Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 77 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 638 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze has players help Donkey Kong and his friends get back their home from Vikings. Swing, swim, leap, and barrel-blast your way through tons of eye-popping levels to save DK Island from a permanent freeze.
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 77
  2. Negative: 0 out of 77
  1. Mar 13, 2014
    100
    Everything in Tropical Freeze was made with extreme care and attention. From the landscapes and enemies to the music and level design. Each island has its own ecosystem so filled with details and different things to do that, as soon as one level is over, the question of what will Retro do next always looms around, and the developer always surprises.
  2. Feb 13, 2014
    93
    Just like the previous game, I yelled alternating cries of agony and relief working through particularly challenging areas. Almost everything is fair and doable with enough focus and patience; the bonus stages are a little ridiculous, but that's to be expected. [March 2014, p.89]
  3. Feb 19, 2014
    90
    Another "job well done" by the masters at Retro Studios.
  4. Feb 17, 2014
    85
    Tropical Freeze is a marvel. Though it doesn’t deviate from expectations in the slightest, it’s an exceptional, and exceptionally tough platformer that just about every masochistic Wii U owner should play.
  5. Feb 27, 2014
    80
    Tropical Freeze is exactly what we expected from the sequel of one of the best platform games of the last generation. There might not be many surprises, but this is still an extremely polished (and great) game.
  6. Feb 17, 2014
    80
    You know what you are going to get when you buy a Donkey Kong Country game. Fortunately, that's a good thing and this is no exception.
  7. Feb 17, 2014
    60
    If the regular levels were as inventive as the boss battles, then Tropical Freeze would be a surefire hit, or at least a game that demands more of your attention. No matter how much I was looking forward to seeing DK in HD, it's difficult to maintain that enthusiasm when the end product plays it so safe: even the visuals fail to make an impact. They're nice enough, but like the level design, the environments are mostly bland.

See all 77 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 127
  1. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    Haven't finished the game, but from what I've played some of these low reviews are baffling. The level design and attention to detail are topHaven't finished the game, but from what I've played some of these low reviews are baffling. The level design and attention to detail are top class. The gameplay is fluid and intuitive. Lots of great, subtle ideas presented on a moment by moment basis, so I'm not sure what all the "lack of ambitious gameplay" is all about. Maybe these reviewers rushed through things a bit?

    Absolutely beautiful game, by the way. Maybe the best looking game on the Wii U (Close between this and Mario 3D World). David Wise on the soundtrack puts it over the top. Get it.
    Collapse
  2. Feb 27, 2014
    10
    Basically if you like Donkey Country 1 and or 2 and or 3..This is better! Yes it is that good.The main thing I enjoyed was that it had cleverBasically if you like Donkey Country 1 and or 2 and or 3..This is better! Yes it is that good.The main thing I enjoyed was that it had clever hiding spots for the puzzle pieces,I have not even played through the 2nd stage yet and I can already say this is a 10 game,must have.Thank You Nintendo!! Expand
  3. Dec 29, 2014
    10
    We are living in a new era of 2D platafformers and Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze its one of the "Must Have" in this generation. AWe are living in a new era of 2D platafformers and Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze its one of the "Must Have" in this generation. A classic concept, with classic characters with a new face that makes a fresh experience. If you enjoyed the Wii version, you are going to love it!! Expand
  4. Feb 22, 2014
    10
    As a big fan of Donkey kong country returns (which i played on both the 3ds and wii), i can safely say this is even better. I didn't think itAs a big fan of Donkey kong country returns (which i played on both the 3ds and wii), i can safely say this is even better. I didn't think it was possible to get better, but they have done it again. Exceptional level design, very beautiful graphics, and fantastic soundtracks from David Wise, and Yamamoto. One of the main reasons this improves upon the already fantastic game dk returns, is the possibility to play as not only diddy kong, but two other ones aswell- dixie kong, and cranky kong. They all have unique abilities, and they also have unique "team actions" this is a bar you fill up, and if you press the two triggers at the same time, they high five and something cool happends. If you have a wii u, do yourself a favour, and get this game! :-) Expand
  5. Apr 13, 2015
    9
    I was hesitant to buy this game because Donkey Kong himself freaks me out. However, once I got passed my cowardice, this is one of my favoriteI was hesitant to buy this game because Donkey Kong himself freaks me out. However, once I got passed my cowardice, this is one of my favorite 2-D platformers. So much attention to detail in the ultimately simple aesthetic and the gameplay feels really tight. Donkey Kong moves like a boulder, and it really works with the great level design. The game also has the right amount of difficulty for someone like me. I absolutely love the boss battles and some of the main levels are so frantic and fast it feels epic to beat them on the first try. I especially like how forgiving the game can be if you fail too many times, as the game practically throws extra lives at you. If you were hesitant like me, just go on a limb and try it out. I'm really confident that you won't regret it. Expand
  6. Mar 20, 2014
    9
    The Game is great for classic gamers and newer gamers, its a retro platform game with new type features. The reviews have been to harsh IThe Game is great for classic gamers and newer gamers, its a retro platform game with new type features. The reviews have been to harsh I strongly believe if a game is labeled "Wii U" then they will go in expecting to be bad. The game has a nice feel and flow, graphics are nice no frame rate issues for me. The only thing that needed to be added in my opinion is being able to play as other kongs in single player. Anyone who is looking for a fun game to play and owns a Wii U should pick it up for sure. There is no reason for this game to score anything less than an 80. Expand
  7. Oct 15, 2015
    0
    If you want traditional video games that are a rip off of good old games, you have no choice but Nintendo these days. This game perfectlyIf you want traditional video games that are a rip off of good old games, you have no choice but Nintendo these days. This game perfectly demonstrates nintendo's lack of ingenuity and ideas for new gaming concepts and games in general. Expand

See all 127 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014 Image
    Published: January 13, 2014
    We preview 2014's most notable upcoming game releases, including major new titles like Titanfall, Watch Dogs, and Destiny, sequels to popular franchises like The Witcher and Elder Scrolls, and a few key indie games.