Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 77 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 450 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze has players help Donkey Kong and his friends get back their home from Vikings. Swing, swim, leap, and barrel-blast your way through tons of eye-popping levels to save DK Island from a permanent freeze.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 77
  2. Negative: 0 out of 77
  1. Mar 13, 2014
    100
    Everything in Tropical Freeze was made with extreme care and attention. From the landscapes and enemies to the music and level design. Each island has its own ecosystem so filled with details and different things to do that, as soon as one level is over, the question of what will Retro do next always looms around, and the developer always surprises.
  2. Feb 13, 2014
    93
    Just like the previous game, I yelled alternating cries of agony and relief working through particularly challenging areas. Almost everything is fair and doable with enough focus and patience; the bonus stages are a little ridiculous, but that's to be expected. [March 2014, p.89]
  3. Feb 19, 2014
    90
    Another "job well done" by the masters at Retro Studios.
  4. Feb 17, 2014
    85
    Tropical Freeze is a marvel. Though it doesn’t deviate from expectations in the slightest, it’s an exceptional, and exceptionally tough platformer that just about every masochistic Wii U owner should play.
  5. Feb 27, 2014
    80
    Tropical Freeze is exactly what we expected from the sequel of one of the best platform games of the last generation. There might not be many surprises, but this is still an extremely polished (and great) game.
  6. Feb 17, 2014
    80
    You know what you are going to get when you buy a Donkey Kong Country game. Fortunately, that's a good thing and this is no exception.
  7. Feb 17, 2014
    60
    If the regular levels were as inventive as the boss battles, then Tropical Freeze would be a surefire hit, or at least a game that demands more of your attention. No matter how much I was looking forward to seeing DK in HD, it's difficult to maintain that enthusiasm when the end product plays it so safe: even the visuals fail to make an impact. They're nice enough, but like the level design, the environments are mostly bland.

See all 77 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 91
  2. Negative: 6 out of 91
  1. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    DKCTF is challenging, beautiful and its controls are nigh perfect. Level design is among the best, most intricate and imaginative in anyDKCTF is challenging, beautiful and its controls are nigh perfect. Level design is among the best, most intricate and imaginative in any platformer. The soundtrack is easily one of the best in any game done by the legendary David Wise who have many iconic video game music tracks under his belt and he's the original composer of DKC series in the 90's. The boss battles are the best in the series and the replay value is over the roof and the game is priced at 50$, suffice it to say that you'll get more than your money's worth if you buy this game. Highly recommended, go buy it, you'll never regret. Expand
  2. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    Haven't finished the game, but from what I've played some of these low reviews are baffling. The level design and attention to detail are topHaven't finished the game, but from what I've played some of these low reviews are baffling. The level design and attention to detail are top class. The gameplay is fluid and intuitive. Lots of great, subtle ideas presented on a moment by moment basis, so I'm not sure what all the "lack of ambitious gameplay" is all about. Maybe these reviewers rushed through things a bit?

    Absolutely beautiful game, by the way. Maybe the best looking game on the Wii U (Close between this and Mario 3D World). David Wise on the soundtrack puts it over the top. Get it.
    Expand
  3. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    A brilliant game, packed with innovative level design, gorgeous visuals and a soundtrack that craves an official release. It's the most funA brilliant game, packed with innovative level design, gorgeous visuals and a soundtrack that craves an official release. It's the most fun I've had with a 2D platformer since Rayman Legends. Expand
  4. Dec 6, 2014
    10
    In the world of repetitive and dry FPS games, it really is a breath of fresh air to play something so colorful and creative. Platformers areIn the world of repetitive and dry FPS games, it really is a breath of fresh air to play something so colorful and creative. Platformers are all in all, a simple concept, so to see Donkey Kong: Tropical Freeze bring creative and colorful level design is great. This game is a challenge, yes, but the challenge is fair and each death is your own fault. If you're looking for a challenging and unique platformer for your Wii U, look no further than Donkey Kong: Tropical Freeze. Expand
  5. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    Easy to learn, difficult to master, some of the most involving art design and music you will come across, there is no reason not to love thisEasy to learn, difficult to master, some of the most involving art design and music you will come across, there is no reason not to love this game. I would recommend it to absolutely anyone. Expand
  6. Feb 22, 2014
    9
    This game is brilliant. Improved controls, great HD graphics, tons of humour, enemies, extras...I mean,the new puzzles alone would have beenThis game is brilliant. Improved controls, great HD graphics, tons of humour, enemies, extras...I mean,the new puzzles alone would have been great, the way You can throw enemies around, the fantastic coopmode...to date for me the best JnR on Wii U, and maybe on any console. Retro know what they are doing and how to please gamers. Expand
  7. Aug 4, 2014
    4
    This game just wasn't enjoyable to me. I didn't find it fun after the first few levels. Overcoming challenges was unsatisfying. Maybe you justThis game just wasn't enjoyable to me. I didn't find it fun after the first few levels. Overcoming challenges was unsatisfying. Maybe you just have to play with another person? Expand

See all 91 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014 Image
    Published: January 13, 2014
    We preview 2014's most notable upcoming game releases, including major new titles like Titanfall, Watch Dogs, and Destiny, sequels to popular franchises like The Witcher and Elder Scrolls, and a few key indie games.