Mario Kart 8 Wii U

Mario Kart 8 Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 82 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 1400 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Mario Kart 8 introduces new racing circuit designs and antigravity karts that will have players driving upside down. Players will also enjoy a variety of series-favorite features, including the return of 12-player online competitive play, hang-gliders, underwater racing and motorbikes.
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 82
  2. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. Jun 12, 2014
    100
    Mario Kart 8 is a return of one of Nintendo’s most beloved franchises, and is just as chaotic as ever.
  2. May 16, 2014
    95
    Mario Kart 8 is a beast: with great track design, plenty of characters, karts, bikes and power ups is the best Mario Kart of all time. Also thanks to revamped online modes and some gorgeous graphics, is the single reason you need to own a Wii U.
  3. May 15, 2014
    90
    With some new great features added to the classic recipe, with beautiful graphics and spectacular races, Mario Kart 8 looks like the killer app the Wii U was waiting for.
  4. Hyper Magazine
    Jun 28, 2014
    90
    The best Mario Kart ever. All faults are forgiven when you're drifting the inside of a vertical corner. [Issue#250, p.58]
  5. May 15, 2014
    88
    It’s safe to say that this is the best Mario Kart since the SNES days, and that’s a pretty heavy statement.
  6. Sep 18, 2014
    80
    Mario Kart 8 is pretty great in many ways, but undoubtedly moreso with a collection of friends to play with, or when facing off against other players online.
  7. May 27, 2014
    70
    Despite this game’s gleaming high-definition sheen, there’s little doubt this granddaddy of the karting genre is beginning to show its age.

See all 82 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 382
  1. May 30, 2014
    10
    Simply fantastic! Ladies and gentlemen, GO BUY A WII U FOR THIS GAME. Highly recommended for a fun gaming experience. Nothing on PS4 or XB1Simply fantastic! Ladies and gentlemen, GO BUY A WII U FOR THIS GAME. Highly recommended for a fun gaming experience. Nothing on PS4 or XB1 comes close. 10/10 Collapse
  2. Dec 21, 2015
    10
    Simplemente el mejor Mario Kart que han creado, no disfrutaba uno igual desde el 64, a pesar de que la calidad del de Wii y GC eran muy buena,Simplemente el mejor Mario Kart que han creado, no disfrutaba uno igual desde el 64, a pesar de que la calidad del de Wii y GC eran muy buena, simplemente es adictivo, los escenarios los más locos que han existido, visualmente es hermoso, uno de los juegos que mejor le ha asentado el salto al HD, la modificaciones de los vehículos, DLCs con precio accesible y bastante contenido, 200 CC, el mejor juego con funcionalidad de Amiibo, la única pega es el modo batalla y sus escenarios, pero igual siempre la magia de este juego son las carreras arcade, y nada más delicioso que darle con tus amigos 32 pistas seguidas y el online sigue siendo también un apartado destacable, es un juego que te dura todo una generación, disfrutable con o sin compañía. Expand
  3. Jun 7, 2014
    10
    Fun enjoyable gameplay. This is my favourite Mario Kart yet (previously it was Mario Kart 64). The gameplay is enjoyable alone, but bestFun enjoyable gameplay. This is my favourite Mario Kart yet (previously it was Mario Kart 64). The gameplay is enjoyable alone, but best played with friends or being competitive online. The only flaws are the poor roster (full of babies, metal mario and the aweful pink gold peach) and in battle mode you can only play on race courses rather than courses specifically designed for it like previous installments in the series. This leads to you driving around trying to find someone for the whole match, and when you do it's someone on your team, but you're so happy that you have found someone so you throw an item anyway, but it harms them as items aren't on team. However, battle mode isn't the main feature in Mario Kart, and the roster can be forgiven by the fact you can play as Mii, which have almost endless customization possibilities. I give Mario Kart 8 a 99/100 Expand
  4. Aug 23, 2014
    9
    Recently I played Mario Kart Wii and Mario Kart 8 is a improvment in 80% of the content. Item by item (the more significant to me):

    1) The
    Recently I played Mario Kart Wii and Mario Kart 8 is a improvment in 80% of the content. Item by item (the more significant to me):

    1) The battle mode is tremendous better in wii; Seems like nintendo dedevelopers were lazy in this point;
    2) The single player mode, to me, is just the same (means not deep);
    3) I never tried the online play in wii one, but in the Mk8 the online mode is great. Mention: Missing features: Voice chat (or at least a text one).
    4)The visual! One of the great improvement! No coments here more than "I really love the MK8 visuals;
    5)The balance is great. The number of variable that influence it is significant bigger (in this is great);
    6)Character choice has a improvement too.
    Expand
  5. May 30, 2014
    9
    Mario Kart 8 doesn't really add much either than some new characters and useful new items(finally can block the flying blue shell!). But itMario Kart 8 doesn't really add much either than some new characters and useful new items(finally can block the flying blue shell!). But it holds on to what makes every Mario Kart game so great: Rock Solid gameplay, well designed tracks and lots of charm. Expand
  6. Dec 12, 2015
    9
    Mario Kart 8 plays as good as it looks. The courses are not only dynamic, but a pleasure to look at, with all of them filled with detail. EvenMario Kart 8 plays as good as it looks. The courses are not only dynamic, but a pleasure to look at, with all of them filled with detail. Even the retro tracks look beautiful with their nice re-designs. The roster of characters is a bit of a mix, having an equal amount of interesting adds (such as the Koopalings) and pointless adds (such as Baby Rosalina and Pink Gold Peach). While it was nice that the kart part unlocking criteria wasn't nearly as time consuming as it was in Mario Kart 7, I still think that there could've been a better method. All in all, I'd highly recommend Mario Kart 8 to any Wii U owner. Expand
  7. Nov 8, 2014
    0
    When I first played Mario Kart 8, I had very high expectations. However I was met with the most disgusting racing game ever to be assembled inWhen I first played Mario Kart 8, I had very high expectations. However I was met with the most disgusting racing game ever to be assembled in human history. DO NOT BUY!! a waste of money. People should buy a real game, like Corey in the House for the nintendo DS Expand

See all 382 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2014

    The Best Videogames of 2014 Image
    Published: December 22, 2014
    We reveal the best and worst games for each platform in 2014.