss fight are very good. one of the best game my ever played.luckily this game is very challenge it´s like it! level are very long all collectecting per level need about 20 minutes to time.get this game now! very good! Expand
  5. Mar 1, 2015
    9
    Tropical Freeze does what it's Wii predecessor did, only better. It looks gorgeous, and the soundtrack is one of my very favourites on the WiiTropical Freeze does what it's Wii predecessor did, only better. It looks gorgeous, and the soundtrack is one of my very favourites on the Wii U, if not ever. The gameplay is very tight and the characters are enjoyable to control, the lack of waggle controls is very welcome too and my only complaint in this department is the grabbing controls are a bit fiddly, particularly towards the end of the game when things get more difficult and intense.

    There's more than enough content here, just playing through the game took me over 10 hours and that was without collecting all the jigsaws and KONG letters, something which I probably won't be doing due to the sheer difficulty of the game as it is. If you were to collect all that stuff you're bound to be getting upwards of 20 hours of play from this thing.

    The levels are very varied and well designed, and I'm a fan of how they're quite long too. Concepts and ideas are rarely repeated too much and things are broken up nicely with mine-kart, swimming, and rhino levels which are all great fun.

    In terms of negatives I'd say the partner characters could have been a little different, and I found Dixie was your best bet most of the time meaning I generally just went with her. I'd also say that the bosses can be a little frustrating with them often being 10 or more minutes long and having no checkpoints. This did however give immense satisfaction when you did finally beat them! The game is perhaps a little too difficult in general (it's the hardest game I've played for a long time) although I enjoyed that it was challenging enough just to get to the end of the levels and you didn't have to collect everything to make the game challenging.

    Overall this is a superb 2D platformer, and certainly one of the must-play titles for anyone with a Wii U, just prepare yourself for plenty of deaths, this one is NOT easy.
    Expand
  6. Aug 16, 2014
    9
    Tropical Freeze is the true sequel to the original DKC games. The levels are very creative, the graphics are very crisp, and the bosses areTropical Freeze is the true sequel to the original DKC games. The levels are very creative, the graphics are very crisp, and the bosses are perhaps the greatest bosses in any 2-d platformer EVER. The game also has some different levels, such as minecart, boat, barrel blasting, and swimming levels. Even though it's a 2-d game, some of the scenery is 3-d. You can even interact with the background in some levels. My only complaint about this game is that it's VERY VERY HARD. But it's more than worth it for this great game. Expand
  7. Aug 4, 2014
    4
    This game just wasn't enjoyable to me. I didn't find it fun after the first few levels. Overcoming challenges was unsatisfying. Maybe you justThis game just wasn't enjoyable to me. I didn't find it fun after the first few levels. Overcoming challenges was unsatisfying. Maybe you just have to play with another person? Expand

See all 115 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014 Image
    Published: January 13, 2014
    We preview 2014's most notable upcoming game releases, including major new titles like Titanfall, Watch Dogs, and Destiny, sequels to popular franchises like The Witcher and Elder Scrolls, and a few key indie games.