Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 82 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: DuckTales Remastered has seen the development team take the levels and layout from the original 1989 release as a foundation before expanding upon them to significantly enhance the gameplay experience but where this update truly impresses is its graphics and sound. All of the visuals fromDuckTales Remastered has seen the development team take the levels and layout from the original 1989 release as a foundation before expanding upon them to significantly enhance the gameplay experience but where this update truly impresses is its graphics and sound. All of the visuals from the 8-bit game have been beautifully re-created as hand-drawn and animated sprites, across a backdrop of luscious, re-envisioned level backgrounds. Furthermore, original Disney Character Voices talent, including some from the cartoon TV series, bring in-game characters to life with charm and wit, while the classic melodies of the original soundtrack are given a modern twist. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Aug 16, 2013
    91
    If you were a fan of the NES original, DuckTales: Remastered is the definition of a must-own title.
  2. Aug 15, 2013
    91
    Basically, if you loved DuckTales as a kid, whether it was the NES game or the T.V. show, or both, you should definitely pick this up. And if you never got into the show or game, but have some affinity for retro games, you should still pick this up.
  3. Aug 14, 2013
    80
    WayForward Technologies has clearly put a lot of time, effort and love in making this remake. It is not perfect, but it is worth its money.
  4. Aug 14, 2013
    80
    Despite the status of a classic, DuckTales wasn't and still isn't exceptional in the genre. But it is very fun.
  5. Aug 20, 2013
    80
    Whilst not perfect, DuckTales: Remastered stays faithful to the NES original and its gameplay mechanics, with the exception of forced collectibles and prolonging levels with cut-scenes.
  6. Aug 27, 2013
    75
    Unfortunately, it ended up feeling like it was trying too hard. Begging me to laugh at jokes, to remember references to old characters, and to find that Scottish accent charming. While the game has its moments, it just isn’t the retro gold that I was hoping it would be.
  7. Sep 2, 2013
    60
    If you are old enough to be nostalgic about this game, originally released in 1989 on NES and Game Boy, you'll have a lot of fun with Duck Tales Remastered. However, if you are part of the younger generation and if those old platformers' remakes do not interest you that much, then find something else, because you will find the game too short and its gameplay too classic.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Aug 20, 2013
    10
    It's amazing. Being a fan of the original on the NES this title definitely hits the boat, especially for fans longing for a remake.

    Thank
    It's amazing. Being a fan of the original on the NES this title definitely hits the boat, especially for fans longing for a remake.

    Thank you Capcom.
    Expand
  2. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    Ducktales was my favorite movie as a kid I almost missed this title then rented it then bought it. It's one of the best titles on Wii U rightDucktales was my favorite movie as a kid I almost missed this title then rented it then bought it. It's one of the best titles on Wii U right now (granted, there aren't many). More 2d platformers!! Collapse
  3. Oct 30, 2013
    10
    This is a great game, especially if you were a fan of the original. This game was recreated with a story line, extra features, and amazingThis is a great game, especially if you were a fan of the original. This game was recreated with a story line, extra features, and amazing graphics. It's a must have for new and retro gamers! The only thing i would like you guys to know that even though it is a great game, the original was not a long game, so being a remake, this game is not either. It is great for the experience and the price its being offered for. Enjoy!

    Insagram: Game_Row
    Expand
  4. Dec 8, 2014
    8
    Ultimately if you enjoy 2d platforming, this is a must have title.
    Two things that I feel need to be mentioned though. Firstly it took me in
    Ultimately if you enjoy 2d platforming, this is a must have title.
    Two things that I feel need to be mentioned though. Firstly it took me in essence 5.5 hours to complete, in other words it felt too short and left me wanting more, before I get hate for this I know games back in the day were shorted due to lack of ability in saving content, but for God sake its too short !
    Secondly if you have no experience of the Duck tales universe the cut scenes can be annoying.
    Part from that I have had a thoroughly enjoyable experience with this game.
    Expand
  5. Aug 25, 2013
    8
    It's a very good game, but a bit buggy, at least for the WiiU. If you go to the scoreboard the 3rd board to the right will crash the WiiU.It's a very good game, but a bit buggy, at least for the WiiU. If you go to the scoreboard the 3rd board to the right will crash the WiiU. Randomly between levels when the screen is supposed to say it's saving it will go black, and lock the system, also will fail to save. None of the crashes have corrupted my saves, but it's frustrating when you beat a level and have to do it again because of the save glitch. The added story to a TV based game that usually had none back in the day is very worth while, and shows how these game should have been done, but couldn't due to a lack of tech. Expand
  6. Aug 19, 2013
    8
    It is a great game, but be ready to feel the ruthlessness of the game design from past generations. And this wasn't considered such a hardIt is a great game, but be ready to feel the ruthlessness of the game design from past generations. And this wasn't considered such a hard title at the time. If you like 2D plataforms, played the snes version or watched the cartoon then nostalgia is going to do the magic, if not, it still deserves a shot. Expand
  7. Oct 19, 2013
    7
    It has no lives like the other versions which is good and bad. It seems too easy without any lives as you just restart at the place you fellIt has no lives like the other versions which is good and bad. It seems too easy without any lives as you just restart at the place you fell off but its good so you don't have to restart the level if you lose all lives. Overall its a good game and the voice actors are from the show which is surprising. Expand

See all 12 User Reviews