Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 25 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Build your own legacy as a player or a coach—or relive the glory of an all-time legend—in Connected Careers. Engulf yourself in the Madden NFL experience with features exclusive to Wii U, including streamlined play-calling, personnel management, and more—all directed from the innovate touchBuild your own legacy as a player or a coach—or relive the glory of an all-time legend—in Connected Careers. Engulf yourself in the Madden NFL experience with features exclusive to Wii U, including streamlined play-calling, personnel management, and more—all directed from the innovate touch screen on the Wii U GamePad. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Nov 21, 2012
    83
    The Wii U drops the physics, but it adds some nifty GamePad functionality. Nintendo's version could run smoother, though.
  2. Nov 19, 2012
    80
    Madden NFL 13 is the first Wii U port we've played that uses the console to make a notable impact on gameplay. Instead of simply throwing in disposable features, time was taken to ensure the GamePad was utilized to its full potential.
  3. Dec 14, 2012
    80
    The system's first Madden title takes a serious approach to pigskin and offers almost all of the same features as the Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3 versions, including the debut of an ambitious Connected Career mode that supports up to 32 players in online leagues. [Dec 2012, p.84]
  4. Nov 25, 2012
    76
    Madden 13 on the Wii U sacrifices the Impact Engine from the PS3/360, but adds Gamepad integration that is intuitive and works well. That combination could make the purchase a tough decision for diehards, but whether you wait for next year or go with this release, you're getting a good football game.
  5. Nov 28, 2012
    75
    Madden on the Wii U definitely has some growing pains, but I am excited to see how it turns out in the years to come. The Gamepad screen definitely enhances the experience ten-fold here. If they can clean up the stutters and toss in the Infinity Engine, this will definitely be the version to beat in the years to come. Still, if you don't have access to the other consoles, and this is your only way to play Madden, you will be perfectly happy with this version. It has almost everything found in the other versions and awesome Gamepad screen support that isn't available on any other console.
  6. Jan 29, 2013
    70
    Suffice it to say, if you're a Madden NFL fan and you own a Wii U, this is definitely a title you're going to want to at least consider adding to your game library.
  7. Nov 24, 2012
    60
    With a few key adjustments to play-calling, frame-rate, and physics, it's possible that the Wii U could host the most interesting Madden version next fall. In the meantime, Madden's debut on Nintendo's brand-new system is good for a bit of fun but won't last for the long term.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Madden 13 can now be experience with a different view thanks to the WiiU controller. The ability to draw your plays is such a nice touch toMadden 13 can now be experience with a different view thanks to the WiiU controller. The ability to draw your plays is such a nice touch to the franchise. I had the chance to play just for a little bit and I had fun in that short time. Graphics are great just like xbox360 and ps3. Definitely check it out and see it for yourself. Expand
  2. Nov 29, 2012
    9
    Thanks to EA's dick move, Nintendo wasn't allowed to have the Infinity engine for Madden 13. This is disappointing, but it's also notThanks to EA's dick move, Nintendo wasn't allowed to have the Infinity engine for Madden 13. This is disappointing, but it's also not something that Nintendo can be blamed for. There are still some unique features, though, such as drawing a custom path via the GamePad touchscreen, so it's kind of a give and take. I just can't help but hope EA pulls their heads out of their tails and gives Nintendo the Infinity engine for Madden 14, as that would allow for the premiere edition of the game. Expand
  3. Dec 1, 2012
    9
    Finally EA recorrects madden 13. Thanks to the Wii U controller we will finally get real football video games. I love the idea of drawing yourFinally EA recorrects madden 13. Thanks to the Wii U controller we will finally get real football video games. I love the idea of drawing your plays out and finally none of my friends can see the play I called. Madden is getting good I just want better camera angles and more defense. Expand
  4. Aug 16, 2014
    9
    Madden 13 is very fun, but I was disappointed to see that the infinity engine wasn't present in the Wii u version. The graphics are great,Madden 13 is very fun, but I was disappointed to see that the infinity engine wasn't present in the Wii u version. The graphics are great, the new career mode is addicting, and online is very smooth. The gameplay is just as great as ever, though I had some trouble memorizing the controls (this is my first Madden game). A great game for any football lovers, and a fun distraction with friends. Expand
  5. Nov 20, 2012
    9
    Keep in mind i haven't got a chance to fully explore everything this WiiU port has to offer, but so far it's a blast. Being able to rerouteKeep in mind i haven't got a chance to fully explore everything this WiiU port has to offer, but so far it's a blast. Being able to reroute your plays on the fly is a very welcome addition. And as for matching graphical detail it's hard to notice any differences.... uniforms, cutscenes (which play on the gamepad as well and look just as clear), environments are all the same. Yes it's missing the coveted and sometimes buggy infinity engine, but that's ok. The excellent touch screen controls are worth the venture; especially if you've yet to purchased your copy of Madden 13 yet for another system. Expand
  6. Nov 21, 2012
    3
    Let's see here. After renting this one (Thank you Albertson's Video) the first thing I discovered was the one thing that made this MaddenLet's see here. After renting this one (Thank you Albertson's Video) the first thing I discovered was the one thing that made this Madden stand out on the 360 and made it the best Madden in years, the animation engine is not here. Instead they used last years canned animations. After a few hours of play, I took it back and rented Tekken Tag instead. Pass on this til EA decides to give you the game you deserve or pick it up on 360/PS3. Collapse