LEGO City Undercover Wii U

LEGO City Undercover Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 66 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 302 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Take on the role of Chase McCain, an undercover detective armed with clever disguises. Your mission is to stifle the dastardly Rex Fury and end his crime wave in LEGO City. As players run, drive and fly through the city, they’ll use the Wii U GamePad controller as a new law enforcementTake on the role of Chase McCain, an undercover detective armed with clever disguises. Your mission is to stifle the dastardly Rex Fury and end his crime wave in LEGO City. As players run, drive and fly through the city, they’ll use the Wii U GamePad controller as a new law enforcement gadget. [Nintendo] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 66
  2. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. Mar 20, 2013
    100
    This is another rare game that’s far too good to be trapped on a Nintendo system.
  2. Mar 13, 2013
    90
    Lego City Undercover nails the best aspects of open world games in its own way, and with the inclusion of Lego building mechanics, it feels enough like its own thing rather than a sanitized version of an existing thing.
  3. Mar 15, 2013
    90
    Simply put, LEGO City Undercover is a blast to play. It's funny, challenging, and features tons of extra content that'll keep you busy for hours. Sure, it's got a few minor quibbles here and there but it's hard to dwell on them when everything else is so enjoyable.
  4. Mar 17, 2013
    80
    Ultimately, there are more reasons to praise and play LCU than not, especially for Wii U owners looking for something new and exclusive that doesn't involve a Nintendo icon.
  5. Mar 29, 2013
    80
    A hugely enjoyable open-world adventure which shouldn't fail to raise a smile. It would be criminal to ignore it.
  6. Mar 22, 2013
    77
    For the first time since Bionicle Heroes Traveller’s Tales didn’t have to stick to an external license, but could let their fantasy run wild in an open world. The result is a little shallow in terms of mechanics, but makes up for it with bucket loads of humor in the tradition of the early Zucker/Abrahams spoofs.
  7. Mar 13, 2013
    50
    But for parents and adults, Undercover is a less inviting prospect, even with its satirical undertone. It’s a plastic facsimile of GTA – a game that was hardly humourless to begin with, and one that has already spawned a genre’s worth of more sophisticated rivals and clones.

See all 66 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 55
  2. Negative: 1 out of 55
  1. Mar 18, 2013
    10
    This is simply a new beginning for open-world games. Its not only the most innovative wii u game so far, its also the best lego game ever.This is simply a new beginning for open-world games. Its not only the most innovative wii u game so far, its also the best lego game ever. What we have here is an instant classic. It features a memorably funny story with impressive voice acting. The graphics are great considering that this lego game is an open-world experience. The wii u gamepad truly feels like a tool that enhances the experience. If this game actually does end up on the 360 and ps3, it probably won't have the unique features of the gamepad. The point is....GO BUY IT! Expand
  2. May 16, 2016
    10
    This is an incredible game. I had played other Lego games, but none of them was as good as this one, at all. The story is good and theThis is an incredible game. I had played other Lego games, but none of them was as good as this one, at all. The story is good and the charisma of the main character is excellent. I'll give it a 10 because people don't realise what a good game this is just because it's Lego. Expand
  3. Mar 22, 2013
    10
    This is an amazing game. Played with my Wife and 4 year old boy last night for hours. The use of the Wii U tablet is great. Best Lego gameThis is an amazing game. Played with my Wife and 4 year old boy last night for hours. The use of the Wii U tablet is great. Best Lego game ever and the boy has them all. Expand
  4. Sep 12, 2013
    9
    I wasn't excited about this game but I decided to give it a shot based on all the positive reviews I read. Game and story are amazing. It isI wasn't excited about this game but I decided to give it a shot based on all the positive reviews I read. Game and story are amazing. It is funny and entertaining! Exploring the city is so much fun! I had to knock off 1 point for the relatively long load times between scenes. The load times aren't too bad; they have taken around a minute though and at this day and age they should be quicker. But then again, sometimes loading all the world can be a lot of data being loaded but either way I deducted a point. Great game either way. Expand
  5. May 5, 2013
    9
    A wonderful game that will delight both young and old. Surprisingly good animations, colorful graphics and with a charming story full ofA wonderful game that will delight both young and old. Surprisingly good animations, colorful graphics and with a charming story full of humor. Highly recommended! Expand
  6. Jan 11, 2015
    9
    LEGO City Undercover is easily the best in the LEGO series and it's made even better with the many uses of the Wii U GamePad.

    The story is
    LEGO City Undercover is easily the best in the LEGO series and it's made even better with the many uses of the Wii U GamePad.

    The story is surprisingly great and there's even a plot twist, even if it isn't that surprising. It keeps you engaged the entire time. As with most games, the main focus in the gameplay and Undercover has the best gameplay in the puzzle-action LEGO series yet. The big emphasis on the Wii U GamePad provides fresh gameplay. You can scan criminals, listen to conversations, use a map, and much more with the GamePad.

    LEGO City Undercover has a huge open world and it'll possibly have the biggest open world in LEGO games for years to come. It's extremely fun to explore with vehicles and airplanes alike. It really brings a sort-of Grand Theft Auto feel to the game, which isn't bad by any means. The only truly bad thing about the open world is that you can't explore it with a friend.

    Like with all LEGO games, there's a ton of replayability since there's so much to see and collect. Character tokens make a return as well as Gold Bricks and there's more than ever! Red bricks can be bought at the police station and they can give you special abilities. Speaking of special abilities, disguises play a huge role in the game. You can become a robber and use a crowbar, become a firefighter to put out fires, or become a miner and place dynamite in specific areas.

    Overall, LEGO City Undercover is a fantastic game and it's the first must-buy in the Wii U library. The GamePad is used greatly, there's a huge open world, and there's so much to see and do!
    Expand
  7. Jun 30, 2013
    2
    Load times are brutal. They are VERY long and quite frequent.

    The game seems to be mostly built around a 'story', so I was left watching a
    Load times are brutal. They are VERY long and quite frequent.

    The game seems to be mostly built around a 'story', so I was left watching a good portion of the game while these little lego people made jokes and wise cracks, we're talking puns and trip-falls. Entire cut scenes will take place where you just walk into an elevator or something will happen that will be completely irrelevant to the plot. You spend the whole game just following around beacons and icons, making the story completely irrelevant.

    The game starts with EVERY element locked, even the ability to use your gamepad properly. You HAVE to play through the very boring and monotonous story.

    The gamepad is used well, I'll give it that. You get calls, and the audio and video come out of the pad (but go to the TV if you have your gamepad turned down really good work on that one developers).

    All and all this game is trivial easy and clearly written for the maturity and complexity level of children. If you have kids, this game might just be one of the better experiences out there, but we're talking very young children. Adolescents are not going this game interesting.
    Expand

See all 55 User Reviews