Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Dec 3, 2012
    50
    Funky Barn is very basic but passably entertaining. As a lower-price downloadable game it'd be much better value, but as a $50/£30 Wii U launch title it's more difficult to recommend.
  2. Dec 11, 2012
    53
    At $50, it is not worth a purchase, considering there are better, much less expensive simulation games out there for other platforms. If this was in the $20 – $30 range, it might be a good fit for those that are diehard fans of the genre.
  3. Jan 8, 2013
    55
    It's nice, but not more. It can't hold a candle to the more established series like Harvest Moon, Farmville and all the others. Surprisingly, it's a full priced game, but it's only fun for a few hours.
  4. Dec 10, 2012
    50
    Don't let the incessant trolling of its Miiverse community delude you, as Funky Barn is not an entirely bad game. It's far from pretty, but its simple gameplay is quite addictive while it lasts and it controls well.
  5. 55
    If you want to "get funky" please select a different farm. Funky Barn starts off decent, but a little bit of playing will make you realize that it is a boring game that offers nothing of substance. Unless you are a fan of low quality farming games, I would have to say this is one Wii U title worth skipping
  6. A fun farming sim that suffers at the hands of ridiculous pricing. Only lunatics will hand over 30 notes for this.
  7. Dec 28, 2012
    35
    The targeted demographic often seems to become an excuse for developers to offer little content and oversimplified game mechanics, but any parent that wants to offer something their kids could enjoy on their brand new Wii U should think twice before investing in this title.
  8. Dec 1, 2012
    60
    Funky Barn is addictive, and might keep you playing for a several hours, but it's not satisfying or memorable. That's a characteristic I often associate with mobile and handheld games, the latter of which this game is derived from.
  9. Dec 14, 2012
    40
    For a few half hours here and then it might be okay, but it doesn't offer the social element of FarmVille nor the amount of content or diversity of Harvest Moon.
  10. Dec 1, 2012
    50
    Funky Barn had a lot going for it, and in many ways it works a treat thanks to some smooth controls and the farming element proving to be quite fun. However, when a lot of the processes become automated later on, the enjoyment factor starts to wane considerably. On top of this, despite having some pleasing options, the general amount included does not warrant its high retail price-tag, and it would have been far more palatable had it been a cheaper eShop download.
User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 1 out of 3
  1. Apr 17, 2013
    9
    I enjoyed this game alot. Knowing nintendo products like I do and reading reviews for other systems I knew this wasn't going to be a hard game or very diverse. I would love to see a sequel to this with more options and animals. This game is great to pass the time and it's not very costly. (I only paid $29.99 but im sure you can find it cheaper.) Overall great game. Full Review »
  2. Apr 24, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. its not even funky. I was going into this game expecting to funk myself but it did not even satisfy this. It has a revolutionary story that blew my mind at the end. Although they did sacrifice the funkiness for this. Full Review »
  3. Sep 21, 2013
    3
    I can't make heads or tails of why this game made it onto a Wii U disc and was sealed in a case with an MSRP. This is a game for smartphones with a $1.99 download price. At least, that is what it SHOULD be. What a giant waste of money. Full Review »