Edge Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 32 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: EDGE is the third Indie game, after Swords & Soldiers and Frenzic, to be redeveloped and taken to other platforms by Two Tribes. The game now feels right at home on modern PCs and Macs, with super high resolutions and new special effects, while still keeping the retro vibe completely intact.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Dec 4, 2013
    91
    EDGE is truly something special. The game oozes creativity and constantly introduces awesome concepts that keep you entertained.
  2. Nov 29, 2013
    90
    EDGE is a great example of value for money. With over a hundred levels to conquer, plus a familiar ranking system, there is plenty to do to keep players busy.
  3. Dec 10, 2013
    90
    Arguably the pre-eminent puzzle title for the Wii U, don’t let the fact that this is half a decade old put you off. It is a fresh take on a classic game that makes fine use of the hardware.
  4. 80
    It’s addictive and elegant in its simplicity, and the geometric world is bizarrely engaging.
  5. Dec 3, 2013
    78
    This is one of those games perfect for having a break when you're tired of complex games. Lots of contents and a great balance between platforming and puzzle will have you playing for hours.
  6. Dec 12, 2013
    70
    EDGE is a great experience and in this version for Nintendo's home console it keeps its values.
  7. Jan 14, 2014
    60
    Creative levels, an involving soundtrack and a long-lasting experience make Edge a title not to miss. Any flaws Edge might have are quickly overlooked for its sheer quality. A perfect choice for any gamers looking for a puzzle game combining platformer's elements.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Dec 14, 2013
    10
    Edge is absolutely great and reminds me of the good old times with my Commodore 64. The 8-bit Sounds and Music are great, the Game comes with a good learning Curve and it comes with a very good amount of Levels. So the Two-Tribes-Train goes ahead, if you see a Game of them in Store, buy it, it's every Time an Must-Have. Collapse
  2. Nov 28, 2013
    10
    Usually I don't judge a game based on it's price because it doesn't impact the quality but for 3$(and I got it for 1$) this is a must have, The gameplay is simple yet delightful and so is the level design, this is a perfect example of what a casual game can be on the Wii U. Expand
  3. Dec 6, 2013
    9
    El juego es realmente bueno, tiene una gran diversion y su jugabilidad permite repetirlo por varias veces. Ademas el precio es muy economico, uno no se arrepiente de compararlo Expand
  4. Dec 25, 2013
    9
    I picked up EDGE as a gamer who simply loves picking up cheap games. My rash behaviour and over-exuberance caused to feel a little disappointed with it at first. It felt clunky, hard-to-control, and overly minimalistic. But I pressed forward. And I'm so glad that I did. EDGE turns out to be a marvellous game, stretching the mind into new territory that I didn't think was possible given EDGE's type of art design. The music is top-notch 8-bit brilliance, and the gameplay trudges forth with the motto "tough but rewarding" bolded and underlined. EDGE is a short game, no doubt. However, the feature of collecting prisms as you progress adds some much-needed replay-ability for those who love the nit and grit of games such as these. Comparing EDGE to its cubey-brother, RUSH, I noted that my experiences playing both games were quite opposite in nature. That is, when I first started playing RUSH, I felt an instant pull toward it. However, later on, I found it was getting to be a little monotonous. EDGE was the opposite: I started out feeling a bit awkward toward it before the game reeled me in. Hook, line and sinker! Both games are lovely bargains, however, I feel that EDGE has a slight...edge over RUSH because of that lasting impression on me. As a result, EDGE is rewarded a 9 out of 10, one point better than my rating for RUSH. Overall, EDGE is a fantastic game. But its cheapness makes it so much sweeter to own, and more likely to edge into many more living rooms. When an indie developer takes the path with obvious design limits and pulls off something with such vivacity and life, it proves how good the developers at Two Tribes really are. Brilliant! Expand
  5. Jan 5, 2014
    8
    Simplicity is what makes EDGE a success. There are no enemies, no power-ups, or anything really, other than cubes. Now, if you have an allergy to cubes, stop reading now. You mustn’t buy this game. Everything, and I mean EVERYTHING, is made up of cubes. The easiest way to sum Edge up is to say that it’s a retro 3D platformer in which you control a cube, one that can’t jump, only roll about the grid-like floors. Surprisingly for a game made up of big cubes, the graphics are very good. Set in a blackness that looks like space, the cubes that everything is made up of have a distinct sharpness to them, meaning they really stand out from their background, though Edge does lose some of its graphical fidelity on the gamepad.
    The core gameplay of Edge revolves around controlling your cube, from an isometric camera angle (which is very hard to do at first) around a restricted 3D environment, climbing up walls, timing movement across moving platforms, and climbing and hanging onto walls. As mentioned earlier, you cannot jump and there are no enemies, which sounds like it means innovation is restricted. It’s not.
    The amount of clever ideas Two Tribes have come up with using just blocks and switches to press down is astounding, and it means that level after level, you’ll be hooked. The gameplay gets very challenging, pushing reflexes and the occasional puzzle- solving as well to the limit. It never becomes frustrating however hard it gets because of the frequency of checkpoints and level design is never so hard it’ll make you give up in a puff of rage. It’s a formula VVVVVV could definitely learn a lot from. And for under £2 at time of purchase, Edge has hell of a lot of content. It just keeps on giving, with well over 100 levels. Increasing its replay value are prisms, little collectibles you find a lot of in each level. It’s no big innovation, but as it keeps track of how many you collect per level and grades you depending on your speed and how many you collected, there is definitely an incentive to back and get them all.
    And of course, this is a retro game so it contains retro music. Some of the 8-bit era pieces are catchy, including the main theme tune, but many have no substance and come across as odd, which made me turn the volume off on some levels.
    Where Edge began to falter a little was with its use of the gamepad. I hate it when the gamepad mirrors what is on the TV screen, and sadly that’s what Edge does. I get that it may not always be easy to implement the second screen, but you would never get that on a DS. But when there’s actually a bird’s-eye map of the level in Edge at the top-left hand corner of the screen, wouldn’t it have made sense to put it on the gamepad? It’s small and hard to see on the TV screen, and when there are some challenges that actually force you to look at the map, it seems completely nonsensical not to have put it on the gamepad, especially since that’s one of the main things the gamepad was made for.
    But that’s a mere niggle when you consider how addictive Edge actually is. The Wii U is lucky to have it, and at so cheap a price as well. In a land made of grey blocks, there’s a surprising amount of fun to be had.
    Expand
  6. Feb 19, 2014
    7
    I didnt love this game, but for a dollar on sale it was worth it. The sound effects were pretty awesome. I just got a little bored with it. Definitely has value, just not my cup of tea i suppose. Expand