Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 82 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 959 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Mario Kart 8 introduces new racing circuit designs and antigravity karts that will have players driving upside down. Players will also enjoy a variety of series-favorite features, including the return of 12-player online competitive play, hang-gliders, underwater racing and motorbikes.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 82
  2. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. Jun 12, 2014
    100
    Mario Kart 8 is a return of one of Nintendo’s most beloved franchises, and is just as chaotic as ever.
  2. May 16, 2014
    95
    Mario Kart 8 is a beast: with great track design, plenty of characters, karts, bikes and power ups is the best Mario Kart of all time. Also thanks to revamped online modes and some gorgeous graphics, is the single reason you need to own a Wii U.
  3. May 15, 2014
    90
    With some new great features added to the classic recipe, with beautiful graphics and spectacular races, Mario Kart 8 looks like the killer app the Wii U was waiting for.
  4. Jun 28, 2014
    90
    The best Mario Kart ever. All faults are forgiven when you're drifting the inside of a vertical corner. [Issue#250, p.58]
  5. May 15, 2014
    88
    It’s safe to say that this is the best Mario Kart since the SNES days, and that’s a pretty heavy statement.
  6. Sep 18, 2014
    80
    Mario Kart 8 is pretty great in many ways, but undoubtedly moreso with a collection of friends to play with, or when facing off against other players online.
  7. May 27, 2014
    70
    Despite this game’s gleaming high-definition sheen, there’s little doubt this granddaddy of the karting genre is beginning to show its age.

See all 82 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 289
  1. May 30, 2014
    10
    Simply fantastic! Ladies and gentlemen, GO BUY A WII U FOR THIS GAME. Highly recommended for a fun gaming experience. Nothing on PS4 or XB1Simply fantastic! Ladies and gentlemen, GO BUY A WII U FOR THIS GAME. Highly recommended for a fun gaming experience. Nothing on PS4 or XB1 comes close. 10/10 Collapse
  2. Jun 4, 2014
    10
    Mario Kart 8 is simply fun. The new anti gravity feature is beautifully inserted into the old tracks and the game is friarly challengingMario Kart 8 is simply fun. The new anti gravity feature is beautifully inserted into the old tracks and the game is friarly challenging (especially the online gameplay which is really fun). The gameplay itself runs smoothly along with the HD graphics. The tracks and characters are very charming. Very recommended. Expand
  3. Jun 5, 2014
    10
    Why Mario Kart 8 is the best of the Mario Kart series? Because it summes up the best of all previous titles, has high quality content (inWhy Mario Kart 8 is the best of the Mario Kart series? Because it summes up the best of all previous titles, has high quality content (in terms of tracks, drivers, animations, ...) and most of all it has an improved game balancing!

    Tracks
    The 16 new tracks (plus the 16 remade maps, of cource) are amazing: Great Level Design, great Production Design, and each track has tons of unique visual content! One of my favorites is the one that reminds everyone of the Sugar Rush game in the Wreck-it-Ralph movie. Considering the rather low performance of the Wii U, Mario Kart 8 looks just beautiful: Textures, Shaders and Animations were made with passion definitely. Moreover, the gameplay of the new tracks are very much convincing, offering various challenges, shortcuts and game elements that are unique for each level, such as the Giant Bowser literally hitting the road in Bowsers' Castle.

    Replay-Mode
    What a great idea: After finishing a race, you can either see a replay of one of the drivers in full length, or configure parameters for a clip that the game will create automatically and that depicts some of the most interesting situations that occured. While playing the clip, you can pause, reward, forward AND slow down the playback. Especially the latter ends in VERY funny laughing fits when playing with friends. Seeing players get bashed, raging around with power-ups or having incredible comebacks in the last lap at slow motion is fun and a (meta-)gaming experience at its best!

    Balancing
    Finally! 1) Getting of the track (/the course), like by falling into the deep, doesn't make you go for the last place anymore. 2) Items now keep the balance between being too powerful and being too lame, still keeping enough space for surprises. 3) The racers nearly always drive in a quite narrow field, fostering the tension. But: You won't rotate from place 8 to place 2 to place 7 to place 1 all the time. Mario Kart 8 races always feel like very fair yet exciting, thrilling and surprising challenges. Finally!

    Drivers and everything else
    Just AWESOME.

    There is still much more to write about this game, but it's simply not necessary, because nearly everything can be judged favourably. I would give it a 11 out of 10. Unfortunatelly, there are no distinct arena tracks for the good old multiplayer balloon battle (first known from Mario Kart 64). So let's say: 10 points.
    Expand
  4. May 31, 2014
    10
    I love this game so much, that I made an account just to give this game a 10/10! XD The stellar game design and the amazing art direction isI love this game so much, that I made an account just to give this game a 10/10! XD The stellar game design and the amazing art direction is more than enough to warrant a perfect score from me. Well, I do have minor complaints with the game (notably the bizarre roster, the battle mode, and the online infrastructure, etc.), they're truly minuscule in face of the amazing and seemingly endless content that this game provides. It shows that Nintendo still has what it takes to make a game that stands out in such a competitive generation... here's hoping for more Nintendo magic in the future! Expand
  5. Jul 9, 2014
    9
    This game is almost perfect so I will only point out the minor flaws: it doesn't offer off-tv play, there is no map option on tv, and noThis game is almost perfect so I will only point out the minor flaws: it doesn't offer off-tv play, there is no map option on tv, and no option to turn off Mario TV. When you finish a race the default menu option is to watch a replay instead of playing the next race. These things are all very tiny issues in a game I must be hard on as a huge fan of the Mario Kart franchise. Expand
  6. Jun 7, 2014
    9
    Fantastic, fun, creative, and finally a counter to the blue shell. Need I say more? I hope for DLC characters and new tracks, but thisFantastic, fun, creative, and finally a counter to the blue shell. Need I say more? I hope for DLC characters and new tracks, but this legitimizes owning a Wii U by itself. The roster is a bit of an let down with unimaginative choices like good Mario and Peach, too many babies, and 7 Koopalings. Overall, you need this if you own a Wii U. If you don't own a Wii U, go out now and buy the MK8 console bundle. Expand
  7. Nov 8, 2014
    0
    When I first played Mario Kart 8, I had very high expectations. However I was met with the most disgusting racing game ever to be assembled inWhen I first played Mario Kart 8, I had very high expectations. However I was met with the most disgusting racing game ever to be assembled in human history. DO NOT BUY!! a waste of money. People should buy a real game, like Corey in the House for the nintendo DS Expand

See all 289 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2014

    The Best Videogames of 2014 Image
    Published: December 22, 2014
    We reveal the best and worst games for each platform in 2014.