Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 77 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 699 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze has players help Donkey Kong and his friends get back their home from Vikings. Swing, swim, leap, and barrel-blast your way through tons of eye-popping levels to save DK Island from a permanent freeze.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 77
  2. Negative: 0 out of 77
  1. Mar 13, 2014
    100
    Everything in Tropical Freeze was made with extreme care and attention. From the landscapes and enemies to the music and level design. Each island has its own ecosystem so filled with details and different things to do that, as soon as one level is over, the question of what will Retro do next always looms around, and the developer always surprises.
  2. Feb 13, 2014
    93
    Just like the previous game, I yelled alternating cries of agony and relief working through particularly challenging areas. Almost everything is fair and doable with enough focus and patience; the bonus stages are a little ridiculous, but that's to be expected. [March 2014, p.89]
  3. Feb 19, 2014
    90
    Another "job well done" by the masters at Retro Studios.
  4. Feb 17, 2014
    85
    Tropical Freeze is a marvel. Though it doesn’t deviate from expectations in the slightest, it’s an exceptional, and exceptionally tough platformer that just about every masochistic Wii U owner should play.
  5. Feb 27, 2014
    80
    Tropical Freeze is exactly what we expected from the sequel of one of the best platform games of the last generation. There might not be many surprises, but this is still an extremely polished (and great) game.
  6. Feb 17, 2014
    80
    You know what you are going to get when you buy a Donkey Kong Country game. Fortunately, that's a good thing and this is no exception.
  7. Feb 17, 2014
    60
    If the regular levels were as inventive as the boss battles, then Tropical Freeze would be a surefire hit, or at least a game that demands more of your attention. No matter how much I was looking forward to seeing DK in HD, it's difficult to maintain that enthusiasm when the end product plays it so safe: even the visuals fail to make an impact. They're nice enough, but like the level design, the environments are mostly bland.

See all 77 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 139
  1. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    Haven't finished the game, but from what I've played some of these low reviews are baffling. The level design and attention to detail are topHaven't finished the game, but from what I've played some of these low reviews are baffling. The level design and attention to detail are top class. The gameplay is fluid and intuitive. Lots of great, subtle ideas presented on a moment by moment basis, so I'm not sure what all the "lack of ambitious gameplay" is all about. Maybe these reviewers rushed through things a bit?

    Absolutely beautiful game, by the way. Maybe the best looking game on the Wii U (Close between this and Mario 3D World). David Wise on the soundtrack puts it over the top. Get it.
    Expand
  2. Feb 22, 2014
    10
    As with previous DK games.. levels are reasonably long and fun to play.. great visuals and awesome soundtrack. I particularly like the bossAs with previous DK games.. levels are reasonably long and fun to play.. great visuals and awesome soundtrack. I particularly like the boss levels, which can be fairly challenging. This is a must have game for Wii U! Expand
  3. May 17, 2014
    10
    This game is amazing. Crisp graphics, enjoyable soundtrack and amazing level design. Great 2 player multiplayer action, really rockin with aThis game is amazing. Crisp graphics, enjoyable soundtrack and amazing level design. Great 2 player multiplayer action, really rockin with a good wingman/woman. A 10 except for a few minor items. Lives are shared, so if you are say, playing with your 5 year old, lives evaporate quickly. No ability to swap the player 1 character from DK. I also miss the lack of the blowing mechanic from the 3DS version. My complaints are minor and come from experiemce with other games and other DK titles. This game is an incredibly enjoyable experience for the family. Expand
  4. Mar 19, 2014
    10
    This game is amazing. Dare I say, it's better than the originals. Yeah, I went there. The controls are smooth, the music is AMAZING, the levelThis game is amazing. Dare I say, it's better than the originals. Yeah, I went there. The controls are smooth, the music is AMAZING, the level design is perfect... All the stars aligned for this gem. With the addition of Cranky Kong and Dixie Kong, it fits more styles of play. Anyone who turns this one down is missing out. Expand
  5. May 20, 2015
    9
    Typical game in which you shouldn't listen to Critics Reviews.

    Its only downfall when compared to Returns is that it only has 6 worlds
    Typical game in which you shouldn't listen to Critics Reviews.

    Its only downfall when compared to Returns is that it only has 6 worlds instead of 8. But it is just as long.

    Other than that, it's a better game in every possible way. It has more Kongs to be explored, better enemy's design, more variety in the islands style, more precise (since it doesn't use stupid motion controls). Really, it's a masterpiece.
    Expand
  6. Feb 22, 2014
    9
    This game is brilliant. Improved controls, great HD graphics, tons of humour, enemies, extras...I mean,the new puzzles alone would have beenThis game is brilliant. Improved controls, great HD graphics, tons of humour, enemies, extras...I mean,the new puzzles alone would have been great, the way You can throw enemies around, the fantastic coopmode...to date for me the best JnR on Wii U, and maybe on any console. Retro know what they are doing and how to please gamers. Expand
  7. Jun 5, 2016
    0
    I was a huge fan of DKCR and I really wanted to like this game, but I just couldn't. The load times, as others have said, is bad, but theyI was a huge fan of DKCR and I really wanted to like this game, but I just couldn't. The load times, as others have said, is bad, but they would be tolerable if the rest of the game ran smoothly--it doesn't. Controls feel heavy and unresponsive. Action-intensive areas are laggy. The visuals themselves are stunning, but unfortunately I think the Wii U is just not up to the task of rendering them smoothly.

    I tried to get into this game 3 times but couldn't get over how muddy it feels. Perhaps if they port it to the NX, I'll give it another shot. But my other concern is the poor level design. Levels were much too long with too much emphasis on exploration that leads nowhere (e.g. water areas where you just collect bananas). But maybe with the bump in gameplay speed/lack of lag will make it feel better. Just can't recommend this game and regret purchasing at full retail.
    Expand

See all 139 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014 Image
    Published: January 13, 2014
    We preview 2014's most notable upcoming game releases, including major new titles like Titanfall, Watch Dogs, and Destiny, sequels to popular franchises like The Witcher and Elder Scrolls, and a few key indie games.