Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 82 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 1150 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Mario Kart 8 introduces new racing circuit designs and antigravity karts that will have players driving upside down. Players will also enjoy a variety of series-favorite features, including the return of 12-player online competitive play, hang-gliders, underwater racing and motorbikes.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 82
  2. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. Jun 12, 2014
    100
    Mario Kart 8 is a return of one of Nintendo’s most beloved franchises, and is just as chaotic as ever.
  2. May 16, 2014
    95
    Mario Kart 8 is a beast: with great track design, plenty of characters, karts, bikes and power ups is the best Mario Kart of all time. Also thanks to revamped online modes and some gorgeous graphics, is the single reason you need to own a Wii U.
  3. May 15, 2014
    90
    With some new great features added to the classic recipe, with beautiful graphics and spectacular races, Mario Kart 8 looks like the killer app the Wii U was waiting for.
  4. Jun 28, 2014
    90
    The best Mario Kart ever. All faults are forgiven when you're drifting the inside of a vertical corner. [Issue#250, p.58]
  5. May 15, 2014
    88
    It’s safe to say that this is the best Mario Kart since the SNES days, and that’s a pretty heavy statement.
  6. Sep 18, 2014
    80
    Mario Kart 8 is pretty great in many ways, but undoubtedly moreso with a collection of friends to play with, or when facing off against other players online.
  7. May 27, 2014
    70
    Despite this game’s gleaming high-definition sheen, there’s little doubt this granddaddy of the karting genre is beginning to show its age.

See all 82 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 324
  1. May 30, 2014
    10
    Simply fantastic! Ladies and gentlemen, GO BUY A WII U FOR THIS GAME. Highly recommended for a fun gaming experience. Nothing on PS4 or XB1Simply fantastic! Ladies and gentlemen, GO BUY A WII U FOR THIS GAME. Highly recommended for a fun gaming experience. Nothing on PS4 or XB1 comes close. 10/10 Expand
  2. Jun 3, 2014
    10
    The first thing you'll notice about this game is that it's beautiful. I've liked the look of past Mario Kart games, but this one is beyondThe first thing you'll notice about this game is that it's beautiful. I've liked the look of past Mario Kart games, but this one is beyond compare. Even the remade maps from past systems look amazing. The second important thing about it is that they've made some new innovations, and they all work pretty well. Driving underwater and on walls and gliding are all fun mechanics that are similar enough to fit in, but different enough to make the game seem fresh.
    Overall, I would say this is the best Mario Kart game I've ever played.
    Expand
  3. Jun 2, 2014
    10
    Gioco fantastico. Non è il Mario Kart definitivo a causa di alcuni difetti piccoli e meno piccoli (Battle Mode), ma è probabilmente ilGioco fantastico. Non è il Mario Kart definitivo a causa di alcuni difetti piccoli e meno piccoli (Battle Mode), ma è probabilmente il migliore della serie. Tracciati spettacolari, comparto audio-visivo da urlo, controlli eccellenti, ottimo online e divertimento praticamente infinito. Un must. Expand
  4. May 31, 2014
    10
    I love this game so much, that I made an account just to give this game a 10/10! XD The stellar game design and the amazing art direction isI love this game so much, that I made an account just to give this game a 10/10! XD The stellar game design and the amazing art direction is more than enough to warrant a perfect score from me. Well, I do have minor complaints with the game (notably the bizarre roster, the battle mode, and the online infrastructure, etc.), they're truly minuscule in face of the amazing and seemingly endless content that this game provides. It shows that Nintendo still has what it takes to make a game that stands out in such a competitive generation... here's hoping for more Nintendo magic in the future! Expand
  5. Jul 24, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Very great game. Normally I don't play Wii u games, but Mario's done it again. Customizable karts. From changing the wheels, switching up your parachute, to getting unique karts. They really raised the bar. If you think Mario Kart Wii raised the bar, buy a Wii U and experience the best Mario Kart there is. Expand
  6. May 15, 2015
    9
    Great Mario Kart, easily my 2nd fav mario kart next to double dash. The graphics are superb finally a 1080p mario kart. Although it could useGreat Mario Kart, easily my 2nd fav mario kart next to double dash. The graphics are superb finally a 1080p mario kart. Although it could use some anti aliasing. The tracks are cool and the soundtrack is the best ive ever seen in mario kart. The online is thriving too. Must have wii u game and a lot better than mario kart 7 Expand
  7. Mar 20, 2015
    0
    Do you really wanna play a game that prizes the worst players? That what happens in ALL mario kart games, and speceally this **** one. TheDo you really wanna play a game that prizes the worst players? That what happens in ALL mario kart games, and speceally this **** one. The last position player have better items to keep "fun factor" of the game. Come on nintendo, GFY Expand

See all 324 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2014

    The Best Videogames of 2014 Image
    Published: December 22, 2014
    We reveal the best and worst games for each platform in 2014.