Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Dec 4, 2013
    91
    EDGE is truly something special. The game oozes creativity and constantly introduces awesome concepts that keep you entertained.
  2. Dec 10, 2013
    90
    Arguably the pre-eminent puzzle title for the Wii U, don’t let the fact that this is half a decade old put you off. It is a fresh take on a classic game that makes fine use of the hardware.
  3. Nov 29, 2013
    90
    EDGE is a great example of value for money. With over a hundred levels to conquer, plus a familiar ranking system, there is plenty to do to keep players busy.
  4. Nov 21, 2013
    90
    As a simple gaming experience, EDGE comes close to providing the perfect budget download experience.
  5. 80
    It’s addictive and elegant in its simplicity, and the geometric world is bizarrely engaging.
  6. Dec 3, 2013
    78
    This is one of those games perfect for having a break when you're tired of complex games. Lots of contents and a great balance between platforming and puzzle will have you playing for hours.
  7. Dec 12, 2013
    70
    EDGE is a great experience and in this version for Nintendo's home console it keeps its values.
  8. Fall for it and you'll fall hard, but its challenges left our fun glands untickled. [Jan 2014, p.82]
  9. Jan 14, 2014
    60
    Creative levels, an involving soundtrack and a long-lasting experience make Edge a title not to miss. Any flaws Edge might have are quickly overlooked for its sheer quality. A perfect choice for any gamers looking for a puzzle game combining platformer's elements.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. May 10, 2014
    4
    As I played this game I was constantly saying "hey!", "no fair!", "what!" or "come on!"--no other game in recent memory has been quite asAs I played this game I was constantly saying "hey!", "no fair!", "what!" or "come on!"--no other game in recent memory has been quite as annoying. The main problem I have with this game is its control scheme. There are three problems with it, one of which makes sense and two which do not. The first problem is that if you land 75% onto a block that is moving away from you and 25% on empty space, the block will slide out from under you and you will die. This was a frustrating lesson to learn. Secondly, when you are moving and attempt to change direction, the game ignores your input for an unpredictable length of time, as the your cube must *passively* settle onto the ground before it will change direction. This delay got me killed constantly. Simple code changes would fix both of these problems (e.g. for the second problem the cube should actively settle, like a living creature, not wait for gravity). The third problem is that your cube has momentum and therefore may travel farther than you intended; this makes some physical sense so I'll give it a pass. Compensating for the frustration, 'checkpoints' are very frequent. The graphics are extremely simple and the soundtrack is fairly good. The game mainly focuses mainly on timing challenges rather than cerebral challenges. I never quite figured out how the map coloring works (well, it's grayscale, but..) I never saw a list of levels and never knew how many levels existed until I ran out of them. Full Review »
  2. Nov 13, 2014
    6
    Maybe I should rate it higher for value alone, as it's pretty well done for the price, but I put several hours into this one and never reallyMaybe I should rate it higher for value alone, as it's pretty well done for the price, but I put several hours into this one and never really got hooked. Seems like one of those games that is too easy, but then with parts that are so hard that you just stop trying it to avoid frustration. Full Review »
  3. Feb 19, 2014
    7
    I didnt love this game, but for a dollar on sale it was worth it. The sound effects were pretty awesome. I just got a little bored with it.I didnt love this game, but for a dollar on sale it was worth it. The sound effects were pretty awesome. I just got a little bored with it. Definitely has value, just not my cup of tea i suppose. Full Review »