Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 77 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 499 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze has players help Donkey Kong and his friends get back their home from Vikings. Swing, swim, leap, and barrel-blast your way through tons of eye-popping levels to save DK Island from a permanent freeze.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 77
  2. Negative: 0 out of 77
  1. Mar 13, 2014
    100
    Everything in Tropical Freeze was made with extreme care and attention. From the landscapes and enemies to the music and level design. Each island has its own ecosystem so filled with details and different things to do that, as soon as one level is over, the question of what will Retro do next always looms around, and the developer always surprises.
  2. Feb 13, 2014
    93
    Just like the previous game, I yelled alternating cries of agony and relief working through particularly challenging areas. Almost everything is fair and doable with enough focus and patience; the bonus stages are a little ridiculous, but that's to be expected. [March 2014, p.89]
  3. Feb 19, 2014
    90
    Another "job well done" by the masters at Retro Studios.
  4. Feb 17, 2014
    85
    Tropical Freeze is a marvel. Though it doesn’t deviate from expectations in the slightest, it’s an exceptional, and exceptionally tough platformer that just about every masochistic Wii U owner should play.
  5. Feb 27, 2014
    80
    Tropical Freeze is exactly what we expected from the sequel of one of the best platform games of the last generation. There might not be many surprises, but this is still an extremely polished (and great) game.
  6. Feb 17, 2014
    80
    You know what you are going to get when you buy a Donkey Kong Country game. Fortunately, that's a good thing and this is no exception.
  7. Feb 17, 2014
    60
    If the regular levels were as inventive as the boss battles, then Tropical Freeze would be a surefire hit, or at least a game that demands more of your attention. No matter how much I was looking forward to seeing DK in HD, it's difficult to maintain that enthusiasm when the end product plays it so safe: even the visuals fail to make an impact. They're nice enough, but like the level design, the environments are mostly bland.

See all 77 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 101
  2. Negative: 6 out of 101
  1. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    Haven't finished the game, but from what I've played some of these low reviews are baffling. The level design and attention to detail are topHaven't finished the game, but from what I've played some of these low reviews are baffling. The level design and attention to detail are top class. The gameplay is fluid and intuitive. Lots of great, subtle ideas presented on a moment by moment basis, so I'm not sure what all the "lack of ambitious gameplay" is all about. Maybe these reviewers rushed through things a bit?

    Absolutely beautiful game, by the way. Maybe the best looking game on the Wii U (Close between this and Mario 3D World). David Wise on the soundtrack puts it over the top. Get it.
    Expand
  2. Mar 8, 2014
    10
    I've never reviewed a game on Metacritic, but something has to be said about this game. Just looking at the User Scores (186 Positive, 4I've never reviewed a game on Metacritic, but something has to be said about this game. Just looking at the User Scores (186 Positive, 4 Mixed, 21 Negative) it's obvious that there is something wrong with the way that modern video game journalists review games. This game does not deserve an 82.

    Tropical Freeze is a breath of fresh air in a era of gaming where emphasis has been placed on things like plot, realism, Quick Time Events and DLC. The game is completely built around one thing: gameplay. Some of the most challenging and exciting gameplay in any game I've played in years. This game is essentially the Dark Souls of 2D Platforming. It's beautiful, the co-op play is fun and lets you and your friends share the joy of clearing level after level. There are secrets around every corner as well as things that can kill you. Boss fights are actually interesting and force players to think on their feet to defeat. There is simply something special about Tropical Freeze, it actually manages to surpass all the previous Donkey Kong Country games before it. Tropical Freeze is one of the best games I've ever played.

    I honestly feel as if the people who would rate this game negatively either are used to playing games that are more like movies, or games that simply aren't challenging. For someone who craves a beautifully crafted game that bursting with ingenious ideas, an incredibly difficult challenge and well designed co-op play, Tropical Freeze is the way to go.
    Expand
  3. Dec 29, 2014
    10
    We are living in a new era of 2D platafformers and Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze its one of the "Must Have" in this generation. AWe are living in a new era of 2D platafformers and Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze its one of the "Must Have" in this generation. A classic concept, with classic characters with a new face that makes a fresh experience. If you enjoyed the Wii version, you are going to love it!! Expand
  4. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    First of all let me thank the developers for making this truly wonderful game. Now, I also have to say that the musical score for this game isFirst of all let me thank the developers for making this truly wonderful game. Now, I also have to say that the musical score for this game is a 10/10. The remixes of the previous tunes as well as the new melodies are hauntingly beautiful. The game play is the classic DK platforming (if you've played DK Returns you know the style) and it is difficult in some areas which is a great relief because it's a challenge and for $50 a game should be challenging, not a hand holder, point a to b, linear quest. It uses all the different Wii/Wii U controller schemes (unfortunately you CANNOT USE the Wii Classic Controller). There are a ton of collectibles in the game that adds a bunch of replay ability. All in all this is a great game for the price ($10 less than normal games) and is probably the BEST WII U game on the market at this time. Check it out, you'll go banana's, hahaha! Expand
  5. Jan 11, 2015
    9
    Though I did like DKC Returns, I wasn't as big a fan of it as other people were. That's probably why Tropical Freeze, its sequel, completelyThough I did like DKC Returns, I wasn't as big a fan of it as other people were. That's probably why Tropical Freeze, its sequel, completely blew me out of the water!

    Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze has fantastic level design, perhaps the best I've ever seen in 2D platformer! Most of the levels are specifically suited for a single Kong partner (Diddy, Dixie, or Cranky) and it makes all of them unique. Add to the levels the equally fantastic soundtrack and it's pure platforming bliss. I'm pretty sure it doesn't get much better than this.

    The addition of Dixie Kong and Cranky Kong as playable characters make the game much better. If Diddy was the only other one featured besides Donkey Kong, then it might have got a bit dull after a while. Dixie's easily the most best of the bunch. Funky Kong also appears in the game as the helpful item vendor. One of his shops can be found in all of the worlds and trust me, you'll be needing his items.

    That's where the difficulty comes into play. Tropical Freeze can be incredibly difficult but it's never completely unfair. Deaths are always the fault of the player, not the game. Everytime you pass something challenging, there's no prize but for some reason, you always feel like you accomplished something! Bosses are perhaps one of the best parts of the game. Sure, they're hard, but they're all cleverly designed, just like the levels themselves!

    Overall, Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze definitely deserves a spot in your Wii U gaming library. It has fantastic level design, great bosses, an amazing soundtrack, and much more!
    Expand
  6. Feb 21, 2014
    9
    Perfect? No. Beautiful, challenging, and ambitious? Absolutely. I own DK Returns on the Wii and 3DS, never got too much into it... But thisPerfect? No. Beautiful, challenging, and ambitious? Absolutely. I own DK Returns on the Wii and 3DS, never got too much into it... But this one goes above and beyond, console-purchasing worthy gameplay with in-depth levels, a beautiful colorful world, and difficult enough even for the most avid gamers looking for a new challenge. I can't give it a 10 simply because, well, I think you can fairly compare this to the Mario franchise... While comparable, Mario just has an "it" factor that can't be touched. A tremendous game nonetheless and a must-have title for all current or potential Wii U owners. People really need to stop sleeping on this console as it currently has some excellent titles, DK Tropical Freeze being a noteworthy one. Expand
  7. Aug 4, 2014
    4
    This game just wasn't enjoyable to me. I didn't find it fun after the first few levels. Overcoming challenges was unsatisfying. Maybe you justThis game just wasn't enjoyable to me. I didn't find it fun after the first few levels. Overcoming challenges was unsatisfying. Maybe you just have to play with another person? Expand

See all 101 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014 Image
    Published: January 13, 2014
    We preview 2014's most notable upcoming game releases, including major new titles like Titanfall, Watch Dogs, and Destiny, sequels to popular franchises like The Witcher and Elder Scrolls, and a few key indie games.