Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 66 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 66
  2. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. Mar 20, 2013
    100
    This is another rare game that’s far too good to be trapped on a Nintendo system.
  2. 95
    Everything from the tried and true LEGO gameplay sprinkled with some great new additions, a comedic script, and an entertaining storyline provides a gaming experience suitable for all ages which, in my eyes, makes LEGO City Undercover a must buy for fans of the LEGO franchise and Wii U owners alike.
  3. Mar 17, 2013
    91
    This is a great approach to the GTA concept, with extremely fun and different missions, and a wise use of the GamePad functions. If you really like the genre, you shouldn't miss this opportunity.
  4. Apr 23, 2013
    90
    This is the best Lego game so far, with TT Fusion pushing away from licensed franchise tomfoolery into completely new territory. Will we see more Chase McCain and other original ideas in the future? I hope so.
  5. Mar 25, 2013
    90
    A very funny script is the basis for one of Wii U's most interesting games.
  6. A lovingly crafted, laugh-a-minute, gem-packed open world LEGO game, the likes of which we've never seen before, but have always wanted. [Apr 2013, p.74]
  7. Mar 22, 2013
    90
    It's been a while since I have laughed this hard at and with a game. From the light-hearted start to the furious finale, I spent 80 percent of LEGO City Undercover either with a smile on my lips or a big laugh in my throat. In many ways, there not being a second license on top of the LEGO brand seems to have freed up a lot of the humor that was previously untouched upon, in spite of the other LEGO games being pretty funny in their own right. But here, instead of taking on just one or a couple of films as a basis, TT Fusion just did whatever they felt like. Sometimes dryly humorous, sometimes more absurd, sometimes just incredible even – this is pure bliss on a disc.
  8. 90
    Telltale delivers a great sandbox with a charming story. There is enough here to make adults giggle and kids run amok. It is truly amazing how much of a fan service this is to fans of LEGO. A lacking multiplayer is the worst omission, and even with this in mind, this is easily one of TT’s best LEGO games ever. There is tons of collectibles (with some great references and cross promotion of actual LEGO sets). A must have for Wii U owners and a great game on its own.
  9. Mar 15, 2013
    90
    Simply put, LEGO City Undercover is a blast to play. It's funny, challenging, and features tons of extra content that'll keep you busy for hours. Sure, it's got a few minor quibbles here and there but it's hard to dwell on them when everything else is so enjoyable.
  10. Mar 14, 2013
    90
    I’m having a hard time remembering the last time I had this much pure, unmitigated fun just playing, period.
  11. Mar 14, 2013
    90
    Children deserve massive, explorable worlds just as much as adults. It’s wonderful that TT Fusion took that concept and made a fully functioning and largely non-violent world without sacrificing action. You won’t miss firing guns or swinging lightsabers in Lego City — not when you’re scouring the landscape for super builds and smashing everything in sight.
  12. Mar 14, 2013
    90
    Lego City Undercover is a surprise you don't want to miss. Smart use of the GamePad, a colorful sandbox world teeming with things to do and a clever, humorous story make this one of the best reasons to own a Wii U.
  13. Mar 14, 2013
    90
    Four months is a long time to wait for a game – especially when you’ve just picked up a new console with nothing else to play – but the wait was worth it. Just like the all-ages appeal of LEGO bricks and sets, LEGO City Undercover effortlessly rises above its station, representing the culmination of every LEGO game that came before it.
  14. Mar 14, 2013
    90
    Despite the sheer volume of collecting in front of players, Lego City Undercover's genuine humor, open and expanded gameplay, and lovable characters immediately engage the player and never let go. Even after Rex Fury is behind bars, rebuilding LEGO City (and tearing it down again in your car) will never get old.
  15. I’m glad I can still enjoy games like this. I love aggressive and gritty adventures as much the next guy, but being able to laugh at silly cartoon characters while figuring out addictive and clever puzzles assures me that I haven’t completely become a crotchety old cynic.
  16. Mar 14, 2013
    90
    As one of the highlights in the Nintendo Wii U software library to date, LEGO City Undercover blends together a large, compelling open world to explore with fun, suitably cheesy action sequences that can appeal to both young and old.
  17. Mar 13, 2013
    90
    Lego City Undercover nails the best aspects of open world games in its own way, and with the inclusion of Lego building mechanics, it feels enough like its own thing rather than a sanitized version of an existing thing.
  18. Mar 13, 2013
    90
    Lego City Undercover isn't ceaselessly brilliant - open-world games seldom are - but it's a fantastic example of what makes Traveller's Tales and TT Fusion such special developers, and the worst I can say is that it's occasionally only fun. And you know what? I'll take that wherever I can find it.
  19. Apr 10, 2013
    89
    Its humour may be slightly weak and unlocks spread far and wide, but LEGO City Undercover is a thoroughly enjoyable and refreshingly innocent open-world game.
  20. Mar 27, 2013
    88
    The best Lego videogame ever made. This game isn't only a big evolution of the Traveller's Tales gameplay formula, it's also a great sandbox experience with more than 20 hours of gameplay. A must-have for Wii U owners.
  21. May 13, 2013
    85
    Lego City: Undercover brings legos to GTA style open world. I just miss co-op from the previous lego games and my kids didn't understand long loading times. They thought game dowloaded something from the net. [May 2013]
  22. Apr 9, 2013
    85
    If you were still waiting for a reason to buy a Wii U, this is it. LEGO City Undercover is an amazing game that fits perfectly on Nintendo's newest console.
  23. Mar 28, 2013
    85
    It takes the traits of what made the Travellers' Tales LEGO games so well loved in the first place, such as the good-natured humor, and it does so without a license as a crutch. The story is good, but it is the multitude of activities that really makes this title shine and gives you plenty of reasons to explore every nook and cranny after Rex Fury is behind bars once again.
  24. Mar 19, 2013
    85
    Under a cover of GTA free roam mechanics you can find a Wii U exclusive that tries its best to realize children’s dreams of a whole LEGO City to play with, guided by a lovely main story which slowly builds up all its hilarious parody lines and gameplay pieces. Some fits still need work, but the construction seems already quite solid.
  25. At some point — I can’t say exactly when — my interactions with the GamePad screen became natural and intuitive, an organic part of the game that I didn’t find myself consciously thinking about. It just felt normal and fun. This is a crucial step forward in changing players’ perception of the GamePad from novel gizmo to worthwhile, game-enhancing peripheral.
  26. Mar 14, 2013
    85
    It isn’t perfect, but I can’t think of another Wii U game that I’d recommend more than Lego City Undercover. It’s the most interesting and highly polished game in TT Games’ large repertoire, and it fills an important game gap. Now kids (and their parents) can tool around in a big town where people smile even as you almost run them over in an ice-cream truck.
  27. Mar 16, 2013
    84
    While the omission of co-op play in this outing is an unexpected disappointment, Lego City Undercover is the best game in the series so far. It's consistently fun and surprising, offering the freedom of a great open-world game without all the guilt.
  28. Apr 10, 2013
    82
    One of the funniest games ever, though it does have a couple of rough edges. [May 2013, p.74]
  29. Mar 20, 2013
    82
    LEGO City: Undercover is a fascinating adventure that even though it stays close to the franchise roots, it also takes a different approach with its own identity and charming originality. Infused with clever jokes, brilliant puzzles and excellent narrative, it doesn't need far away galaxies nor Middle Earth myths in order to bring pure fun.
  30. Apr 21, 2013
    80
    The Wii U needs more games like Lego City Undercover. Is far from being a revolution or be remembered as a classic, but is guaranteed to give many hours of fun to those who give it a chance.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 220 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 41
  2. Negative: 2 out of 41
  1. Mar 18, 2013
    10
    This is simply a new beginning for open-world games. Its not only the most innovative wii u game so far, its also the best lego game ever. What we have here is an instant classic. It features a memorably funny story with impressive voice acting. The graphics are great considering that this lego game is an open-world experience. The wii u gamepad truly feels like a tool that enhances the experience. If this game actually does end up on the 360 and ps3, it probably won't have the unique features of the gamepad. The point is....GO BUY IT! Full Review »
  2. Mar 18, 2013
    10
    This Game is Awesome, finally a Lego "SandBox'' maybe it doesnt have the graphics of GTA or a Serious Story, but its Pretty Fun, it have one of the funniest scrips ever and it is totally worth your Money, and because its a lego Game it have a LOT OF COLLECTIBLES, a wii u most have. Full Review »
  3. Mar 22, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing! My 8 year old son loves it and the very few times he has let me play, I have loved it as well! This is his new favorite game. He has a very short attention span, but has had no problem keeping his attention on this game for hours at a time! Full Review »