Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 102 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: DC heroes and villains do battle in this fighting game from the creators of Mortal Kombat.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Jul 15, 2013
    90
    For fans of superheroes and fans of fighters, this is a very shiny product. With more characters confirmed to be joining the roster, it's only going to get shinier.
  2. 85
    There’s a lot of content here, and I can’t recommend Injustice highly enough for both fighting fans and DC enthusiasts.
  3. May 15, 2013
    82
    Injustice: Gods among us is a rock-solid brawler. The game offers visually impressive fights and detailed character models alongside a substantial single-player campaign and an enjoyable trashy story. The super moves are superbly exaggerated. Only the controls and the very meager multiplayer are minor weaknesses of this beat ‘em up.
  4. Apr 24, 2013
    80
    Whether you’re pummelling your opponent through the core of the Earth as Doomsday or smashing a car over Aquaman’s head, it is very satisfying having so much power in your hands.
  5. Accessible beat-'em-up that puts on a dazzling display. Comic fans will love its use of DC, but shallow gameplay puts this in the 'luxury purchase' bracket.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 31
  2. Negative: 2 out of 31
  1. Apr 19, 2013
    10
    I've played the game and its awesome, but that's not why I'm here. I'm here to warn people of the trolls on here who give bad reviews toI've played the game and its awesome, but that's not why I'm here. I'm here to warn people of the trolls on here who give bad reviews to Nintendo games. These people don't own a wii u and I personally no one of these morons. Expand
  2. Jul 30, 2014
    10
    Wii U + Superman, Wonderwoman, and the rest of the DC lineup + You = Awesome :P I would say 'nough said at this point but for some sillyWii U + Superman, Wonderwoman, and the rest of the DC lineup + You = Awesome :P I would say 'nough said at this point but for some silly reason they want 150 chars in a review. But honestly this is a must get for and DC comics and / or Wii U fans. Expand
  3. Apr 18, 2013
    10
    I love this game. It's one of the few relevant games out for the Wii U now. I have played multiple fighters in detail and must say this oneI love this game. It's one of the few relevant games out for the Wii U now. I have played multiple fighters in detail and must say this one has a lot to offer. If you have never owned or played a fighter TRY IT. A little practice and research goes a long way when honing your skills. The story was kind of short so I recommend pacing yourself. The STAR labs mode is extremely extensive and thankfully, challenging. There are lots of unlockables including character costumes to earn via leveling up. My roommate bought it for the Xbox 360 and there are no noticeable differences (graphics may be better for Wii U) save that the Xbox has downloadable content. I believe this dlc will come to the Wii U eventually via some sort of store in the system menu. Playing on the game pad is fun with headphones, and the display can be changed to a move list if you prefer. I highly recommend getting a pro controller though, as it is better for playing on the tv screen. Plus, it's a superhero game, who doesn't like that? Expand
  4. Aug 19, 2013
    9
    I've been wanting to get smitten with Superman vs. Batman. And then I finally got it. MK tweaked mechanics and balance Company now (yes, it isI've been wanting to get smitten with Superman vs. Batman. And then I finally got it. MK tweaked mechanics and balance Company now (yes, it is realistic to defeat Aquaman even Superman. If you have a skill course) In addition to support for pro controller, the game supports the Wiimote is very nice (just and offtv) Expand
  5. Jan 10, 2015
    9
    This is the only fighter I've played outside the Super Smash Bros. series and I was surprised by how good the quality was! It's not everydayThis is the only fighter I've played outside the Super Smash Bros. series and I was surprised by how good the quality was! It's not everyday you get a great third-party Wii U game.

    The character lineup is stellar. There is a bit of over-representation from the Batman series but otherwise, it's pretty balanced. It's nice to see characters like Green Arrow, Cyborg, and Doomsday make an appearance as they are kind of unappreciated characters in the DC universe. All of the characters have Super Moves which can be charged up depending on damage and hits. Unlike Final Smashes, all of the Super Moves aren't great. Harley Quinn's is easily the worst in the game but Ares' is the best, in my opinion.

    The fighting in the game is more complicated than in Smash Bros. The button combinations are a bit too much. It's pretty difficult to master them especially when you have to rapidly tap them in some instances. The stage selection is complete with dark stages like Gotham City and relatively bright stages like Themyscira. In most of the stages, there are stage transitions. These transitions bring you from one location to the next. For example, in Metropolis, you'll be fighting on the rooftops and then you'll be blasted into LexCorp headquarters. It's really unique and a fresh change of pace.

    The story mode in the game doesn't have that much plot twists and can be a bit confusing the first time around but if you understand it well, the story is very engaging. The mode itself is fun and never gets old. It's split into twelve chapters with each chapter focusing on a specific character. It gives each hero or villain a true chance to shine and it's much appreciated.

    The other main mode in the game is called S.T.A.R. Labs. S.T.A.R. Labs is a series of stories with every single playable character in the game having their own. The stories in this mode are pretty...bad to say the least. If I don't dismiss S.T.A.R. Labs as a simple side mode and regard it as a main mode, then trust me, the score would be a lot lower.

    Overall, Injustice: Gods Among Us is a surprisingly solid third-party Wii U game with great gameplay and replayability as well as a fun story mode. It may not have all the DLC the other ones got but it's still worth getting.
    Expand
  6. Feb 25, 2014
    9
    This game has no OP characters, which is a major problem in a lot of fighting games, so I was glad to see a great game with no OP charactersThis game has no OP characters, which is a major problem in a lot of fighting games, so I was glad to see a great game with no OP characters or cheap moves. However, Superman does have one cheap move that can be spammed to win the match which can be annoying, so if you have a friend you don't trust, don't let them play as Superman. The story is ok, and I found myself skipping all the cutscenes, but thats not what you expect from a fighting game anyway. Warner Bros were very kind in actually putting online AND DLC in a Wii U title. Expand
  7. Apr 18, 2013
    0
    Great game, but not for WiiU. Clearly it has been developed for 360/PS3, and this version is a bad porting. Low frame rate and collision bugsGreat game, but not for WiiU. Clearly it has been developed for 360/PS3, and this version is a bad porting. Low frame rate and collision bugs are not rare Expand

See all 31 User Reviews