Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 82 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 1021 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Mario Kart 8 introduces new racing circuit designs and antigravity karts that will have players driving upside down. Players will also enjoy a variety of series-favorite features, including the return of 12-player online competitive play, hang-gliders, underwater racing and motorbikes.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 82
  2. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. Jun 12, 2014
    100
    Mario Kart 8 is a return of one of Nintendo’s most beloved franchises, and is just as chaotic as ever.
  2. May 16, 2014
    95
    Mario Kart 8 is a beast: with great track design, plenty of characters, karts, bikes and power ups is the best Mario Kart of all time. Also thanks to revamped online modes and some gorgeous graphics, is the single reason you need to own a Wii U.
  3. May 15, 2014
    90
    With some new great features added to the classic recipe, with beautiful graphics and spectacular races, Mario Kart 8 looks like the killer app the Wii U was waiting for.
  4. Jun 28, 2014
    90
    The best Mario Kart ever. All faults are forgiven when you're drifting the inside of a vertical corner. [Issue#250, p.58]
  5. May 15, 2014
    88
    It’s safe to say that this is the best Mario Kart since the SNES days, and that’s a pretty heavy statement.
  6. Sep 18, 2014
    80
    Mario Kart 8 is pretty great in many ways, but undoubtedly moreso with a collection of friends to play with, or when facing off against other players online.
  7. May 27, 2014
    70
    Despite this game’s gleaming high-definition sheen, there’s little doubt this granddaddy of the karting genre is beginning to show its age.

See all 82 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 302
  1. May 30, 2014
    10
    Simply fantastic! Ladies and gentlemen, GO BUY A WII U FOR THIS GAME. Highly recommended for a fun gaming experience. Nothing on PS4 or XB1Simply fantastic! Ladies and gentlemen, GO BUY A WII U FOR THIS GAME. Highly recommended for a fun gaming experience. Nothing on PS4 or XB1 comes close. 10/10 Expand
  2. Jun 3, 2014
    10
    A technical success and the game design at his best. 32 races, 60 fps duo online, 30 fps at 4 players, this game bring so much fun in theA technical success and the game design at his best. 32 races, 60 fps duo online, 30 fps at 4 players, this game bring so much fun in the house. My friend and I love it. Expand
  3. Jun 5, 2014
    10
    Why Mario Kart 8 is the best of the Mario Kart series? Because it summes up the best of all previous titles, has high quality content (inWhy Mario Kart 8 is the best of the Mario Kart series? Because it summes up the best of all previous titles, has high quality content (in terms of tracks, drivers, animations, ...) and most of all it has an improved game balancing!

    Tracks
    The 16 new tracks (plus the 16 remade maps, of cource) are amazing: Great Level Design, great Production Design, and each track has tons of unique visual content! One of my favorites is the one that reminds everyone of the Sugar Rush game in the Wreck-it-Ralph movie. Considering the rather low performance of the Wii U, Mario Kart 8 looks just beautiful: Textures, Shaders and Animations were made with passion definitely. Moreover, the gameplay of the new tracks are very much convincing, offering various challenges, shortcuts and game elements that are unique for each level, such as the Giant Bowser literally hitting the road in Bowsers' Castle.

    Replay-Mode
    What a great idea: After finishing a race, you can either see a replay of one of the drivers in full length, or configure parameters for a clip that the game will create automatically and that depicts some of the most interesting situations that occured. While playing the clip, you can pause, reward, forward AND slow down the playback. Especially the latter ends in VERY funny laughing fits when playing with friends. Seeing players get bashed, raging around with power-ups or having incredible comebacks in the last lap at slow motion is fun and a (meta-)gaming experience at its best!

    Balancing
    Finally! 1) Getting of the track (/the course), like by falling into the deep, doesn't make you go for the last place anymore. 2) Items now keep the balance between being too powerful and being too lame, still keeping enough space for surprises. 3) The racers nearly always drive in a quite narrow field, fostering the tension. But: You won't rotate from place 8 to place 2 to place 7 to place 1 all the time. Mario Kart 8 races always feel like very fair yet exciting, thrilling and surprising challenges. Finally!

    Drivers and everything else
    Just AWESOME.

    There is still much more to write about this game, but it's simply not necessary, because nearly everything can be judged favourably. I would give it a 11 out of 10. Unfortunatelly, there are no distinct arena tracks for the good old multiplayer balloon battle (first known from Mario Kart 64). So let's say: 10 points.
    Expand
  4. May 31, 2014
    10
    The best Mario Kart ever made! It has so much more depth than Mario Kart Wii. It is only slightly harder to pick up and play but it is a muchThe best Mario Kart ever made! It has so much more depth than Mario Kart Wii. It is only slightly harder to pick up and play but it is a much much deeper game, it will take time to master all the intricacies in the course, cars, moves and characters to get to acquire top level of driving skill.

    Nintendo proves once again they are consistently the best world at making games.
    Expand
  5. Jul 9, 2014
    9
    This game is almost perfect so I will only point out the minor flaws: it doesn't offer off-tv play, there is no map option on tv, and noThis game is almost perfect so I will only point out the minor flaws: it doesn't offer off-tv play, there is no map option on tv, and no option to turn off Mario TV. When you finish a race the default menu option is to watch a replay instead of playing the next race. These things are all very tiny issues in a game I must be hard on as a huge fan of the Mario Kart franchise. Expand
  6. Jan 10, 2015
    9
    As a big fan of the past two installments in the series, you'd probably be able to imagine how excited I was for Mario Kart 8. I was even moreAs a big fan of the past two installments in the series, you'd probably be able to imagine how excited I was for Mario Kart 8. I was even more excited to discover that Mario Kart 8 surpassed my expectations by a long shot.

    The courses in the game are the best yet, both new and old. The new anti-gravity mechanic adds a breath of fresh air to the races. Add to that the gliding and underwater sections from MK7 and you've got yourself some of the best courses in any racing game ever made. Particular standouts include Toad Harbor, Shy Guy Falls, every course from the Star Cup, Cloudtop Cruise, Bowser's Castle, and Rainbow Road. The music is also simply fantastic. It can't be denied it's the best music in the series yet.

    The character roster still isn't as good as Wii but at this point, who cares? It does everything else bigger and better! I was much more engaged in the kart customization than I was in 7 with more parts to choose from. I'm still not a fan of the 10-coin limit but it doesn't ruin the game as a whole. It's nice to see bikes return as I usually raced on them more than in karts in MKWii.

    Mario Kart 8 shows off the best online in the series with superb connection, a great new course voting system, and the genius new addition of Mario Kart TV. Mario Kart TV allows you to view your highlights or entire races and do lots of cool stuff with them like putting it in slow-motion. The glorious visuals really shine thanks to this addition. The only true downside in the game is battle mode which is a massive downgrade compared to Wii and 7. Instead of racing on battle arenas, you race on actual courses which is a shame.

    Overall, Mario Kart 8 is the best installment in the series yet. It's hard to imagine how it can get any better. The courses, online, vehicles, and new mechanics in the game are simply gold.
    Expand
  7. Nov 8, 2014
    0
    When I first played Mario Kart 8, I had very high expectations. However I was met with the most disgusting racing game ever to be assembled inWhen I first played Mario Kart 8, I had very high expectations. However I was met with the most disgusting racing game ever to be assembled in human history. DO NOT BUY!! a waste of money. People should buy a real game, like Corey in the House for the nintendo DS Expand

See all 302 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2014

    The Best Videogames of 2014 Image
    Published: December 22, 2014
    We reveal the best and worst games for each platform in 2014.