Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 66 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 234 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Take on the role of Chase McCain, an undercover detective armed with clever disguises. Your mission is to stifle the dastardly Rex Fury and end his crime wave in LEGO City. As players run, drive and fly through the city, they’ll use the Wii U GamePad controller as a new law enforcementTake on the role of Chase McCain, an undercover detective armed with clever disguises. Your mission is to stifle the dastardly Rex Fury and end his crime wave in LEGO City. As players run, drive and fly through the city, they’ll use the Wii U GamePad controller as a new law enforcement gadget. [Nintendo] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 66
  2. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. Mar 20, 2013
    100
    This is another rare game that’s far too good to be trapped on a Nintendo system.
  2. Mar 13, 2013
    90
    Lego City Undercover nails the best aspects of open world games in its own way, and with the inclusion of Lego building mechanics, it feels enough like its own thing rather than a sanitized version of an existing thing.
  3. Mar 15, 2013
    90
    Simply put, LEGO City Undercover is a blast to play. It's funny, challenging, and features tons of extra content that'll keep you busy for hours. Sure, it's got a few minor quibbles here and there but it's hard to dwell on them when everything else is so enjoyable.
  4. Mar 17, 2013
    80
    Ultimately, there are more reasons to praise and play LCU than not, especially for Wii U owners looking for something new and exclusive that doesn't involve a Nintendo icon.
  5. Mar 29, 2013
    80
    A hugely enjoyable open-world adventure which shouldn't fail to raise a smile. It would be criminal to ignore it.
  6. Mar 22, 2013
    77
    For the first time since Bionicle Heroes Traveller’s Tales didn’t have to stick to an external license, but could let their fantasy run wild in an open world. The result is a little shallow in terms of mechanics, but makes up for it with bucket loads of humor in the tradition of the early Zucker/Abrahams spoofs.
  7. Mar 13, 2013
    50
    But for parents and adults, Undercover is a less inviting prospect, even with its satirical undertone. It’s a plastic facsimile of GTA – a game that was hardly humourless to begin with, and one that has already spawned a genre’s worth of more sophisticated rivals and clones.

See all 66 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 41
  2. Negative: 2 out of 41
  1. Mar 18, 2013
    10
    This is simply a new beginning for open-world games. Its not only the most innovative wii u game so far, its also the best lego game ever.This is simply a new beginning for open-world games. Its not only the most innovative wii u game so far, its also the best lego game ever. What we have here is an instant classic. It features a memorably funny story with impressive voice acting. The graphics are great considering that this lego game is an open-world experience. The wii u gamepad truly feels like a tool that enhances the experience. If this game actually does end up on the 360 and ps3, it probably won't have the unique features of the gamepad. The point is....GO BUY IT! Expand
  2. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    I bought this game for my 5 year old kid. And wow, what does he like this game. But the game is not for kids only. I like it as much as heI bought this game for my 5 year old kid. And wow, what does he like this game. But the game is not for kids only. I like it as much as he does. The game has it all. Good gameplay, nice atmosphere, free roaming city and funny cutscenes. There is just so many things to do. The gameplay is quit easy but still challenging enough to not to get bored. For example, if you are following the main story line and decide to do something else for a while, you can explore the city and look for hidden roads that lead you ontop of rooftops and all kind of hidden passages. There you will find secrets that unlock for example new characters and other great stuff. You can visit stores and buy all kinds of things from your collected money etc. etc. etc. A lot to do!!

    Its by far the best lego game out there. This game is a perfect fit for the Wii U. It uses the Wii U gamepad on a nice and funny way too. The whole game feels very polished and is therefore worth the money.

    If you like you can follow the main story line, but there is so much to do becides the standard story line. Lots of secrets and bonuses to explore with even sometimes funny references to the mario francise.

    If you are looking for a game with a nice atmosphere, great gameplay, funny cutscenes and a game that can be played by all ages. Than this game is an instant buy for the Wii U system. There is no better lego city game available.

    I give this a ten out of ten because its such a nice and polished game. I also give it a ten out of ten because i think its the best game for the Wii U system at this moment. Maybe there are better games if you compare it with all the games out there (for all machines), but for a game that can be played by all ages its just the best out there.
    Expand
  3. Mar 22, 2013
    10
    This is an amazing game. Played with my Wife and 4 year old boy last night for hours. The use of the Wii U tablet is great. Best Lego gameThis is an amazing game. Played with my Wife and 4 year old boy last night for hours. The use of the Wii U tablet is great. Best Lego game ever and the boy has them all. Expand
  4. Aug 25, 2013
    9
    Lego City Undercover still got the fun but exactly a great open world lego game I've ever imagined. Still the best lego game yet! The gameplayLego City Undercover still got the fun but exactly a great open world lego game I've ever imagined. Still the best lego game yet! The gameplay is still good, the graphics are amazing. Expand
  5. May 5, 2013
    9
    A wonderful game that will delight both young and old. Surprisingly good animations, colorful graphics and with a charming story full ofA wonderful game that will delight both young and old. Surprisingly good animations, colorful graphics and with a charming story full of humor. Highly recommended! Expand
  6. Nov 29, 2013
    9
    This has really improved onto LEGO games. They used to be just about a movie or series of movies, with less stuff to do and whatnot. This gameThis has really improved onto LEGO games. They used to be just about a movie or series of movies, with less stuff to do and whatnot. This game not only improves graphics, but also adds a hilarious and interesting story. Expand
  7. Jun 30, 2013
    2
    Load times are brutal. They are VERY long and quite frequent.

    The game seems to be mostly built around a 'story', so I was left watching a
    Load times are brutal. They are VERY long and quite frequent.

    The game seems to be mostly built around a 'story', so I was left watching a good portion of the game while these little lego people made jokes and wise cracks, we're talking puns and trip-falls. Entire cut scenes will take place where you just walk into an elevator or something will happen that will be completely irrelevant to the plot. You spend the whole game just following around beacons and icons, making the story completely irrelevant.

    The game starts with EVERY element locked, even the ability to use your gamepad properly. You HAVE to play through the very boring and monotonous story.

    The gamepad is used well, I'll give it that. You get calls, and the audio and video come out of the pad (but go to the TV if you have your gamepad turned down really good work on that one developers).

    All and all this game is trivial easy and clearly written for the maturity and complexity level of children. If you have kids, this game might just be one of the better experiences out there, but we're talking very young children. Adolescents are not going this game interesting.
    Expand

See all 41 User Reviews