Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 77 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 547 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze has players help Donkey Kong and his friends get back their home from Vikings. Swing, swim, leap, and barrel-blast your way through tons of eye-popping levels to save DK Island from a permanent freeze.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 77
  2. Negative: 0 out of 77
  1. Mar 13, 2014
    100
    Everything in Tropical Freeze was made with extreme care and attention. From the landscapes and enemies to the music and level design. Each island has its own ecosystem so filled with details and different things to do that, as soon as one level is over, the question of what will Retro do next always looms around, and the developer always surprises.
  2. Feb 13, 2014
    93
    Just like the previous game, I yelled alternating cries of agony and relief working through particularly challenging areas. Almost everything is fair and doable with enough focus and patience; the bonus stages are a little ridiculous, but that's to be expected. [March 2014, p.89]
  3. Feb 19, 2014
    90
    Another "job well done" by the masters at Retro Studios.
  4. Feb 17, 2014
    85
    Tropical Freeze is a marvel. Though it doesn’t deviate from expectations in the slightest, it’s an exceptional, and exceptionally tough platformer that just about every masochistic Wii U owner should play.
  5. Feb 27, 2014
    80
    Tropical Freeze is exactly what we expected from the sequel of one of the best platform games of the last generation. There might not be many surprises, but this is still an extremely polished (and great) game.
  6. Feb 17, 2014
    80
    You know what you are going to get when you buy a Donkey Kong Country game. Fortunately, that's a good thing and this is no exception.
  7. Feb 17, 2014
    60
    If the regular levels were as inventive as the boss battles, then Tropical Freeze would be a surefire hit, or at least a game that demands more of your attention. No matter how much I was looking forward to seeing DK in HD, it's difficult to maintain that enthusiasm when the end product plays it so safe: even the visuals fail to make an impact. They're nice enough, but like the level design, the environments are mostly bland.

See all 77 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 110
  2. Negative: 6 out of 110
  1. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    Haven't finished the game, but from what I've played some of these low reviews are baffling. The level design and attention to detail are topHaven't finished the game, but from what I've played some of these low reviews are baffling. The level design and attention to detail are top class. The gameplay is fluid and intuitive. Lots of great, subtle ideas presented on a moment by moment basis, so I'm not sure what all the "lack of ambitious gameplay" is all about. Maybe these reviewers rushed through things a bit?

    Absolutely beautiful game, by the way. Maybe the best looking game on the Wii U (Close between this and Mario 3D World). David Wise on the soundtrack puts it over the top. Get it.
    Expand
  2. Feb 24, 2014
    10
    This game is simply incredible. It's the ultimate culmination of all previous DKC games, and if I could have seen this back in the early 90'sThis game is simply incredible. It's the ultimate culmination of all previous DKC games, and if I could have seen this back in the early 90's my brain would have exploded. Graphics, gameplay, and sound all come together in an epic tour de force, as one of the best games I've played. WOW THIS GAME IS GOOD. Expand
  3. Jun 19, 2014
    10
    This was my first Donkey Kong Country game and I was hooked instantly. Beautiful, well crafted levels and bosses set to fantastic music.This was my first Donkey Kong Country game and I was hooked instantly. Beautiful, well crafted levels and bosses set to fantastic music. Nintendo may be struggling with the Wii U but their games themselves are as creative and fun as ever. Expand
  4. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    First of all let me thank the developers for making this truly wonderful game. Now, I also have to say that the musical score for this game isFirst of all let me thank the developers for making this truly wonderful game. Now, I also have to say that the musical score for this game is a 10/10. The remixes of the previous tunes as well as the new melodies are hauntingly beautiful. The game play is the classic DK platforming (if you've played DK Returns you know the style) and it is difficult in some areas which is a great relief because it's a challenge and for $50 a game should be challenging, not a hand holder, point a to b, linear quest. It uses all the different Wii/Wii U controller schemes (unfortunately you CANNOT USE the Wii Classic Controller). There are a ton of collectibles in the game that adds a bunch of replay ability. All in all this is a great game for the price ($10 less than normal games) and is probably the BEST WII U game on the market at this time. Check it out, you'll go banana's, hahaha! Expand
  5. Nov 5, 2014
    9
    Yet another great game from Retro! This game improves upon the Wii game in every aspect. Graphics, characters, sound, music, level design,Yet another great game from Retro! This game improves upon the Wii game in every aspect. Graphics, characters, sound, music, level design, and controls are spot on. This game is a challenge though. If you are easily frustrated from failing then this game may not be for you. If you are up to a challenge though, you will be rewarded with an excellent experience. The think the best thing about the game is the level design. There're challenging but never cheap. when you finish a level with all the collectibles you feel a great sense of accomplishment. One level that stands out is a Savannah like level where you're actually trapped in a tornado. You jump from one piece of debris to another piece of debris while being tossed through the storm. It's a very unique level and is only once example of the brilliantly design levels. Expand
  6. Feb 25, 2014
    9
    There is a lot of complaining about the game not being innovative, but, to me, this franchise didn't need a makeover yet. New level designs,There is a lot of complaining about the game not being innovative, but, to me, this franchise didn't need a makeover yet. New level designs, new enemies, new bosses with the same great style of game play and better visuals is perfect for me. The cut scenes look great, and there is a little bit more 3D in this game than in DKCR, and I like using the game pad so much better than holding the Wii-mote sideways.

    I have to deduct a point for the abscence of useful game pad functionality. Nintendo needs to patch this game so that you can use game pad and the TV at the same time. How great would it be to have the person playing on the gamepad be able to go back or forward off-screen to thump a couple more enemies, or to grab some needed goodies? Even just mirroring the TV would be better than nothing. That way I wouldn't have to die when kids or wife walk in front of the TV while I'm playing. Pretty dumb Nintendo.
    Expand
  7. Aug 4, 2014
    4
    This game just wasn't enjoyable to me. I didn't find it fun after the first few levels. Overcoming challenges was unsatisfying. Maybe you justThis game just wasn't enjoyable to me. I didn't find it fun after the first few levels. Overcoming challenges was unsatisfying. Maybe you just have to play with another person? Expand

See all 110 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014 Image
    Published: January 13, 2014
    We preview 2014's most notable upcoming game releases, including major new titles like Titanfall, Watch Dogs, and Destiny, sequels to popular franchises like The Witcher and Elder Scrolls, and a few key indie games.