Dr. Luigi Wii U

Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 38
  2. Negative: 2 out of 38
  1. Jan 28, 2014
    80
    It would have been nice to see more thought put into the presentation, but fans of the series will feel right at home with this familiar layout.
  2. Jan 21, 2014
    80
    While I greatly enjoyed Dr. Luigi, most of my joy can be attributed to my profound love for Dr. Mario. Those who have such a nostalgic tie to the game will love Dr. Luigi in the same way the new iterations of Tetris keep fans from the '80s and '90s coming back.
  3. This high-priced Dr. Mario clone is still loads of fun – especially in groups – and serves as an effective prescription for anyone suffering a deficiency in accessible, competitive puzzle play.
  4. Jan 3, 2014
    80
    When Nintendo first announced Dr. Luigi during the most recent Nintendo Direct, Operation L mode took center stage. While this turns out to be the least enjoyable part of this farewell to the Year of Luigi, Dr. Luigi does offer other competent updates to the classic gameplay. I can’t get the classic tune out of my head or the smile off my face.
  5. Jan 26, 2014
    79
    A nice new entry in the classic puzzle game series, with some interesting new ideas but also a not perfectly balanced difficulty level and a couple of missing options that we saw in previous entries.
  6. Feb 3, 2014
    75
    Dr. Luigi does an excellent job capturing the addictive gameplay that made Dr. Mario so memorable and fun.
  7. Jan 13, 2014
    75
    All in all, I think Dr. Luigi is fun call back to an NES classic, with just enough spin put on the original formula to make it feel fresh again.
  8. Jan 9, 2014
    75
    The lack of notable features of previous games, especially four-player matches, is puzzling and disappointing. Instead of the definitive Dr. Mario experience, Dr. Luigi is an interesting spin of an established classic.
  9. Jan 1, 2014
    75
    If you don't find yourself getting excited at the prospect of L-shaped blocks or GamePad play though, you might as well just stick with Dr. Mario Online Rx. Either way, the Wii U's newest entry in the Dr. series is a nice cap on a great first Year of Luigi.
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 63 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Dec 31, 2013
    8
    Dr. Luigi is a blast if you enjoyed the NES original. The downloadable title includes a retro mode which is the original Dr. Mario game withDr. Luigi is a blast if you enjoyed the NES original. The downloadable title includes a retro mode which is the original Dr. Mario game with an HD facelift. New modes include L shaped medicine to complicatie strategies and Virus Buster. The best part of Dr. Luigi is its online mode which includes head-to-head battles and leaderboards.
    For those who enjoyed the earlier iterations of this puzzler, it is a no-brainer to buy it. For those of you who haven't played Dr. Mario, but enjoy games such as Tetris and/or Bejeweled, Dr. Luigi is a safe play at $15.
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 10, 2014
    8
    I loved the graphics and the online play.
    Music a bit repetitive, but that's like a bad habit of those kind of games.
    Get it, but only if
    I loved the graphics and the online play.
    Music a bit repetitive, but that's like a bad habit of those kind of games.
    Get it, but only if you are a fun of Dr. Mario or puzzle games like these.
    It's the same game, only a bit better on the aesthetics.
    Also it has an all new mode with L shaped blocks/pills.
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 15, 2014
    9
    Dr.Luigi is a good game for all and it have a good gameplay.Is the game that you have to play when you is bored or sad. Play with friendsDr.Luigi is a good game for all and it have a good gameplay.Is the game that you have to play when you is bored or sad. Play with friends online is fantastic.Surely a must have!! Full Review »