Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 82 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 1155 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Mario Kart 8 introduces new racing circuit designs and antigravity karts that will have players driving upside down. Players will also enjoy a variety of series-favorite features, including the return of 12-player online competitive play, hang-gliders, underwater racing and motorbikes.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 82
  2. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. Jun 12, 2014
    100
    Mario Kart 8 is a return of one of Nintendo’s most beloved franchises, and is just as chaotic as ever.
  2. May 16, 2014
    95
    Mario Kart 8 is a beast: with great track design, plenty of characters, karts, bikes and power ups is the best Mario Kart of all time. Also thanks to revamped online modes and some gorgeous graphics, is the single reason you need to own a Wii U.
  3. May 15, 2014
    90
    With some new great features added to the classic recipe, with beautiful graphics and spectacular races, Mario Kart 8 looks like the killer app the Wii U was waiting for.
  4. Jun 28, 2014
    90
    The best Mario Kart ever. All faults are forgiven when you're drifting the inside of a vertical corner. [Issue#250, p.58]
  5. May 15, 2014
    88
    It’s safe to say that this is the best Mario Kart since the SNES days, and that’s a pretty heavy statement.
  6. Sep 18, 2014
    80
    Mario Kart 8 is pretty great in many ways, but undoubtedly moreso with a collection of friends to play with, or when facing off against other players online.
  7. May 27, 2014
    70
    Despite this game’s gleaming high-definition sheen, there’s little doubt this granddaddy of the karting genre is beginning to show its age.

See all 82 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 326
  1. May 30, 2014
    10
    Simply fantastic! Ladies and gentlemen, GO BUY A WII U FOR THIS GAME. Highly recommended for a fun gaming experience. Nothing on PS4 or XB1Simply fantastic! Ladies and gentlemen, GO BUY A WII U FOR THIS GAME. Highly recommended for a fun gaming experience. Nothing on PS4 or XB1 comes close. 10/10 Collapse
  2. Jun 2, 2014
    10
    It is literally the same title, same gameplay but somehow they out do themselves everytime. More Characters(like 30), same and new powerups,It is literally the same title, same gameplay but somehow they out do themselves everytime. More Characters(like 30), same and new powerups, kart customization; down to the kart, wheels and glider; a coin collecting boost for more speed during that race, ohh and also they brought back old courses; remastered and polished; and brand new ones. I only bought the Wii U for same screen multiplayer games(since it doesnt really exist anymore) like Mario Kart and Super Smash. This game is awesome and a must buy for people who actaully own a Wii U. Expand
  3. Jun 1, 2014
    10
    The game is beautiful, its nice seeing Mario Kart in HD. The game play is basically the same but its a great formula that doesn't need much ofThe game is beautiful, its nice seeing Mario Kart in HD. The game play is basically the same but its a great formula that doesn't need much of a change. The anti-gravity is a neat feature. It has great tracks, and a lot of them. They have some remakes as well, my favorite being moo moo meadows. The battles are a little different I like them but I miss the large area maps and bomb bomb battles. Hopefully they can add stuff in with updates in the future.

    I recommend buying a Wii U for this game, and Mario 3D world as well as sonic lost worlds. There are other good games but those are my top 3 favorite.
    Expand
  4. May 30, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Super. Najlepsza gra w jaką ostatnio grałem. Dużo postaci i pojazdów, cudowna oprawa muzyczna ;-) Tz "gameplay i fun" w tej grze to po prostu majstersztyk!!! Trasy wyglądają obłędnie, online do 12 graczy, dzielony ekranik przy 2 playerach,60 Fps, warto dodać, że to pierwsza odsłona serii w HD i naprawdę wygląda cudnie, zresztą plusy tej gry można by jeszcze długo wymieniać. Naprawdę polecam i zachęcam do kupna. Nintendo pokazało magie po raz kolejny. Expand
  5. Jul 21, 2014
    9
    This game isn't perfect, but man is it fun! Every single feature in this game is very fun like the Single Player for example. I usually don'tThis game isn't perfect, but man is it fun! Every single feature in this game is very fun like the Single Player for example. I usually don't have friends to play with so usually I play solo and this is one of the few games in which I have a blast playing alone (lol). Single player is really fun even if you get bored of it, every once in a while is still fun. But the REAL highlight of the game is... the multiplayer. Multiplayer is as fun as ever, probably even better. Multiplayer is the same as ever: 4 player chaos in creative courses with mind-boggling items and newly made anti-gravity sections. Anti-gravity is as it sounds like, karts racing on walls and upside down, its not really a HUGE thing in my opinion but its a well made new and fresh idea. Online mode is a mode where you race aginst people Worldwide, Regionally, with Friends or in Tournaments. Worldwide is where you race with people around the world, Regionally is where I assume is where you race with people from your continent, with friends is with people you have played with randomly and people in your Friend List, and Tournaments is where you race with a set amount of rules and gain points to see in which place you landed. Like I said, this game ISN'T perfect, but it is a must buy for the Wii U. This is a game for you to buy a Wii U and play a ton of hours with. Expand
  6. May 15, 2015
    9
    Great Mario Kart, easily my 2nd fav mario kart next to double dash. The graphics are superb finally a 1080p mario kart. Although it could useGreat Mario Kart, easily my 2nd fav mario kart next to double dash. The graphics are superb finally a 1080p mario kart. Although it could use some anti aliasing. The tracks are cool and the soundtrack is the best ive ever seen in mario kart. The online is thriving too. Must have wii u game and a lot better than mario kart 7 Expand
  7. Mar 20, 2015
    0
    Do you really wanna play a game that prizes the worst players? That what happens in ALL mario kart games, and speceally this **** one. TheDo you really wanna play a game that prizes the worst players? That what happens in ALL mario kart games, and speceally this **** one. The last position player have better items to keep "fun factor" of the game. Come on nintendo, GFY Expand

See all 326 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2014

    The Best Videogames of 2014 Image
    Published: December 22, 2014
    We reveal the best and worst games for each platform in 2014.