LEGO City Undercover Wii U

LEGO City Undercover Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 66 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 266 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Take on the role of Chase McCain, an undercover detective armed with clever disguises. Your mission is to stifle the dastardly Rex Fury and end his crime wave in LEGO City. As players run, drive and fly through the city, they’ll use the Wii U GamePad controller as a new law enforcementTake on the role of Chase McCain, an undercover detective armed with clever disguises. Your mission is to stifle the dastardly Rex Fury and end his crime wave in LEGO City. As players run, drive and fly through the city, they’ll use the Wii U GamePad controller as a new law enforcement gadget. [Nintendo] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 66
  2. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. Mar 20, 2013
    100
    This is another rare game that’s far too good to be trapped on a Nintendo system.
  2. Mar 13, 2013
    90
    Lego City Undercover nails the best aspects of open world games in its own way, and with the inclusion of Lego building mechanics, it feels enough like its own thing rather than a sanitized version of an existing thing.
  3. Mar 15, 2013
    90
    Simply put, LEGO City Undercover is a blast to play. It's funny, challenging, and features tons of extra content that'll keep you busy for hours. Sure, it's got a few minor quibbles here and there but it's hard to dwell on them when everything else is so enjoyable.
  4. Mar 17, 2013
    80
    Ultimately, there are more reasons to praise and play LCU than not, especially for Wii U owners looking for something new and exclusive that doesn't involve a Nintendo icon.
  5. Mar 29, 2013
    80
    A hugely enjoyable open-world adventure which shouldn't fail to raise a smile. It would be criminal to ignore it.
  6. Mar 22, 2013
    77
    For the first time since Bionicle Heroes Traveller’s Tales didn’t have to stick to an external license, but could let their fantasy run wild in an open world. The result is a little shallow in terms of mechanics, but makes up for it with bucket loads of humor in the tradition of the early Zucker/Abrahams spoofs.
  7. Mar 13, 2013
    50
    But for parents and adults, Undercover is a less inviting prospect, even with its satirical undertone. It’s a plastic facsimile of GTA – a game that was hardly humourless to begin with, and one that has already spawned a genre’s worth of more sophisticated rivals and clones.

See all 66 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 49
  2. Negative: 2 out of 49
  1. Mar 18, 2013
    10
    This is simply a new beginning for open-world games. Its not only the most innovative wii u game so far, its also the best lego game ever.This is simply a new beginning for open-world games. Its not only the most innovative wii u game so far, its also the best lego game ever. What we have here is an instant classic. It features a memorably funny story with impressive voice acting. The graphics are great considering that this lego game is an open-world experience. The wii u gamepad truly feels like a tool that enhances the experience. If this game actually does end up on the 360 and ps3, it probably won't have the unique features of the gamepad. The point is....GO BUY IT! Expand
  2. Oct 2, 2015
    10
    Excelente juego de mundo abierto, un sandbox para todas las edades... ademas de ser muy muy divertido, ningun videojuego me ha hecho reirExcelente juego de mundo abierto, un sandbox para todas las edades... ademas de ser muy muy divertido, ningun videojuego me ha hecho reir tanto como este juego. Altamente recomendado. Incluso despues de pasarlo querras seguir jugando pues es divertido hasta conseguir todos los logros. El final es espectacular. y divertido. :) Expand
  3. Jul 9, 2013
    10
    Previous Lego games have failed to excite me much, for a simple reason: if I'm gonna play a Harry Potter game, for example, I want it to bePrevious Lego games have failed to excite me much, for a simple reason: if I'm gonna play a Harry Potter game, for example, I want it to be Harry Potter, not Lego. Same goes for Indiana Jones, Batman, Star Wars. Yes, the Lego twist is often adorable, but the games end up feeling more like harmless diversions than memorable experiences.

    Lego City Undercover changes this panorama drastically by focusing on an original open world with original characters. As undercover cop Chase McCain, you'll embark on a journey that might just be (and I don't say this lightly) the funniest game I've ever played. The story is a tongue-in-cheek homage to cop movies, filled with light-hearted jabs at every single cliché we've come to expect from them. The hilarious character roster is beyond adorable, easily having what it takes to develop into a whole new franchise on its own right.

    The gameplay strikes a balance that is rare to see: while the main storyline is very straightforward, and should be perfect even for novice gamers, it hides a much deeper experience that will hook even the most seasoned players. That's because of the ridiculously huge number of game-changing collectibles, which include new vehicles, new disguises, and new power-ups for the gamepad's item-finding radar (which in turn helps you keep finding the remaining collectibles). Getting 100% in every borough of the city is going to be a daunting task, but an extremely fun one.

    The one significant flaw in the game are the long loading times, which can sometimes ruin the sense of immersion. The good news is that, as the exploration mostly takes place in a single vast open world, those loading screens will be few and far between. It's still annoying, but the positive aspects of the game more than make up for it.

    To sum it up: Lego City Undercover is an experience that is perfectly suited for all ages. It's like watching your favorite comedy animated series while partaking in a thrilling scavenging hunt, exploring a vast open-world city made of Legos. If you own a Wii U, do yourself a favor and go after this masterpiece. If you don't, let me tell you: this is the rare kind of game you should buy a new platform for.
    Expand
  4. Aug 25, 2013
    9
    Lego City Undercover still got the fun but exactly a great open world lego game I've ever imagined. Still the best lego game yet! The gameplayLego City Undercover still got the fun but exactly a great open world lego game I've ever imagined. Still the best lego game yet! The gameplay is still good, the graphics are amazing. Expand
  5. May 5, 2013
    9
    A wonderful game that will delight both young and old. Surprisingly good animations, colorful graphics and with a charming story full ofA wonderful game that will delight both young and old. Surprisingly good animations, colorful graphics and with a charming story full of humor. Highly recommended! Expand
  6. Dec 13, 2014
    9
    With nice graphics, enjoyable gameplay, smart writing, likable characters, and now implemented for the first time in a LEGO game, an openWith nice graphics, enjoyable gameplay, smart writing, likable characters, and now implemented for the first time in a LEGO game, an open world (and an enjoyable one at that), this game has got to be one of, if not the best LEGO game to date. Expand
  7. Jun 30, 2013
    2
    Load times are brutal. They are VERY long and quite frequent.

    The game seems to be mostly built around a 'story', so I was left watching a
    Load times are brutal. They are VERY long and quite frequent.

    The game seems to be mostly built around a 'story', so I was left watching a good portion of the game while these little lego people made jokes and wise cracks, we're talking puns and trip-falls. Entire cut scenes will take place where you just walk into an elevator or something will happen that will be completely irrelevant to the plot. You spend the whole game just following around beacons and icons, making the story completely irrelevant.

    The game starts with EVERY element locked, even the ability to use your gamepad properly. You HAVE to play through the very boring and monotonous story.

    The gamepad is used well, I'll give it that. You get calls, and the audio and video come out of the pad (but go to the TV if you have your gamepad turned down really good work on that one developers).

    All and all this game is trivial easy and clearly written for the maturity and complexity level of children. If you have kids, this game might just be one of the better experiences out there, but we're talking very young children. Adolescents are not going this game interesting.
    Collapse

See all 49 User Reviews