Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 77 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 692 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze has players help Donkey Kong and his friends get back their home from Vikings. Swing, swim, leap, and barrel-blast your way through tons of eye-popping levels to save DK Island from a permanent freeze.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 77
  2. Negative: 0 out of 77
  1. Mar 13, 2014
    100
    Everything in Tropical Freeze was made with extreme care and attention. From the landscapes and enemies to the music and level design. Each island has its own ecosystem so filled with details and different things to do that, as soon as one level is over, the question of what will Retro do next always looms around, and the developer always surprises.
  2. Feb 13, 2014
    93
    Just like the previous game, I yelled alternating cries of agony and relief working through particularly challenging areas. Almost everything is fair and doable with enough focus and patience; the bonus stages are a little ridiculous, but that's to be expected. [March 2014, p.89]
  3. Feb 19, 2014
    90
    Another "job well done" by the masters at Retro Studios.
  4. Feb 17, 2014
    85
    Tropical Freeze is a marvel. Though it doesn’t deviate from expectations in the slightest, it’s an exceptional, and exceptionally tough platformer that just about every masochistic Wii U owner should play.
  5. Feb 27, 2014
    80
    Tropical Freeze is exactly what we expected from the sequel of one of the best platform games of the last generation. There might not be many surprises, but this is still an extremely polished (and great) game.
  6. Feb 17, 2014
    80
    You know what you are going to get when you buy a Donkey Kong Country game. Fortunately, that's a good thing and this is no exception.
  7. Feb 17, 2014
    60
    If the regular levels were as inventive as the boss battles, then Tropical Freeze would be a surefire hit, or at least a game that demands more of your attention. No matter how much I was looking forward to seeing DK in HD, it's difficult to maintain that enthusiasm when the end product plays it so safe: even the visuals fail to make an impact. They're nice enough, but like the level design, the environments are mostly bland.

See all 77 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 134
  1. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    Haven't finished the game, but from what I've played some of these low reviews are baffling. The level design and attention to detail are topHaven't finished the game, but from what I've played some of these low reviews are baffling. The level design and attention to detail are top class. The gameplay is fluid and intuitive. Lots of great, subtle ideas presented on a moment by moment basis, so I'm not sure what all the "lack of ambitious gameplay" is all about. Maybe these reviewers rushed through things a bit?

    Absolutely beautiful game, by the way. Maybe the best looking game on the Wii U (Close between this and Mario 3D World). David Wise on the soundtrack puts it over the top. Get it.
    Expand
  2. Feb 27, 2014
    10
    Basically if you like Donkey Country 1 and or 2 and or 3..This is better! Yes it is that good.The main thing I enjoyed was that it had cleverBasically if you like Donkey Country 1 and or 2 and or 3..This is better! Yes it is that good.The main thing I enjoyed was that it had clever hiding spots for the puzzle pieces,I have not even played through the 2nd stage yet and I can already say this is a 10 game,must have.Thank You Nintendo!! Expand
  3. May 17, 2014
    10
    This game is amazing. Crisp graphics, enjoyable soundtrack and amazing level design. Great 2 player multiplayer action, really rockin with aThis game is amazing. Crisp graphics, enjoyable soundtrack and amazing level design. Great 2 player multiplayer action, really rockin with a good wingman/woman. A 10 except for a few minor items. Lives are shared, so if you are say, playing with your 5 year old, lives evaporate quickly. No ability to swap the player 1 character from DK. I also miss the lack of the blowing mechanic from the 3DS version. My complaints are minor and come from experiemce with other games and other DK titles. This game is an incredibly enjoyable experience for the family. Expand
  4. Feb 22, 2014
    10
    As a big fan of Donkey kong country returns (which i played on both the 3ds and wii), i can safely say this is even better. I didn't think itAs a big fan of Donkey kong country returns (which i played on both the 3ds and wii), i can safely say this is even better. I didn't think it was possible to get better, but they have done it again. Exceptional level design, very beautiful graphics, and fantastic soundtracks from David Wise, and Yamamoto. One of the main reasons this improves upon the already fantastic game dk returns, is the possibility to play as not only diddy kong, but two other ones aswell- dixie kong, and cranky kong. They all have unique abilities, and they also have unique "team actions" this is a bar you fill up, and if you press the two triggers at the same time, they high five and something cool happends. If you have a wii u, do yourself a favour, and get this game! :-) Expand
  5. May 20, 2015
    9
    Typical game in which you shouldn't listen to Critics Reviews.

    Its only downfall when compared to Returns is that it only has 6 worlds
    Typical game in which you shouldn't listen to Critics Reviews.

    Its only downfall when compared to Returns is that it only has 6 worlds instead of 8. But it is just as long.

    Other than that, it's a better game in every possible way. It has more Kongs to be explored, better enemy's design, more variety in the islands style, more precise (since it doesn't use stupid motion controls). Really, it's a masterpiece.
    Expand
  6. Mar 14, 2014
    9
    If you've been holding out for a a solid Nintendo title that will bring back the classic feel of console gaming, now is the time for you toIf you've been holding out for a a solid Nintendo title that will bring back the classic feel of console gaming, now is the time for you to buy your Wii U. If you already own a Wii U, it's pretty much your BIRTHDAY! Donkey Kong Tropical Freeze brings back so many elements of DK Country with absolutely gorgeous graphics and catchy tunes from the original composer.

    Play it, beat it, buy it, and saddle up on your rhino cause there are plenty of secret levels with loads of bananas just waiting to be found. Rayman was great, Donkey Kong is awesome!
    Expand
  7. Jun 5, 2016
    0
    I was a huge fan of DKCR and I really wanted to like this game, but I just couldn't. The load times, as others have said, is bad, but theyI was a huge fan of DKCR and I really wanted to like this game, but I just couldn't. The load times, as others have said, is bad, but they would be tolerable if the rest of the game ran smoothly--it doesn't. Controls feel heavy and unresponsive. Action-intensive areas are laggy. The visuals themselves are stunning, but unfortunately I think the Wii U is just not up to the task of rendering them smoothly.

    I tried to get into this game 3 times but couldn't get over how muddy it feels. Perhaps if they port it to the NX, I'll give it another shot. But my other concern is the poor level design. Levels were much too long with too much emphasis on exploration that leads nowhere (e.g. water areas where you just collect bananas). But maybe with the bump in gameplay speed/lack of lag will make it feel better. Just can't recommend this game and regret purchasing at full retail.
    Expand

See all 134 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014 Image
    Published: January 13, 2014
    We preview 2014's most notable upcoming game releases, including major new titles like Titanfall, Watch Dogs, and Destiny, sequels to popular franchises like The Witcher and Elder Scrolls, and a few key indie games.