Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Dec 4, 2013
    91
    EDGE is truly something special. The game oozes creativity and constantly introduces awesome concepts that keep you entertained.
  2. Dec 10, 2013
    90
    Arguably the pre-eminent puzzle title for the Wii U, don’t let the fact that this is half a decade old put you off. It is a fresh take on a classic game that makes fine use of the hardware.
  3. Nov 29, 2013
    90
    EDGE is a great example of value for money. With over a hundred levels to conquer, plus a familiar ranking system, there is plenty to do to keep players busy.
  4. Nov 21, 2013
    90
    As a simple gaming experience, EDGE comes close to providing the perfect budget download experience.
  5. 80
    It’s addictive and elegant in its simplicity, and the geometric world is bizarrely engaging.
  6. Dec 3, 2013
    78
    This is one of those games perfect for having a break when you're tired of complex games. Lots of contents and a great balance between platforming and puzzle will have you playing for hours.
  7. Dec 12, 2013
    70
    EDGE is a great experience and in this version for Nintendo's home console it keeps its values.
  8. Fall for it and you'll fall hard, but its challenges left our fun glands untickled. [Jan 2014, p.82]
  9. Jan 14, 2014
    60
    Creative levels, an involving soundtrack and a long-lasting experience make Edge a title not to miss. Any flaws Edge might have are quickly overlooked for its sheer quality. A perfect choice for any gamers looking for a puzzle game combining platformer's elements.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. May 10, 2014
    4
    As I played this game I was constantly saying "hey!", "no fair!", "what!" or "come on!"--no other game in recent memory has been quite as annoying. The main problem I have with this game is its control scheme. There are three problems with it, one of which makes sense and two which do not. The first problem is that if you land 75% onto a block that is moving away from you and 25% on empty space, the block will slide out from under you and you will die. This was a frustrating lesson to learn. Secondly, when you are moving and attempt to change direction, the game ignores your input for an unpredictable length of time, as the your cube must *passively* settle onto the ground before it will change direction. This delay got me killed constantly. Simple code changes would fix both of these problems (e.g. for the second problem the cube should actively settle, like a living creature, not wait for gravity). The third problem is that your cube has momentum and therefore may travel farther than you intended; this makes some physical sense so I'll give it a pass. Compensating for the frustration, 'checkpoints' are very frequent. The graphics are extremely simple and the soundtrack is fairly good. The game mainly focuses mainly on timing challenges rather than cerebral challenges. I never quite figured out how the map coloring works (well, it's grayscale, but..) I never saw a list of levels and never knew how many levels existed until I ran out of them. Full Review »
  2. Feb 19, 2014
    7
    I didnt love this game, but for a dollar on sale it was worth it. The sound effects were pretty awesome. I just got a little bored with it. Definitely has value, just not my cup of tea i suppose. Full Review »
  3. Jan 5, 2014
    8
    Simplicity is what makes EDGE a success. There are no enemies, no power-ups, or anything really, other than cubes. Now, if you have an allergy to cubes, stop reading now. You mustn’t buy this game. Everything, and I mean EVERYTHING, is made up of cubes. The easiest way to sum Edge up is to say that it’s a retro 3D platformer in which you control a cube, one that can’t jump, only roll about the grid-like floors. Surprisingly for a game made up of big cubes, the graphics are very good. Set in a blackness that looks like space, the cubes that everything is made up of have a distinct sharpness to them, meaning they really stand out from their background, though Edge does lose some of its graphical fidelity on the gamepad.
    The core gameplay of Edge revolves around controlling your cube, from an isometric camera angle (which is very hard to do at first) around a restricted 3D environment, climbing up walls, timing movement across moving platforms, and climbing and hanging onto walls. As mentioned earlier, you cannot jump and there are no enemies, which sounds like it means innovation is restricted. It’s not.
    The amount of clever ideas Two Tribes have come up with using just blocks and switches to press down is astounding, and it means that level after level, you’ll be hooked. The gameplay gets very challenging, pushing reflexes and the occasional puzzle- solving as well to the limit. It never becomes frustrating however hard it gets because of the frequency of checkpoints and level design is never so hard it’ll make you give up in a puff of rage. It’s a formula VVVVVV could definitely learn a lot from. And for under £2 at time of purchase, Edge has hell of a lot of content. It just keeps on giving, with well over 100 levels. Increasing its replay value are prisms, little collectibles you find a lot of in each level. It’s no big innovation, but as it keeps track of how many you collect per level and grades you depending on your speed and how many you collected, there is definitely an incentive to back and get them all.
    And of course, this is a retro game so it contains retro music. Some of the 8-bit era pieces are catchy, including the main theme tune, but many have no substance and come across as odd, which made me turn the volume off on some levels.
    Where Edge began to falter a little was with its use of the gamepad. I hate it when the gamepad mirrors what is on the TV screen, and sadly that’s what Edge does. I get that it may not always be easy to implement the second screen, but you would never get that on a DS. But when there’s actually a bird’s-eye map of the level in Edge at the top-left hand corner of the screen, wouldn’t it have made sense to put it on the gamepad? It’s small and hard to see on the TV screen, and when there are some challenges that actually force you to look at the map, it seems completely nonsensical not to have put it on the gamepad, especially since that’s one of the main things the gamepad was made for.
    But that’s a mere niggle when you consider how addictive Edge actually is. The Wii U is lucky to have it, and at so cheap a price as well. In a land made of grey blocks, there’s a surprising amount of fun to be had.
    Full Review »