Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 66 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 216 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Take on the role of Chase McCain, an undercover detective armed with clever disguises. Your mission is to stifle the dastardly Rex Fury and end his crime wave in LEGO City. As players run, drive and fly through the city, they’ll use the Wii U GamePad controller as a new law enforcement gadget. [Nintendo] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 66
  2. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. Mar 20, 2013
    100
    This is another rare game that’s far too good to be trapped on a Nintendo system.
  2. Mar 13, 2013
    90
    Lego City Undercover nails the best aspects of open world games in its own way, and with the inclusion of Lego building mechanics, it feels enough like its own thing rather than a sanitized version of an existing thing.
  3. Mar 15, 2013
    90
    Simply put, LEGO City Undercover is a blast to play. It's funny, challenging, and features tons of extra content that'll keep you busy for hours. Sure, it's got a few minor quibbles here and there but it's hard to dwell on them when everything else is so enjoyable.
  4. Mar 17, 2013
    80
    Ultimately, there are more reasons to praise and play LCU than not, especially for Wii U owners looking for something new and exclusive that doesn't involve a Nintendo icon.
  5. Mar 29, 2013
    80
    A hugely enjoyable open-world adventure which shouldn't fail to raise a smile. It would be criminal to ignore it.
  6. Mar 22, 2013
    77
    For the first time since Bionicle Heroes Traveller’s Tales didn’t have to stick to an external license, but could let their fantasy run wild in an open world. The result is a little shallow in terms of mechanics, but makes up for it with bucket loads of humor in the tradition of the early Zucker/Abrahams spoofs.
  7. Mar 13, 2013
    50
    But for parents and adults, Undercover is a less inviting prospect, even with its satirical undertone. It’s a plastic facsimile of GTA – a game that was hardly humourless to begin with, and one that has already spawned a genre’s worth of more sophisticated rivals and clones.

See all 66 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 40
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 40
  3. Negative: 2 out of 40
  1. Mar 18, 2013
    10
    This is simply a new beginning for open-world games. Its not only the most innovative wii u game so far, its also the best lego game ever. What we have here is an instant classic. It features a memorably funny story with impressive voice acting. The graphics are great considering that this lego game is an open-world experience. The wii u gamepad truly feels like a tool that enhances the experience. If this game actually does end up on the 360 and ps3, it probably won't have the unique features of the gamepad. The point is....GO BUY IT! Collapse
  2. May 13, 2013
    10
    A masterpiece for children, and very enjoyable for adults also, if they can adjust to a game which prioritizes the sheer joy of exploration (lots and lots of collectibles) and relatively easy challenges over frustrating the player with difficult tasks. A metascore of 80 is possibly correct if you are an older, experienced player and is buying this for yourself it is very easy, even if collecting everything will take a long time. If you, however, rate this title with children in mind, it easily deserves 90-100. My children (5 and 7) have played this nonstop for many weeks, and love it. As a parent, the simple controls, easy tasks and low violence means that they can play it unsupervised and enjoy it. I would reccomend every parent with a Wii U to buy this. Expand
  3. Apr 4, 2013
    10
    Hands-down the best LEGO game ever. It's a "sandbox" game at its finest. There's a lot to do in LEGO City, tons of collectibles to get and some cool Nintendo related easter eggs to discover. The story is well written. Characters are funny with each having their own personalities. One of the most Impressive voice acting I heard in a game. The Wii U Gamepad is used very well, adding unique experience that can be acquired only by playing the U. Go buy this wonderful game. It's worth your money and time. Kudos to the team behind this game. We want more! Expand
  4. Oct 19, 2013
    9
    The first Lego sandbox game and boy is it good. Great voice acting, Great use of the game pad, Great music and tons of replay-ability. I'd say that the only thing bad about it is long loading times but other than that it's a definite must buy. Expand
  5. May 8, 2013
    9
    Es un gran juego. Mucha diversión, mucha exploración, y un sin fin de horas de diversión. Un gran juego que al estilo GTA, que a primeras impresiones, puede ser malo, pero que una vez que juegas, te engancha. Expand
  6. Mar 25, 2013
    9
    Great game, took a while for my 5yr old son to get the controls right but he seems ok with it now....
    I like the game but i feel there is
    something missing, i just cant put my finger on it.
    But all in all its great for the lil ones and a must for lego fans
    Expand
  7. Jun 30, 2013
    2
    Load times are brutal. They are VERY long and quite frequent.

    The game seems to be mostly built around a 'story', so I was left watching a
    good portion of the game while these little lego people made jokes and wise cracks, we're talking puns and trip-falls. Entire cut scenes will take place where you just walk into an elevator or something will happen that will be completely irrelevant to the plot. You spend the whole game just following around beacons and icons, making the story completely irrelevant.

    The game starts with EVERY element locked, even the ability to use your gamepad properly. You HAVE to play through the very boring and monotonous story.

    The gamepad is used well, I'll give it that. You get calls, and the audio and video come out of the pad (but go to the TV if you have your gamepad turned down really good work on that one developers).

    All and all this game is trivial easy and clearly written for the maturity and complexity level of children. If you have kids, this game might just be one of the better experiences out there, but we're talking very young children. Adolescents are not going this game interesting.
    Expand

See all 40 User Reviews