Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 77 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 558 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze has players help Donkey Kong and his friends get back their home from Vikings. Swing, swim, leap, and barrel-blast your way through tons of eye-popping levels to save DK Island from a permanent freeze.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 77
  2. Negative: 0 out of 77
  1. Mar 13, 2014
    100
    Everything in Tropical Freeze was made with extreme care and attention. From the landscapes and enemies to the music and level design. Each island has its own ecosystem so filled with details and different things to do that, as soon as one level is over, the question of what will Retro do next always looms around, and the developer always surprises.
  2. Feb 13, 2014
    93
    Just like the previous game, I yelled alternating cries of agony and relief working through particularly challenging areas. Almost everything is fair and doable with enough focus and patience; the bonus stages are a little ridiculous, but that's to be expected. [March 2014, p.89]
  3. Feb 19, 2014
    90
    Another "job well done" by the masters at Retro Studios.
  4. Feb 17, 2014
    85
    Tropical Freeze is a marvel. Though it doesn’t deviate from expectations in the slightest, it’s an exceptional, and exceptionally tough platformer that just about every masochistic Wii U owner should play.
  5. Feb 27, 2014
    80
    Tropical Freeze is exactly what we expected from the sequel of one of the best platform games of the last generation. There might not be many surprises, but this is still an extremely polished (and great) game.
  6. Feb 17, 2014
    80
    You know what you are going to get when you buy a Donkey Kong Country game. Fortunately, that's a good thing and this is no exception.
  7. Feb 17, 2014
    60
    If the regular levels were as inventive as the boss battles, then Tropical Freeze would be a surefire hit, or at least a game that demands more of your attention. No matter how much I was looking forward to seeing DK in HD, it's difficult to maintain that enthusiasm when the end product plays it so safe: even the visuals fail to make an impact. They're nice enough, but like the level design, the environments are mostly bland.

See all 77 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 112
  2. Negative: 6 out of 112
  1. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    Haven't finished the game, but from what I've played some of these low reviews are baffling. The level design and attention to detail are topHaven't finished the game, but from what I've played some of these low reviews are baffling. The level design and attention to detail are top class. The gameplay is fluid and intuitive. Lots of great, subtle ideas presented on a moment by moment basis, so I'm not sure what all the "lack of ambitious gameplay" is all about. Maybe these reviewers rushed through things a bit?

    Absolutely beautiful game, by the way. Maybe the best looking game on the Wii U (Close between this and Mario 3D World). David Wise on the soundtrack puts it over the top. Get it.
    Expand
  2. Feb 24, 2014
    10
    This game is simply incredible. It's the ultimate culmination of all previous DKC games, and if I could have seen this back in the early 90'sThis game is simply incredible. It's the ultimate culmination of all previous DKC games, and if I could have seen this back in the early 90's my brain would have exploded. Graphics, gameplay, and sound all come together in an epic tour de force, as one of the best games I've played. WOW THIS GAME IS GOOD. Expand
  3. Dec 29, 2014
    10
    We are living in a new era of 2D platafformers and Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze its one of the "Must Have" in this generation. AWe are living in a new era of 2D platafformers and Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze its one of the "Must Have" in this generation. A classic concept, with classic characters with a new face that makes a fresh experience. If you enjoyed the Wii version, you are going to love it!! Expand
  4. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    this game is a masterpiece! boss fight are very good. one of the best game my ever played.luckily this game is very challenge it´s like it!this game is a masterpiece! boss fight are very good. one of the best game my ever played.luckily this game is very challenge it´s like it! level are very long all collectecting per level need about 20 minutes to time.get this game now! very good! Expand
  5. Jan 11, 2015
    9
    Though I did like DKC Returns, I wasn't as big a fan of it as other people were. That's probably why Tropical Freeze, its sequel, completelyThough I did like DKC Returns, I wasn't as big a fan of it as other people were. That's probably why Tropical Freeze, its sequel, completely blew me out of the water!

    Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze has fantastic level design, perhaps the best I've ever seen in 2D platformer! Most of the levels are specifically suited for a single Kong partner (Diddy, Dixie, or Cranky) and it makes all of them unique. Add to the levels the equally fantastic soundtrack and it's pure platforming bliss. I'm pretty sure it doesn't get much better than this.

    The addition of Dixie Kong and Cranky Kong as playable characters make the game much better. If Diddy was the only other one featured besides Donkey Kong, then it might have got a bit dull after a while. Dixie's easily the most best of the bunch. Funky Kong also appears in the game as the helpful item vendor. One of his shops can be found in all of the worlds and trust me, you'll be needing his items.

    That's where the difficulty comes into play. Tropical Freeze can be incredibly difficult but it's never completely unfair. Deaths are always the fault of the player, not the game. Everytime you pass something challenging, there's no prize but for some reason, you always feel like you accomplished something! Bosses are perhaps one of the best parts of the game. Sure, they're hard, but they're all cleverly designed, just like the levels themselves!

    Overall, Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze definitely deserves a spot in your Wii U gaming library. It has fantastic level design, great bosses, an amazing soundtrack, and much more!
    Expand
  6. Mar 20, 2014
    9
    The Game is great for classic gamers and newer gamers, its a retro platform game with new type features. The reviews have been to harsh IThe Game is great for classic gamers and newer gamers, its a retro platform game with new type features. The reviews have been to harsh I strongly believe if a game is labeled "Wii U" then they will go in expecting to be bad. The game has a nice feel and flow, graphics are nice no frame rate issues for me. The only thing that needed to be added in my opinion is being able to play as other kongs in single player. Anyone who is looking for a fun game to play and owns a Wii U should pick it up for sure. There is no reason for this game to score anything less than an 80. Expand
  7. Aug 4, 2014
    4
    This game just wasn't enjoyable to me. I didn't find it fun after the first few levels. Overcoming challenges was unsatisfying. Maybe you justThis game just wasn't enjoyable to me. I didn't find it fun after the first few levels. Overcoming challenges was unsatisfying. Maybe you just have to play with another person? Expand

See all 112 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014 Image
    Published: January 13, 2014
    We preview 2014's most notable upcoming game releases, including major new titles like Titanfall, Watch Dogs, and Destiny, sequels to popular franchises like The Witcher and Elder Scrolls, and a few key indie games.